We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Experience!!!”
Review of Billing Aquadrome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billing Aquadrome
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home after 2 nights at Billing Aquadrome, and sadly until improvements are made we won't be back! It was like going back in time by 20-30yrs, maybe even longer than that! This site does not cater well for tourers and motor homes. The hard standings are almost none existent just a bit of gravel thrown down here and there, and only a 10amp power supply. The toilet and shower block were no more than disgusting, toilet doors missing, lights not working, toilet roll in just a few cubicles, toilet seats broken and falling off! The shower blocks fare no better, they were equally disgusting, cold and unkempt. The only plus point was the water was warm although not much more than a trickle! And why on earth is the toilet block almost 100 metres from the shower block? There is a pot washing area small, and outside the building open to the elements. Billing is very busy with cars coming and going from the residential area but there are no pavements so you have to dodge the traffic or walk on the muddy grass. I can't comment on the new restaurant or swimming pool as we didn't use them but the building itself looked impressive, just a shame the touring area doesn't match up to it. This could be such a great place to stay if the owners invested in it and improved the standard of the touring area. Unfortunately, it was disappointing, dirty and doesn't score very highly for prettiness. On the plus side the wild birds, ducks and geese love it and the lake areas are nice. Come on Billing you can do better than this!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Saltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Guest Relations Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay.

There are a mixture of gravel, grass and hard standing pitches available along with super pitches that are constructed from large concrete bases and include electric and water connection’s suitable for even the largest tourers. The electricity available is16amp.

During the low season only one of the shower blocks is open, however there are two more shower blocks and four more toilet blocks that are also open at busier times.

The brand new restaurant and swimming pool situated within The Venue are a fantastic addition to our park. Food, fun and entertainment is provided as shown on our website.

We will continue to make improvements to the park and hope you will consider returning in the future as they take form.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 905 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

It may not be to everyone's taste but for us it is the ideal bolt-hole just an hour away from where we live. Tranquil and peaceful, walks galore and an Indian restaurant that serves food of the highest quality. Everybody should give it a try, you'll not regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryBLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Guest Relations Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In the quiet season our park is the perfect location to enjoy waterside activities and country walks and is quite different to the lively atmosphere on offer during the busier times of the year.

Along with a superb Indian restaurant there is also fantastic Venue Complex which contains a swimming pool and various evenings all which are advertised on our website.

Hope that you visit again and enjoy many more stays here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visited the site on three occasions, each time in the summer. There is a sewage treatment facility near the park and when the wind blows from that direction it is truly disgusting. We were sat outside eating our meal and then had to go inside as the smell was so bad. Avoid unless you like that sort of thing. Only reason we visit is for elderly family who bought a lodge there otherwise no chance.

2  Thank Travellinggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, General Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We have had no reported problems this year and are very surprised to read this.

There is a sewage treatment facility nearby but the owners of this facility have taken measures to ensure that there are no problems in relation to the aroma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked a lodge with PTR Lettings they have two one that allows dogs and the other which is on a stunning island surrounded by ducks and other wildlife.
This is our second time here and just love the location of the lodge.
The site it self if nice with a little train that runs around the lake, small fair and shops.
There is a swimming pool I think that is extra we have seen it but as we only go for a rest have not used it.
Great for walking and has a couple of fish & chip shops also an Indian Restaurant and out side a pub that does meals two for £10 food here is good.
I have photos of the lodge if your interested

1  Thank kaz110965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, General Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review, it is always nice to hear from customers who revisit or park and continue to enjoy the facilities.

The Complex does have a swimming pool as well as an indoor play area bar and restaurant with decking area over looking the Marina Lake however there is an additional charge for access to the swimming pool.

We do hope that you continue to visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had our wedding venue at billing aquadrome in the new complex the venue it was so beautifull the food the staff and the whole place was absolutely amazing and brilliant value for money and we advise any one who is planning their wedding to look at making their special day even better buy having it there nothing was to much trouble and they went through the whole evening with us step by step on sever occasions and got the detail Dow to a t it was perfect thank u so much billing but a big thanks to Clair the complex manager u were brilliant

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, General Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it's always nice to hear when people have enjoyed their visit.

Glad to hear that you had such a fantastic wedding and felt so well looked after by Clair and her team. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Based on our 3 nights there it was good, however the kids had gone back to school so was quiet, but at peak times I can see a few problems, 1 minimal showers, 2 minimal toilets, 3 to many travellers, this is a very big camp site with lots of things to do in peak season, not so much out of season, staff helpful, security when we were there were active, plenty of water fill up points, but only 2 cdp, plenty of places to eat, we ate from vinnies 2 nights food was good, beware of big spiders in the shower blocks

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, General Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for your feedback.

The shower and toilet facilities are currently under review for improvement. The park does indeed have a lot to offer in terms of activities and things to do.

Hope that you come back soon and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having booked several weeks in advance to take our caravan to Billing Aquadrome for the Balloon Festival we assumed we would be allotted a pleasant spot to stay for three nights. Wrong !!!
In thirty- five years of caravanning I have never been in such an awful situation.
We arrived on the Friday afternoon to find the whole area completely covered in caravans, motor homes and tents and absolutely nowhere for us to park our caravan.
There were obviously hundreds of people staying for the festival but what really disturbed me was the number of touring caravans that were semi-permanent with lots of rubbish strewn all around them.
We pulled off the site and complained to the front office who's staff were extremely helpfull. They recommended another caravan site to stay and promised me a full refund.
I would not recommend caravanning at Billing Aquadrome and would encourage anyone thinking of going to an event here to find a caravan site elsewhere.

3  Thank TonyVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, General Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience at our park.

The annual Balloon Festival is one of our largest and most popular events and attracts a particularly high number of visitors and holiday guests.

There are a number of seasonal touring caravans on site brought mainly by people who have enjoyed their holiday and want to visit more often. We encourage all of our guests and owners to keep their pitches clean and tidy and will certainly feedback your concerns to the park to look into further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Billing
3.4 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#18 of 26 in Northampton
726 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#13 of 26 in Northampton
558 reviews
2.2 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#20 of 26 in Northampton
446 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 26 in Northampton
462 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#3 of 4 in Wellingborough
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billing Aquadrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billing Aquadrome

Address: Billing Aquadrome Crow Lane, Great Billing NN3 9DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Great Billing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Great Billing
Price Range: $16 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 235 acres of parkland in the heart of England, Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park provides an environment that appeals to all ages with a range of facilities and attractions making it the ideal location for holidays, short breaks, camping or holiday home ownership.If you prefer a touring lifestyle and own a motorhome, touring caravan or narrowboat, it's all here waiting for you to enjoy! Billing Aquadrome has recently benefited from a huge investment program to ensure the park amenities offer outstanding choice and variety. The newly completed state of the art leisure centre is an addition sure to attract even more visitors who will return year after year - come and try it for yourself! Billing Aquadrome is famous for the wide variety of fun rallies, events, festivals and shows it hosts throughout the year, from the extremely popular Land Rover show to the recently relocated Balloon Festival. Come the evening, the bars, restaurants and entertainment come alive as the focal points to meet, have fun, and enjoy life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billing Aquadrome Hotel Great Billing
Billing Aquadrome Great Billing, United Kingdom - Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing