We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay, we will return!”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Blitzingen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I visited from York, England for a week. We had an amazing stay. The hotel is perched at the top of the village with fantastic views down the valley. We were picked up from the station at the start of our stay and caught the hotel bus into the village and back every day in the morning and evening. The valley is wonderful for cross country skiing, whether a beginner or more experienced,and you can catch the scenic train between the villages when you get tired. There is also excellent winter walking, snow shoeing and trips to visit the stunning glaciers just down the valley. We also walked up to Hotel Ronquelle and then ski-biked down, which was great fun. A shop in the village hires all the equipment you will need. There are plenty of good cafes dotted amongst the villages to rest whilst you are skiing or walking. The hospitality was very warm and welcoming and the hosts were very happy to help with everything we needed, including recommending some good walks and day trips. We only speak a little German but were very easily able to get by with that plus some French and English. The wellness centre is a welcome addition with a large jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and there was plenty of space available for us to use it every evening and towelling robes are provided. The food was just the best that we have ever had at a hotel - very tasty and well presented with a changing menu every day, including local specialities. Our menu ranged from beef fillet and lamb entrecote, to pork fillet with the local cheese and perch wrapped in bacon. It equalled mitchelin starred restaurants we have visited in the UK and was beautifully presented. The local wine is really worth a try and some of the best we have tasted in the world. We stayed in a Castle Suite, which has much more room than you usually get in a hotel and had a lovely balcony with views down the valley. There was a TV which we could get BBC News 24 on. We would most definitely recommend a visit and plan to return to the region and the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorktraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Inhaber at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive answer,
who is very helpfull for us!
It´s was a plesuer to gives you our hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a superb hotel in a stunning location in the Goms valley. If you have not been to Switzerland before then you need to understand that outside of the large cities virtually all the hotels are family owned and run. They may, possibly, lack some of the "features" of a city based five star hotel, but that is of no consequence because the hospitality is personal and utterly charming.

The Hotel castle is owned and run by Peter and Brigitte Gschwendtner who were determined that we should enjoy our stay. Peter, who speaks perfect English, turns his hand to everything. He clears the snow from the pathway, advises guests on suitable walks or skiing, drives the hotel minibus up and down from the village and still, somehow, finds time to turn out a succession of superb dishes from the Hotel kitchens.

We were on a half board package so had a four course meal each evening. The menu is a set one, but if there is anything you don't like the kitchen will prepare an alternative. My wife doesn't eat cheese which was established on our first night and remembered by the staff thereafter. The food itself was varied with a different main ingredient each night. The lamb entrecôte was, without question, the finest lamb I have ever tasted. The emphasis is on clean, well flavoured, beautifully presented food without as Peter himself explained to us too much use of cream or flour.

The staff, Mathias, Deborah, Mia and Robert were all highly professional, exceedingly friendly and all spoke excellent English.

There can also be no reason to complain about this hotel. Peter makes it clear from the first morning that if there is anything you are not happy about he wants to know so that he has the chance to put it right. When a lamp in our room ceased functioning we mentioned it as we left in the morning and it was all sorted by the time we got back that afternoon.

This is listed as a four star hotel, but it has a five star service.

We simply loved it.

We did say that we had expected more snow and as if by magic about two feet of snow fell on Christmas night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Inhaber at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your positiv feedback!
We are very happy, that you had a enjoyable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the end of July 2013

Great place, set up on the hill with beautiful views.

Owners are lovely, all the staff very friendly and the two male waiters who served us spoke perfect English and were very friendly.

The jacuzzi is great, we had a castle suite and the views stunning from balcony, room massive with a living room, very clean.

The food in the restaurant was very very good, my husband said it was one of the best steaks he had ever had.

Cannot fault this place what so ever and for Switzerland the value for money is brilliant, we had just come from Grindelwald and paid twice the price for a hotel no where near as nice.

Highly recommend and would stay again.

Underground parking for our motorbikes so that was good too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irvine1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Inhaber at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your positive and valuable feedback!
We were all very pleased to gives you our hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

all round a great experience! Stayed 3 nights in July 2013, and would certainly recommend it.

The location is wonderful, above a small village in the pleasantly non-touristy Upper Goms Valley. The hotel has great views up and down the valley; get a south-facing room/suite for a balcony with the best of these. The only reservation is that the hotel is not convenient for Blitzingen rail station. Actually the trip to Blitzingen by rail is a great experience in its own right, on the small red trains of the Matterhorn-Gotthard Bahn across delightful scenery, but once you get to Blitzingen definitely ask the hotel to pick you up from the station, because it is a long climb up a hillside to the hotel.

The hotel itself consists of two linked modern Swiss chalet buildings, the furnishings and decor are modern and good quality (the dining room has Gothic pastiche style decor, though it's much nicer than it sounds from that!). The rooms are spacious and most of the rooms are also let as apartment.

The food in the restaurant is very good. It probably deserves a "knives and forks" mention in a Michelin guide (one stop short of a star), if it doesn't have one already. The menu included with full board is four courses and is more than adequate, though of course you could experiment with a la carte if you wanted to go even further! The wine, while far from cheap, is also good and their are also options for people who want very special wines. The breakfast, while typically continental, also deserves a mention because of the high quality of the bread, cheese and cold meats on offer.

However the most exceptional point is the service. Peter and Birgitte are incredibly helpful hosts and they evidently set a great example to their staff, who were welcoming, friendly, helpful and polite to an exemplary level. I have never had better service from a hotel staff and the Hotel Castle sets a high standard to beat!

Room Tip: South-facing rooms have the best of the views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Castle Hotel. This is a wonderful place in the amazing Goms Valley. Peter and his wife are great hosts, and the food at their restaurant is superb. They are also very accommodating with dietary restrictions. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from a week's winter walking based at the Hotel Castle and cannot praise the hotel and especially the host, Peter, enough. The accommodation and facilities offered were extremely good as was the service provided by all members of the staff. The food was incredible, probably the best we've ever eaten.
The most amazing part of the week for us was the help we were given when my husband discovered he'd lost his passport on the railway trip from Geneva. Peter went out of his way to trace the passport. The Swiss Railway has a computer search system which came up trumps after several days during which time Peter was in constant touch with the search by email, keeping us updated. He even contacted the British Embassy, the Swiss Police and British Airways when, after a few days, it looked as if the search was not going to bare fruit. However, after 5 days the passport was located in Berne and was sent to Brig for collection. Peter arranged for his daughter to collect this for us so we would not miss valuable holiday time. We cannot thank him enough and doubt we'll ever experience the like again.

Room Tip: The south facing suites have great views across the valley. Suites in the annexe are fine if you enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the owners and received a fantastic well equipped flat, beautifully furnished with 2 balconies that suited a family of 4 (2 teenagers). No words will suffice to describe the views from this hotel to the Gomms Valley. We received advice as to where to take a hike from Peter - owner and Chef of the Gourmet restaurant of this hotel. We did all our hikes in the area - The Aletsch glacier and the Fieschertal glacier are near by and there is no need to go further away.
Great rest for body and mind. Highly recommended. very friendly staff.

Room Tip: The 2 bed room suite is great for a familiy of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank degmisgav_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Address: Aebmete 8 | 3989 Blitzingen, Blitzingen 3989, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Blitzingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blitzingen
Price Range: $200 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Switzerland/Blitzingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing