We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would not hesitate to return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Tree House

Lemon Tree House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hagbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lemon Tree House
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“We would not hesitate to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Travelling from Canada, we spent several nights at the Lemon Tree House while we attended some local attractions. Richard and Fiona welcomed us and made us feel right at home. We were pleased that they accomodated us with a full gourmet breakfast served early each morning so that we could be on our way. Beds were quite comfortable and the rooms fairly spacious and exceptionally clean. We also appreciated the wi-fi internet in our rooms. Should we travel in that part of the country again we would look forward to staying at the Lemon Tree House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_J_B_859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We just spent 5 nights at Lemon Tree House and it was fantastic. Our stay was based on a recommendation, which is always a good start and I cannot compliment our hosts enough (Richard and Fiona) who were friendly, welcoming, knowledgable and nothing was ever a problem. Richard made a delicious cooked breakfast, with an abundance of toast and tea. My wife is not a great fan of a cooked breakfast, so Fiona produced a fresh berry surprise, which went down very well indeed. East Hagbourne itself is a pretty village and is surrounded by other interesting and charming villages, notably Blewberry which is within walking distance via a local tourist path. The railway station is an easy 20 minutes walk and proved to be the easiest way to visit both Bath and Oxford. We were also spoiled for local eating places. We visited the Red Lion in Brightwell, The Bear at Home in North Moreton and the Wheatsheaf in East Hendred. All were within a few miles and all served great grub and beer. We particularly liked the Bear for its warm, friendly ambience, good beer and hearty and tasty food. If you are looking for a quiet couples holiday in the South of England, I would recommend Lemon Tree House as an ideal base.

Room Tip: Ask for the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L6YALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

A lovely little B&B. Room was clean, modern and well equipped. Warm and friendly atmosphere and fantastic tailor made breakfast included in price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

due to a new job located in Oxfordshire. Richard and Fiona are the perfect hosts and have made me feel very welcome during a difficult time. The rooms a comfortable and cosy and immaculately clean. Richard's breakfasts are the best i have ever had!

I would thouroughly recommend Lemon Tree House.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J23nea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I've never stayed in a B&B before so was a little apprehensive but it was lovely. We stayed in the studio apartment which was lovely and clean and quiet, perfect for 2 people. I also found that although it was part of the house, it was still cut off by a door so you didn't have the strange feeling of being in someone else's home.
The owners are lovely, relaxed and are really focused on making you feel welcome and comfortable.
It's close to the station and there seemed to be a few pubs down the road - perfect for a quiet weekend away.
The only problem is it's quite hidden away so if you are driving you have to look out for it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Found this b and b by chance as we were booked into a different one which was not good so asked our daughter to look on internet for another b and b. Having phoned the hosts we were able to get 2 nights here. The accommodation was lovely everything we needed including comfortable chairs and large shower. Next morning a great breakfast was served by Richard . We were lucky to have found this place and even more so because they had been away and had just got back so had the room. We did not see the other accommodation available.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipop53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hagbourne
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Wood B&B
Southern Wood B&B
#9 of 14 in Didcot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree House

Property: Lemon Tree House
Address: 42 New Road | East Hagbourne, East Hagbourne OX11 9JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > East Hagbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Hagbourne
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing