We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
74
11
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
11
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegemite jar accommodation host camino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2018

We booked and arrived at Casas de Outeiro late from a long walking day in the rain. The host was most welcoming and drove us to the best restaurant in Samos and then arranged for the restaurant owner to drive us back.
The accommodation is a very quaint and rustic 2 bedroom cottage with full kitchen facilities and a lounge area. It would be an ideal place to relax for a few days. The breakfast was superb and served in a private dining area.
The host went out of his way to make sure my gluten free diet was well catered for. ( He also had a jar of vegemite for any Australian visitor).

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francoise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018

Arrived after long walk to have , no one to attend me for 20 mins, had pre booked/paid deposit for all our accommodation along the Camino before leaving Australia and starting the Camino via booking.com. No one spoke English the boss was away, to be told they only take cash not credit card. This was not what it said on the booking site and I was not informed of any changes. We Had to go and find alternative accommodation. Not a good experience after a long days walk. Have never had this sort of problem anywhere based on this I will not recommend this hotel

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 519avrils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BertaLGomez, Propietario at Casas de Outeiro, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Good afternoon, in your reservation on Booking you did not provide your card number and you did not want to pay in cash, so we had no way to charge you. Booking called you in the moment to explain it and we also explained you in english. In addition to going mad for no reason, we took you by car to where you wanted. We regret that you could not stay with us, but without paying, it is difficult.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Casas de Outeiro is located right on the Camino as you enter Samos. The room was outstanding - large, modern, clean and beautiful. We were greeted by the host who spoke English and was very helpful with information about the accommodation and the town. Samos is lovely and is worth the extra few km if you are walking the Camino. Casas de Outeiro is located uphill from the centre of town but it is not too long a walk and it is very quiet. This was one of the nicer places we stayed in along the Camino and was good value for the 50 euro we paid. I would highly recommend to anyone seeking this type of accommodation. It was delightful!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Stayed 2 nights whilst walking the Camino. This review is influenced by the fact we had walked to Sarria and then had to get transport back to Samos for our tour group prearranged accommodation. The hosts are helpful and friendly but there isn’t a lot of choice in Samos to eat. We left one restaurant because of poor service and the next restaurant the waiter was in a bad mood but we stayed because we were starving by then!! It was very hot and there was no AC so almost impossible to sleep even with the windows open. WiFi wasn’t great in the villa where I was but this might have been due to the location. Massage therapist on site, who is ok, something to do. Laundry service to wash our clothes was provided for free and we just hung up our clothes which was great. On our previous rest days we have stayed at hotels where we could get a cooked breakfast and take our time to graze. It’s a set simple breakfast of good quality. Not a lot to do in Samos, visit the monastery which is definitely worth a visit. Its self-contained accommodation of a good quality with nice hosts, large rooms, no bath, fridge, pay TV. Just unfortunate we had very hot weather and a rest day with not a lot to do.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catattack_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile

This is the start of our Camino trek. Just sensational. We booked the suite, it has its own courtyard, kitchenette, fireplace, spa - beautifully renovated and appointed. It rained Constantly when we were there but we didn't care as it was so wonderful inside.
It is located on the hill looking down into Samos and a short walk to the cafe/bar etc.
We decided to skip dinner in town and picked up supplies from the supermarket so we could stay in the room longer.
No need to hesitate - just book it. Make sure you get the suite.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank christinebP9995GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews