We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Christmas”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Blitzingen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I were delayed in our arrival to the hotel by 2 metres of snow which effectively closed the Goms valley. Having arrived in Brig with no accommodation we contacted our would be host who immediately responded by organising a room in Brig.
Upon arrival into Blitzingen and warmly welcomed by our host, we finally felt at ease after a interrupted travel plans. While English is not the first language of the hotel (luckily we had a little bit of German) we were grateful of the effort made the staff. We found all the staff of the hotel very friendly and despite the language barrier in some instances, we felt very much at ease around the hotel.
Our hosts are long time locals in the valley and were able to help us with activities outside of the hotel (again the language barrier was overcome)
The rooms were spacious and comfortable and had awesome views of the valley below. The kitchenette was helpful for lunches and snacks and the cleaning staff visited daily to replenish the towels (if needed) and to generally tidy up. They also folded our Pyjama's and placed them neatly on the freshly made bed each day. nice touch.
The highlight was the evening meal and we eagerly looked forward to each sitting. Both my wife and I have different food allergies and the hotel went above and beyond in order to cater for us, which we were very thankful for. Each 4 course meal was well structured, beautifully presented and tasted amazing. Our host is indeed talented in the kitchen. The wait staff were also amazing which made for a 5 star experience.
The spa area was also beautifully presented and while it did fill up in the afternoon, you could usually find a time for some privacy.
To sum up for the week, we had a memorable stay and thoroughly enjoyed our activity week in the Goms valley, We hope one day to return but this will no doubt remain as one of our highlights to our European travel experiences.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMcoupleinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booked an apartment via internet. The owners are so nice that they asked their Hungarian waiter to call us before our arrival whether we want to have dinner. Can you imagine, a call from a Swiss hotel in your mother tongue! We were already impressed.
The hotel and the flower garden are beautiful, food is excellent.
The owners are doing their best to make their guests happy, we were really well pampered.
Our apartment was perfect for a family with a teen, offering enough space and two bathrooms.
Location is nice, quiet, romantic (you can even hear cowbells), great for mountain walks and visiting glaciers.
We wish to get back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karasznelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed for four nights, one of which was my husband's Big Birthday and had a lovely time. We had booked well ahead and had a lovely room with a big balcony and views both up and down the Goms Valley. The room was spacious and light, the bed very comfortable and it was useful to have rudimentary cooking facilites and a fridge. The meals were excellent, changing every day and using unusual combinations in an imaginative way. Only drawback was the price of the wine - took our breath away! But Switzerland has become a very expensive place for us Brits nowadays and all the bottles we had were excellent. Breakfast was more than adequate.
Herr Peter is a very interesting and charming host but we didn't meet him until our second day. I had more problems with his wife, whose English is almost non-existent. On discovering that I spoke some German, she then launched forth and lost me completely. We did better when we both resorted to French. Other staff were very professional - we particularly enjoyed the theatricality of the maitre d' in the restaurant.
If you are without a car, be warned that the hotel is about 400m directly above the train station. There is a path up but it is unrelentingly steep. We managed it twice and felt very pleased with ourselves. Otherwise you can phone and ask for a lift up. Lovely walking in the valley and on the Gommer Ridge Path.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Walking_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed as part of a walking holiday in July 2010. The Hotel Castle sits above the beautiful Goms valley, an unspoilt area which is good for walking and cross-country skiing.

The hotel looks like two traditional Swiss chalets. Our room was effectively an apartment (and I believe some rent them as apartments), with a kitchen, living area, bedroom and bathroom. The balcony looked up the valley - ever changing scenery - and we were woken gently in the morning by the sound of cowbells.

Peter, the owner, and his wife, are working hard to make this a welcoming hotel. Peter, who has conquered Everest (and the photos books are in reception) is a great chef, and delivers beautiful and interesting food with fresh ingredients. Staff are welcoming and great attention is paid to service in the restaurant. Note that Swiss wine doesn't come cheap, but it's very good and very local, and the restaurant will keep a half drunk bottle and bring it back the next day for you.

There is a small wellness area - loungers, jaccuzi, steam room and sauna.

Overall, the hotel is quiet but comfortable. It's up the hillside, so if you're not in a car, do call and ask for a lift from the station. On the plus side it's easy to continue up the hillside and onto the pretty "Gommer Hohenweg" path to Bellwald and higher.

Blitzingen and the Goms Valley are very well placed for valley and mountain walks. The famous Glacier Express travels the valley, but so do the friendly local trains every hour, with stations every three or four minutes, so enjoy the beauty and the peace of this unspoilt area.

I recognise the comments made by the previous reviewer but I agree that Peter is very responsive to feedback. Intentions are good in this growing but new tourist area, and I would like to support the hotel.

Note that the hotel participates in a local "Cesar Ritz" programme. Reflecting the birth area of the famous hotelier you can have a special meal on a special table if you're passing.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NKGofHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterS1292VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Inhaber at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moritz_gyssler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Inhaber at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Junior Suite
Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moonman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Inhaber at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blitzingen
2.9 mi away
Hotel Glocke
Hotel Glocke
#1 of 2 in Reckingen-Gluringen
130 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#1 of 4 in Oberwald
68 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Onya Resort & Spa
The Onya Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Bellwald
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Walliser Sonne
Hotel Restaurant Walliser Sonne
#2 of 2 in Reckingen-Gluringen
38 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#3 of 7 in Bettmeralp
120 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Landhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Address: Aebmete 8 | 3989 Blitzingen, Blitzingen 3989, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Blitzingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blitzingen
Price Range: $211 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Switzerland/Blitzingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing