We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Maasin

“No so bad... especially the fish and shrimp soups!”
Review of Mr Wok

Mr Wok
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Maasin
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We been 3 times in this Restaurant in the last few weeks, because this was the only place we found where we could park our car and because we saw some people inside sitting inside - where the most of the other places where empty!

This Restaurant serves Pinoy/Chinese dishes, which are not so bad, the only problem is that the cooks are using "Ajinomoto" to give taste to their dishes, as well as that the quality and the preparation of the meat, especially the beef and also the pork dishes where always "very" tough! Mostly they use pork meat also for the famous dish called "Kare-Kare" which was prepared with very fat pork belly, instate of pork shank or oxtail, as well as that the tripe and banana heart where missing. We also ordered other meat dishes and always they where prepared with very fat pork belly and some of the dishes where "salty".

The best food we got where the soups with fish or Shrimps and the shrimp dishes.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alfredo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2019

Tasty food with good service on two levels in an open wooden building at the Southern end of town. I ate here three times and it was always good food. Vegetables in many dishes. Black bean and Oyster sauces with some good tender chicken and fish meat and bitter veggies zingy ginger, etc.. Large clean service water at your table. Relax and enjoy a normal restaurant :-)

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Easy to find actually but set back on a side street so you could miss it.

Excellent menu, great food, good choice of drinks and cold beer. All that and extremely good prices.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank tonytiss21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018

I stumbled across this restaurant while walking around Maasin.

It was decorated for the Valentine'sDay of earlier that week. The restaurant is atmospheric and double storey.

Waitresses were attractively attired.

I ordered a banana shake at P35 and stir fried scallops with cashew nuts and asked that vegetables be included. Scallop dish was P210 and had tiny scallop pieces.

The meal took half an hour to arrive and the drink a further 10 despite a reminder.

Food was seved hot, as ought be the case and was very pleasing to the palate. Serving size was generous.

I followed with a fried banana in toffee dessert. This was a huge serve. Despite my liking for sweets I could not finish it. There was also a small amount of ice cream while the plate was decorated with a dribble of strawberry topping, all for P75.

Male CR (toilet) was clean.

It was easy to get a trike back to lovely Caimato Beach Hotel.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018 via mobile

Fair prices in relation to other places in Maasin with a good selection on their menu. Would recommend.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank TomDallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Wok also viewed

Maasin, Southern Leyte Province
Maasin, Southern Leyte Province
 
Hilongos, Leyte Province
Sogod, Southern Leyte Province
 
Maasin, Southern Leyte Province
Maasin, Southern Leyte Province
 

Been to Mr Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing