We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Holiday Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lipa Lodge Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have recently attended a wedding in Koh Samui and we stayed at Lipa Lodge with one other couple. It was a great place to stay - for us - quiet and quite private away from the other resorts but only a short walk up the beach to other accommodations where other friends were staying. The are minimal rooms - quite spacious and only about 13 in total. The pool was never crowded, the beach at our doorstep with lovely white clean sand. The restaurant was never crowded and we were always greeted with friendly service. We did have a little difficulty in translation but soon learned which of the staff had the best English. We were unfortunately not picked up from the airport for our pre-arranged transfer but were duly compensated. We perhaps paid a little more than the other accommodation but felt the privacy was worth the extra. Our bathroom smelt a little - there may have been a problem at the time of our stay but it was acceptable. The pet dog does not like tomato sauce !!!

Room Tip: Our rooms faced beach (deluxe) and we were able to sit on balcony and watch sunsets - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here with my entire family in January 2013. The overall consensus was that it is WAY overpriced and staff was not very attentive. The grounds were also not very well manicured, again, considering what you pay.

I paid 4100B/$145 for their Standard Beachfront Bungalow. I've done a lot of traveling through Thailand and in my opinion I would say these rooms are worth between 1800-2100B/$60-$70 during Peak Season. So, all rooms are about 55% overpriced.

All in all, I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did not stay here but visited the restaurant. We had the most amazing meal here last week and decided to return two days later. However, on that occasion the manager had asked an elderly German woman friend to help out and the place descended into chaos, with one of our party getting two starters and another none! Two of us had Mojito cocktails and after the first sip all you could taste was water (they did however replace them). We could see other diners complaining, although I'm not sure what their particular complaints were. The bill took over half an hour to arrive, which is odd because there were not many guests. The contrast between our first meal and the second was marked, but the food on both occasions was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a lovely, quiet piece of heaven on Earth. After a hectic 11 hour boat and bus journey from Bangkok it was exactly what we needed. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful- nothing was too much trouble and the manager helped us to organise travel to the full moon party. There is also a lovely stray dog that lives around the area- gray with a good, placid manner- who we named John and anyone going to Lipa Lodge should slip her a bit of bacon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

After a hectic 10 days of diving/partying etc we came here for 3 nights of r&r before going home. And it delivered! Lovely room with a sea view. Very small resort and only about 6 other guests total, so it had a really peaceful feel. Great infinity pool, completely private beach and restaurant on the beach for fab dinners and breakfast. Fab sunsets. We loved it! Not for everyone though - it really was silenty quiet and you couldn't walk anywhere; we were happy hiring a moped (from the hotel for £2 a day) but otherwise you'd struggle to get around. Also, the staff whilst friendly could do with speaking slightly better english. Highly recomemended though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

the resort is old and worn out. Over-rated. Check your bills as we were charged on food and drinks that were from other guests. There were ants all over the rooms. The air-con not working properly two of our rooms were leaking with water seeping into our bags, and one air con even stopped working on the second day of our stay. There ants all over the rooms. Food at the restaurant not great relatively to normal Thai food. Most of the items on the menu is also not available. Over charged our rooms. These operators are dishonest made our stay in K Samui a bad experience. Will not recommend anyone to this resort..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelindaZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

You arrive here, and life slows down, just as it should on a holiday.
We stayed from the 29 June to 5 July 2012, as part of a family holiday. Most of our stay we were the only people there, it seemed like we had a private lodge. We have so many good things to say about the place!

Rooms - Traditional Thai style, very clean, very large, aircons work well, lovely verandas to sit around on, lots of hot water. comfy beds for a good night sleep.

Staff - so lovely!
Those serving in the restaurant were very friendly, their English may not be perfect, but it all works and they will make your day.
Those in the kitchen are talented, the food is fantastic, and all the dishes that have been recommended on the first page of the menu should be tried!
Those cleaning did a really good job - would clean all our rooms while we ate breakfast, better service than the five star places we stayed at where cleaners don't arrive until 3-5pm.

They went above and beyond, when seeing my sister and I in town at the supermarket, offered us a lift home in their own family car. On our last night they made us some special thai desserts, which was also very generous.

Restaurants - we ate the majority of our meals here, trying all kinds of things from the extensive menu, and never getting sick(when it seems like your the only guests all month, you wonder how fresh kitchen ingredients could be, but it was perfect). Food is very reasonably priced, and we all enjoyed a few banquets. fresh fruit and smoothies were good to eat throughout the day.
note - its not a buffet breakfast, but your waist will thank you for this as you over indulge at other meal times.

Pool - perfect little infinity pool on the beach. Nine year old lived in here, and because it was right next to the restaurant, and in view of the rooms, she could swim all the time with supervision. We swam in here all the time instead of the ocean.

Beach - at the time of the year we stayed, this side of the island was getting the winds, not the flat warm waters we had over in Chaweng. but it was great to walk along the empty beach, collecting shells, listening to the waves(not surfable). a few nights some incredible thunderstorms rolled in, best light show around as you eat in the restaurant over looking the sea.

They were doing something with a big black pipe on the beach - this could be annoying, the daily smelling diesel digger - we just found it amusing. what is was - we got 20 different answers, who knows!

It is a quiet area, just what we wanted, but we were a group of 9, so entertained ourselved. You can watch dvds, play table tennis, free wireless, sea kayak, massages, but most of the time i read books while laying by the pool. Niki beach resort is just down the beach, but we never made it there at night time for any events. Yes there are a few stray dogs, our kids loved it, they adopted a puppy for the week and it followed them everywhere.

I know they do weddings here, and if a private beach is important to you, this would be your place. My sister was married at the Four Seasons, and their 'private beach' wasn't nearly as private as Lipa Lodge.

This isn't a five star resort, it doesn't claim to be, but their services is and i recommend for a perfect, relaxing, traditional thai beach holiday. Our family will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: all rooms would be good. if you want total peace and quiet go for the one furthest away from lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
2.5 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
7.0 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
3.0 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lipa Lodge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipa Lodge Beach Resort

Property: Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Address: 75/4 Moo3, T.Lipa Noi, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lipa Lodge Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lipa Lodge Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lipa Lodge Beach Hotel Lipa Noi
Lipa Hotel Beach
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing