We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family fun place to stay”
Review of Billing Aquadrome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billing Aquadrome
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we came to camp for 7 nights it was great fun.huge place with lots to do.fair is very cheep...swimming pool great..lots for the kids to do around the site.staff lovely..food great ..my only moan would be toilets and showers very dirty.saw two cleaners few times just spray a filthy mop with fluid and whip over the floors .the mop was vile .how can u say u have cleaned with no bucket to soak and clean the mop in.also showers were full mud ,haor etc after they had just been cleaned.my last day i noticed a different lady in small silver car cleaning on her own and the showers were spotless so goes to show its staff being lazy...i would stay again .needs entertainment in week in main club as its not very busy.the pub near the fair is packed but its not as nice at all very grubby .if more was on in main club it would be packed out as its much nicer ..coming back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 895 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Awful place. Dirty. Toilets and showers were a disgrace. Toilet emptying facilities for campers were extremely dirty. Dont think they had been cleaned in months Badley in need of updating. The toilet blocks were all the same, a disgrace. I dont think I saw a cleaner the whole weekend. The venue was okay at least this was clean. Everywhere else was dirty. The whole of the site is in need of a complete update to comer up to modern day standards.

1  Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this site. We have motorhomes and as we were only a party of 2 we were actually unable to reserve 2 pitches together. Fortunately my daughter arrived Friday afternoon so she managed to save 2 pitches together. The toilet and shower blocks were terrible, they were dirty and a disgrace. I cannot actually remember seeing anyone cleaning any of the blocks. The toilet emptying facilities for campers were extremely dirty, I do not think they had been cleaned in months. I went to 2 of the blocks and they were both the same. The staff in the visitor centre were helpful and friendly and the new pool area was okay but for the rest, including the Weaver pub, Just do not visit. It is tired,dirty and one campsite never to be re visited.
KT

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Guest Relations Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments, sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your recent stay.

Billing Aquadrome is a very large camp site with over 300 electric hook ups and 1200 standard pitches, however if any one has any specific requests we are always more than happy to do what ever we can to accommodate them.

We operate a strict cleaning schedule for the toilet and shower blocks and provide an emergency contact number should there be any problems. During busy times the blocks have 24 hour cleaners.

There is not a Weaver pub but our swimming complex is a fabulous place to spend the evenings as well as the days.

We hope that that you feel you can give Billing another try in the future and once again are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your previous stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Phoned up several weeks before going and was told we could night fish but we couldn't night fish the river Nene. On arrival we was told we could only fish one lake The Willow Lake,which was bang next to a fair blaring music out all day and the pub which had the music going till 1-30am. the lake was totally unfishable as it was about 2 foot deep, in the edge it was that shallow that if you were lucky enough to catch a 30lb carp which they reckon was in there you would have had to drag it over gravel to get it in. The pegs were shocking in a right state in fact I would say half of them were a health an saftey issue. On the second day we were told no one had caught on there for over a week which was believable as everytime you cast in no matter where you cast you just brought weed in when you wound in. Third day tried one of the other lakes and was told to get off way before dark didnt catch anything on there either. All in all DONT FISH HERE. Toilets only had cold water an no showers near by. Rubbish.

4  Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at billing aquadrome and i was terrified we had made a mistake booking it having read the dreadful reviews on here.
We arrived around 2pm on satuday and had a warm welcome from the staff although our caravan was not yet ready (check in was at 4pm) they advised us that if it would be ready earlier the number would be written on a board in the venue.
At 4pm we collected our keys and arrived at a lovely clean and spacious 2 bedroom caravan, i was very impressed with the cleanliness as this was a dog friendly caravan and on other sites they can sometimes smell quite bad.
The site is spacious and generally well kept. The swimming pool although not very big was nice with a jacuzzi and water slide (beware - this is not included in the price of the accomodation, but it does serve to keep numbers down to a pleasant level). The fair is fairly old but there are rides to suit all ages and rides cost generally 1-2 pounds in tokens.
The go-karts were the thrill of our 10 year old sons break and he went on them 3 times, not cheap at £5 for 5 minutes but well worth the pleasure on his face.
Although the site was completely full being bank holiday, with dog show on both days drawing in day visitors, it didn't feel full by any means.
The wildlife on the site was lovely, and it felt very close to nature.
All in all we had a very good holiday and intend to return again, it is not too far from where we live and well signposted from the motorway.
vinnie's curry house was nice enough and prices were average as was the meal.

the downsides:-

Many of the shops which were once open seemed to have closed down, none of the shops on the site were much use for shopping and we found that the garage just outside sold a better variety of things for less money.
the onsite chip shop was not good quality however we would definitely reccomend the chip shop next to the garage just outside the entrace.
The toilets next to the go karts were locked all weekend which seemed ridiculous considering they were the closest for the day visitors attending the dog show.
The toilets next to the campsite seemed to have bad drainage and smelt awful.
We went for breakfast this morning before we left at the venue and as we had the dog with us we sat outside. it is a lovely decking area to sit on and overlook the water, our pleasure today however, was spoilt by workmen drilling and hammering right next to our table. the food is not what you would expect, we ordered a sausage and bacon sandwich on white bloomer but the bloomer did not appear and we ended up with a rather thin dry piece of bread to house our breakfast. i would not recommend eating here at all.
The only other thing i found ridiculous was the price of the sweetshop on the site, he was asking £2 for a tub of around 8 sweets.

All in all we had a great time and will return, i dont feel that the negative reviews are necessarily painting a true picture but there are changes they could make to the site. We paid £274 for a 2 nedroom caravan for 3 adults 1 child and 2 dogs over a bank holiday weekend and we felt that this was a good price compared to what haven and hoseasons were charging for similar. i would say to the negative views that you do get what you pay for sometimes and if you want 5 star luxury you wont find it for £200 quid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadiencon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Guest Relations Manager at Billing Aquadrome, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We can advise that the toilet and shower blocks will be reviewed during our winter program with a view to creating visible improvements in time for the new season.

With regards to the Bloomer loaf which was unfortunately unavailable during your visit, the Chef created Triple Decker Sandwiches as an alternative which he is always more than happy to do.

Once again were very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well, I have never seen anyting like it!

We went here to see the Balloon Festival which in itself was great and quite spectacular, however - Billing Aquadrome was a dreadful place. I have never been to anything as badly organised.

On entry they took your money off you (which to be fair at £10 for a car full was cheap) but then left you to drive round the park with no one to direct you and back out again to park you offsite! We parked on the verge, I am sure we should not ahve done but the place seemed so anarchic no one bothered. This place is a health and safety diaster with cars and small children mixing at clsoe quarters.

The whole place looked tired and a lot of the clientele quite intimidating, a bit like a cross between BFGW and the Jermey Kyle show.

Balloon Festival yes, but look at the wind direction and park close by to watch them go by.

Billing Aquadrome - not for us, but it does have the potential to be REALLY nice if someone got hold of it, invested some money and ran it professionally.

3  Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a great bank holiday weekend with the family but felt a little let down by the cost! Have taken the tent elsewhere and had more for our money! Overall it was clean and tidy and well kept and would recommend if u are going with a big party of people!

    • Value
1  Thank EssCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Billing
1.3 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#27 of 27 in Northampton
564 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
2.2 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#16 of 27 in Northampton
695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton
Holiday Inn Northampton
#11 of 27 in Northampton
531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Round Spinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billing Aquadrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billing Aquadrome

Address: Billing Aquadrome Crow Lane, Great Billing NN3 9DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Great Billing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Great Billing
Price Range: $20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 235 acres of parkland in the heart of England, Billing Aquadrome Holiday Park provides an environment that appeals to all ages with a range of facilities and attractions making it the ideal location for holidays, short breaks, camping or holiday home ownership.If you prefer a touring lifestyle and own a motorhome, touring caravan or narrowboat, it's all here waiting for you to enjoy! Billing Aquadrome has recently benefited from a huge investment program to ensure the park amenities offer outstanding choice and variety. The newly completed state of the art leisure centre is an addition sure to attract even more visitors who will return year after year - come and try it for yourself! Billing Aquadrome is famous for the wide variety of fun rallies, events, festivals and shows it hosts throughout the year, from the extremely popular Land Rover show to the recently relocated Balloon Festival. Come the evening, the bars, restaurants and entertainment come alive as the focal points to meet, have fun, and enjoy life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Billing Aquadrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billing Aquadrome Hotel Great Billing
Billing Aquadrome Great Billing, United Kingdom - Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing