We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management tried to limit access to Chitwan”
Review of Eco Wildlife Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eco Wildlife Lodge
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I very seldom give poor reviews, but in view of the previous positive reviews, feel some aspects of our stay should be be highlighted to give a balanced view. The lodge is outside Chitwan National Park, 1.5km from the park in the village of Jagatpur. It is sitauted in 'the buffer zone' between the agricultural land of the village and the River Rapti which borders Chitwan. On arriving we were met by our guide who gave us a 'program' determined by the manager of the lodge. Our stay was 3 nights and 2.5 days, but we were told we would only spend part of one day actually inside the park, even though there were gaps in the program marked 'optional' with no activity planned. We were told this was because the wildlife in the park is no better than in the buffer zone and that the entrance fee to the park is expensive at Rs 1500 (approx $16). We were very disappointed and unhappy this should be the case given the 5 hour trip from Kathmandu and the cost of the stay at over US$350. We voiced our concerns and it was suggested we spoke with the manager, Mr Kumar. Mr Kumar gave us numerous excuses as to why we couldn't enter the park including saying 'if you go there is only one track and you'll have to do the same tomorrow', whilst wondering how there could be only one track in such a large park, we pointed out that the wildlife would vary so this was fine. He then made further excuses saying we couldn't go as 'the jeep is in the garage', or 'we'll take you to a lake instead' etc. We repeatedly asked why, when coming so far to visit a national park, we couldn't spend the at least half of the time actually in the park, he seemed not to want to answer this question directly. We had to stand arguing with him and literally force his hand to hire a jeep for us. I still don't understand why he was so reluctant to allow us to enjoy what is the main selling-point of his lodge. Presumably it was monetary. The other big disappointment was the food. After some fairly repetitive, bland trekking food for 16 days, we were looking forward to a something slightly better given the relatively high price of the lodge by Nepali standards. Unfortunately the food was definitely inferior to the average teahouse! There was no choice whatsoever, the food was bland, served cold or luke warm, meals were repeated several times over a 3 night stay and the quality was poor. We were the only guests staying at the time. Our request (made in advance) for vegetarian food was addressed by merely omitting food. Breakfast one morning was a half plate of cold potatoes sitting in a pool of oil.
By far the best thing about the whole place was our guide, he was a gem! As enthusiastic birdwatchers we were very impressed both by his knowledge (based on 25 years experience as a naturalist in Chitwan) his amazing bird identification skills and his approach in general. He also kindly varied from the program to provide a flexibility that his manager refused to provide. He really made the trip for us and showed us up close the amazing bird and wildlife of Chitwan. We tipped accordingly and if returning to Chitwan would contact him directly and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

When we arrived in Eco Wildlife Lodge in Chitwan, Jagatpur I didn't have to worry about anything. They plan everything for us and all we had to do is enjoy. We went from Canada to Nepal and I took my kids to Nepal first time. Eco Wildlife Lodge was well-managed. Good, clean rooms and they also have fan in the rooms. Very good scenery around Lodge. Before we went to Chitwan I was talking to Saral Regmi (Owner) and he provided all the information we needed and arranged everything for us before we reached there. Even I got few calls from him on the way and arranged accordingly. Snacks were ready right in time. Manager Kumar Giri was very helpful and welcomed us with hospitality. We stayed there for only 1 night but it was lifetime experience. We had great Elephant Safari. My Kids loved most. I was able to see a Peacock so close first time besides zoo. You won't miss anything in the jungle and be sure that you will be in the right time and right place to see amazing rhinos, wild elephants and crocodiles. All the meals at the hotel are great, they have vegetable and non-vegetable options. All the staff are very kind and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nepal1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Eco Wildlife Lodge for three nights. I had just completed a busy trip in India and this was the perfect way to relax before flying home to the uk.The lodge is in a beautiful setting, is peaceful, tranquil and close to nature. Enclosed in it's own large grounds, not overlooked by anyone but in walking distance of the nearby small village. The accommodation is simple but very clean and comfortable with everything you need. Furnished tastefully in keeping with the surroundings and using locally sourced furniture and materials.The beautiful modern bathroom provided plenty of hot water for showers and the bedroom was spacious with comfortable beds and pillows. The food was excellent and the staff went to a lot of trouble to cater for my vegetarian diet. Early morning elephant rides, village walks,trips to the jungle, canoeing on the river and time to sit and watch the extensive birdlife a perfect way to relax and unwind.I would recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I spent two nights at this lodge as a woman travelling on my own in late May. The food was excellent, the guides were knowledgeable and staff were very helpful, and the rooms very comfortable and clean. A great bathroom! A very peaceful environment for a rest after a fairly hectic travel itinerary. I would certianly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 75ruthm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here in late March 2012 after trekking. It had been pre-arranged through a Nepali agency and I was unable to find out much about the lodge before leaving Australia so I was wondering what it would be like. We have become very used to researching and choosing our own accommodation, looking at photos, reviews, etc, etc.

Anyway I needn't have worried- it was a great little place.

Arrived after a 6 hour drive from Pokhara, the roads were interesting - very dusty, pretty rugged and quite busy. The last 20km takes an hour on a dirt road. The reason for the traffic was that there was a big festival happening at the Hindu Temple in the park for a 4 day period while we were there. The landscape is dramatically different to what we have been through in Nepal so far- it is hot, flat, dry and the sky is grey with smoke from the burn off that has/is occurring.

Very friendly greeting on arrival by Kumar and the rest of his staff. We are given a drink and an orientation tour of the lodge/routine for the stay. We are in Room 1, there are 2 blocks of 4 rooms in total. There are comfortable rattan seats on the verandah. Inside the room is a double and a single bed. Carpeted floor and mat, flowers on the bedside table and a jug of filtered water as well as bottled mineral water. Safari themed decor.

The peice de resistance (???? spelling) though is the bathroom- slate floor, western toilet, shower, basin and mirror AND HOT WATER! But wait- there's more- soap, toilet paper and fluffy towels! (after the trek it seems very luxurious). It is really clean.

We are on a 3 day/ 2 night package all inclusive deal. Our first meal is lunch (now a very late one) and it is HUGE, as in 3 course- soup, main, fruit. It is the most we have had for weeks and our first meat meal in Nepal. Each meal was 3 course and really generous in quantity. There was a meal theme each night - we enjoyed the Nepali meal most.

The programme is written up for each guest on a blackboard at the bar area and was very comprehensive. It all ran very efficiently on a schedule. We enjoyed elephant bathing, an elephant safari through the bush, 2 early morning jungle/bird walks, a canoe trip and a safari jeep ride. Our wildlife sightings included monkeys- macaques and langours, rhino, several deer species, 2 croc species and an unbelievable number of birds. In fact more than 30 species of birds! This place is a birdlovers paradise. Kumar is a bird watcher and very knowledgeable, he is a great asset to the lodge. We also saw lots of butterflies, moths and other assorted bugs. Some amazing sights!

We slept well and it was quite beautiful to wake to the sounds of the birds in the morning.

In summary- a great 2 night stay- I would like to return and spend a couple more days next time.
The staff were very nice. Great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent 4 days in this beautiful lodge, which is much more beautiful than the website photos suggest! It is surrounded by a thick banana plantation on the edge of the park.
The people working at the lodge are extremely friendly and professional. In particular our guide Kumar Giri followed us with patience and passion and he made us discover the nature and the social aspects of the region. He PERFECTLY planned the organization of all the activities and made our holiday just fantastic. I recommend in particular the excellent food that is always very accurately prepared and varied, and the great care put in food and water’s hygiene (water is always boiled and supplied in the room).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chitwan District hotels
17.3 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
445 reviews
17.1 mi away
Eden Jungle Resort
Eden Jungle Resort
#4 of 12 in Sauraha
172 reviews
16.8 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Kasara Resort
Kasara Resort
#2 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
183 reviews
13.5 mi away
Central Palms Hotel
Central Palms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bharatpur
12 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Wildlife Lodge

Address: near Jagatpur, PO Box 6033, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Chitwan District
Price Range: $43 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eco Wildlife Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Wildlife Lodge, Chitwan, Nepal, is set in peaceful surroundings within local farmland and with views of the community forest and, on a clear day, the Annapurna and Manaslu Himalayas.If you are seeking tranquil surroundings as well as the opportunity to see and learn more about the wildlife, flora, fauna, culture and history of the area, Eco Wildlife Lodge is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Eco Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Wildlife Lodge Nepal/Chitwan District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing