We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neglected beauty”
Review of Kanok Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kanok Buri Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Neglected beauty”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have spent a week in the resort and were amazed and disappointed in the same time. The resort itself is very beautiful, amazing tropical gardens interweave with ponds, everything nicely set in rather narrow plot right at the beach (part of the resort). The villas/ rooms are nicely designed. The stuff there is very nice, especially the ladies at the front desk. However, it suffers from lack of maintenance and responsive care, which this resort definetaly deserves. Examples: There was a wedding the day after our arrival. We could find parts of decorations/ hair clips or empty bottles still several days later.. One empty bottle of whisky was on the restaurant terrace even before our departure (one week later). Nobody cleans the beach or organize the sunbeds and umbrellas. All is self serviced, including the beach towel box, so it happens quite often, that there is no more towel left, so you have to ask for more. Also, number of sunbeds is quite low for the capacity of the resort. So typically, when you come to the beach, you are lucky to have towels rigth away and you are even more lucky to find free sunbeds. You have to clean the mattress (half of them without the headrests) from the previous user and you have to bring the umbrella, the base for it and install it yourself. There is restaurant right at the beach. It is mostly empty, but nobody comes to ask you for any possible order.. You have to go inside to order and then they just bring it to you. I'm sure, if the waiter would come around just 1-2 times a day, they would earn much more money (and tips). But with the stuff's passivity, lots of guests rather went to the near shop to buy drinks and icecream cheaper...
Otherwise, the restaurant is quite good, the prices are ok, but not cheap (compairing the style, type and quality of food with others). Our favourite restaurant was in another resort on the beach.. Breakfasts were not really worth to wake up (especially when you are jet lag). Only good thing was freshly made omelette upon you request.
Rooms are nice and clean. You get 1 bottle of water/ person/ day, tea and coffee free. All rooms have free wifi available and also free safe. The minibars contain ca. 50% of what it would normally contain. The regulation of hot/cold water in the shower is really tricky and the water temperature is constantly changing. Bathroom anemities do not include the shower gel!! On the other hand it offers little toothbrush with paste, in case you forget.. :)
Spa is very nice, clean, good quality, but also the prices are higher..
Generally, it seems that the hotel management is saving money for manpower and is missing the international standards point of view. However, the price for the accomodation was very afforable + we found out (coincidentally!) that we were upgraded in better room.
The location was just perfect for us! Far from the tourists' masses, but not abandoned.

Room Tip: Definitely the part from the main building (inclusive) towards sea.. Everything, what is behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    78
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
30
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is our 2nd trip to Koh Samui after 7 years. This round we bought along our 2 sons (6 & 1.5 year-old boys).

ROOM:
I booked the Balcony Jaccuzzi & got upgraded to Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa.
The place looks exactly same as the official photo posted by the hotel. In good condition!!
My room is just next to the Restaurant & swimming pool. It is the best for with easy access to beach, swimming pool & restaurant with no noise experienced despite of located at active pathway.

HOTEL FACILITIES:
Restaurant is next to the beach where we had good relaxing breakfast time while the 2 kids playing sands near our table.
Swimming pool is not big but good enough for us.
The beach tower seems to be in low supplier where it was ran out by the evening.
Other facilities mentioned in hotel website is all correct & good condition.

BEACH:
Compared to my 1st trip to Centara Samui Villa, the sea is a lot calmer & safe for children. The sad is soft enough for my younger one where he does feel the pain even when he threw the sand onti his own face.

FOOD & TRANSPORT:
Breakfast - Daily breakfast served from 7-10am. Very basic with bread, Cereal, Egg couter, Fruit, vege salad, bacon, ham, suasage & some days with fried rice/noodle/mushroom + coffee, Tea, pineapple & orange juices.

The hotel food is rather pricely & the portion is small. Only the Pizza is standard.
We ordered a Fungi pizza + cabornara pasta + Cordon Blue + 3 fruit juices & cost us 1300Baht.
We tried the locat store for local Thai food. It is just average for an Asian like me who loves Thai food a lot. The price of course a lot better than Hotel Restaurant. We had a TomYam Soup + Fried egg with Rice + 2 white rice + stir fried garlic pork for abt 350Baht.
There is a western food store same road of the hotel which selling fungi pizza for 170Baht only but we didn't try.
We went to Chaweng for McDonald Lunch on Pork Burger which is the best for me.
(Tips: There is ONE WAY shuttle bus to go Chaweng from the hotel at 3pm daily with reservation of 2 days in advance. The hotel staff told us the taxi back from Chaweng is 700Baht as no shuttle buss from hotel available from Chaweng.)
We rented a car from hotel for 1500 baht per day and the petrol cost us 400Baht.

STAFF:
The staff is very friendly & they get things done very quickly.

LOCATION:
Only downside of this is the location. Unlike Chaweng, it does not have shops within walking distance. Only the 2 local food stores & 1 western + small massage "shop". The food stores also sell some tibits, beverages includes liqour & beer.

It is a GREAT place for family who just want to be staying in the hotel & enjoy the beach, sun & sea.

We will be back again next year!!!

Room Tip: If you opt for Pool Villas or Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa, the ones that next to restaurant & swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aykhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have to admit that I am not a big fan of Koh Samui, mainly because I really dislike Chaweng and some of the incredibly tacky tourist activities dotted around the island. However, I think Lipa Noi is a welcome respite, and the Kanok Buri resort itself has some fabulous accomodation, in a peaceful area with little of the rowdiness of other larger places.

We love riding scooters (we have licenses and take our own european helmets) and that really made life easy for us. Lipa Noi is quite secluded. If you are there purely to relax on the beach, its a great place for you. If you love the wind in your hair or helmet, its also a great place to use as a base for rides around the less touristy parts of the island.

We were upgraded to one of the pool villas that was absolutely fabulous. The last few nights were moved to a jacuzzi room in the main building. Those rooms were a lot more tired than the brand new villa we stayed in. Hard to judge them really after you've been so spoilt in the gorgeous villa!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairouzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We got married there! Great place! Awesome staff!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchydressing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very quiet and peaceful Hotel, we had a villa with private pool, near to the beach room 303 very large room with Lcd tv Four Poster Bed large bathroom with shower and Marbel Bathtub. The beach is marvellous very long sandy beach excellent for having a jog in the morning or just a stroll in the evenings, Hotel grounds very well kept, Restaurant for all meals is on the Beach, good menu, but they need to train their staff, very inexperienced waiters very little knowledge of english. (but that said) The receptionist and the rest of the staff at this hotel speak marvellous english and are very attentive to all their guests.Tried the Spa its a must for everyone, will really miss my oıl massages. Yes this Hotel is in a quiet location, but that is why we picked it, very traditional Thai Hotel with the best sunsets on the island.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach are nearer the restaurant and swimming pool. We stayed in villa 303 Beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strettTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our stay at Kanok Buri was amazing. We arrived late at night and we were greeted by a very lovely smiling receptionist who made us feel welcomed immediately. We were told that we had been upgraded from a balcony jacuzzi room to a bungalow suite...and what an amazing room we had! The receptionist showed us around and made sure to remind us that there was a hidden step down into the bathroom (although I still tripped on it and smashed my kobo). We had a cold pool outside our bungalow with lounging chairs, a big comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom with a stand alone shower and seperate bath tub.

The service we recieved was excellent. They were very helpful with any questions we had, booking a ferry, and when we thought our shower drain was clogged they were on it before we even left the front desk. The grounds are clean and beautiful. The beach is very nice, although it rained for most of our stay. Breakfast was a typical Thailand buffet breakfast with some western and Thai food as well as an omlette station. Restaurant is beautiful right on the beach. We had lunch in the restaurant one day which was very good as well.

The only reason I'm ging it a four is because of location. There is very little around this hotel to do. So if you want a quiet relaxing stay, this place is definately for you. Because it is so secluded, the hotel and the ladies across the street charge more for laundry. It is however easy to rent a scooter (around $8 CAD/day) and go see the rest of the island. Our taxi from the airport cost us 1000 baht because it was on the opposite side of the island. It is close the pier at Nathon if you are taking a ferry though.

Overall a very good experience, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were only given one key and then when we were out 4000 baht was taken out of our room. So the staff knew when we were out

Room Tip: Dont keep money in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patty1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.2 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
390 reviews
7.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
7.5 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,616 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanok Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanok Buri Resort

Property: Kanok Buri Resort
Address: 84 Moo2 Lipa Noi Beach, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanok Buri Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanok Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanok Buri Hotel Lipa Noi
Kanok Buri Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing