We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai atmosphere by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife wanted this year to experiment a sunny and relaxing place to begin the year. I travel worldwide all along the year for business purposes and needed a break. We had travelled to different places before, such as Mauritius and Maldives and this year we had decided to join some friends who had been praising the qualities of Lipa Lodge for so long, that we just wanted to enjoy it too! We stayed for 11 days during the month of January.
At our arrival in the Airport, we discovered that the climate in Koh Samui is fantastic at this time of year and that flowers are blooming. The bungalows at Lipa Lodge are built in natural materials; they are comfortable spacious and kept very clean. We highly enjoyed the van system which ensured ventilation of the room without excessive cold and found it very appropriate to the climate. Swimming in the sea is a delight as well as relaxing by the pool, which is very quiet, clean and facing the sunset. Our bungalow had a view of the sea through the palms and beautifully maintained flowers of the garden.
The Thai food at the Lodge was delicious and we appreciated having this great restaurant on the spot which meant no need to drive to another place like the main town of Nathon for Lunch or Dinner.
There were a few minor issues mainly due to communication. At our arrival we were welcomed by Pichai, a member of staff who speaks excellent English and even some French, and who was always able to give good advice and recommendations. Unfortunately, some other staff members struggled a little, which could at times make it difficult when you wanted to arrange excursions, massages etc.
WIFI is available freely at the lobby location. When we left, it was anticipated to extend it to the distant bungalows locations.
We strongly recommend this location to friends and people who want to relax in a genuine Thai atmosphere by the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sesquiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Lipa in January 2013. We found the room to be very large, modern and comfortable with great sea views through the beautiful gardens.

The food in the restaurant is really good, we ate here most of the time. The staff are very friendly and want to please you but there is a language problem so the orders are not always right.

The manager Pichai is really welcoming and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble for him to arrange but he is not normally around in the evening so that´s when sometimes things get confused.

The location is the best on the island, the beach is lovely and you can relax by the pool and just watch the world go by.

In general this is a really nice and relaxing place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank StephanieEmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I have been coming here for many years, and this year we invited some friends to come here too because we had been praising the qualities of Lipa Lodge for so long, they just had to enjoy it too! We stayed for the whole month of January.
This wonderful escape from the English winter for a whole month allowed us to forget the grey, cold and snowy conditions at home.
The climate here is fantastic at this time of year, and the sunsets stunning. The bungalows are spacious and kept beautifully clean. Swimming off the white sandy beach is a joy or relaxing by the pool in the immaculate gardens. The bungalows almost all have a good view of the sea through the palms and wild orchids in the garden.
Add to this the delicious Thai food and it is almost perfect.
There were a few minor issues mainly to do with communication. Pichai is the only member of staff who is able to fully engage with the guests as he speaks excellent English, but when he is not around the restaurant and other staff struggle a bit. He also arranges excursions and car rental, massages etc.
All in all a wonderful holiday which we will repeat next year. A long term stay also attracts discounted room rates.

Room Tip: Best to pick a room with the seaview to get the most from the sunsets from the room balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have recently attended a wedding in Koh Samui and we stayed at Lipa Lodge with one other couple. It was a great place to stay - for us - quiet and quite private away from the other resorts but only a short walk up the beach to other accommodations where other friends were staying. The are minimal rooms - quite spacious and only about 13 in total. The pool was never crowded, the beach at our doorstep with lovely white clean sand. The restaurant was never crowded and we were always greeted with friendly service. We did have a little difficulty in translation but soon learned which of the staff had the best English. We were unfortunately not picked up from the airport for our pre-arranged transfer but were duly compensated. We perhaps paid a little more than the other accommodation but felt the privacy was worth the extra. Our bathroom smelt a little - there may have been a problem at the time of our stay but it was acceptable. The pet dog does not like tomato sauce !!!

Room Tip: Our rooms faced beach (deluxe) and we were able to sit on balcony and watch sunsets - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here with my entire family in January 2013. The overall consensus was that it is WAY overpriced and staff was not very attentive. The grounds were also not very well manicured, again, considering what you pay.

I paid 4100B/$145 for their Standard Beachfront Bungalow. I've done a lot of traveling through Thailand and in my opinion I would say these rooms are worth between 1800-2100B/$60-$70 during Peak Season. So, all rooms are about 55% overpriced.

All in all, I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasonedVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did not stay here but visited the restaurant. We had the most amazing meal here last week and decided to return two days later. However, on that occasion the manager had asked an elderly German woman friend to help out and the place descended into chaos, with one of our party getting two starters and another none! Two of us had Mojito cocktails and after the first sip all you could taste was water (they did however replace them). We could see other diners complaining, although I'm not sure what their particular complaints were. The bill took over half an hour to arrive, which is odd because there were not many guests. The contrast between our first meal and the second was marked, but the food on both occasions was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a lovely, quiet piece of heaven on Earth. After a hectic 11 hour boat and bus journey from Bangkok it was exactly what we needed. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful- nothing was too much trouble and the manager helped us to organise travel to the full moon party. There is also a lovely stray dog that lives around the area- gray with a good, placid manner- who we named John and anyone going to Lipa Lodge should slip her a bit of bacon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.2 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Chytalay Palace Hotel
Chytalay Palace Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ang Thong
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#7 of 8 in Lipa Noi
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Kanok Buri Resort
Kanok Buri Resort
#6 of 8 in Lipa Noi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lipa Lodge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipa Lodge Beach Resort

Address: 75/4 Moo3, T.Lipa Noi, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lipa Noi
Price Range: $73 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lipa Lodge Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lipa Lodge Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lipa Lodge Beach Hotel Lipa Noi
Lipa Hotel Beach
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing