We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lipa Lodge Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

After a hectic 10 days of diving/partying etc we came here for 3 nights of r&r before going home. And it delivered! Lovely room with a sea view. Very small resort and only about 6 other guests total, so it had a really peaceful feel. Great infinity pool, completely private beach and restaurant on the beach for fab dinners and breakfast. Fab sunsets. We loved it! Not for everyone though - it really was silenty quiet and you couldn't walk anywhere; we were happy hiring a moped (from the hotel for £2 a day) but otherwise you'd struggle to get around. Also, the staff whilst friendly could do with speaking slightly better english. Highly recomemended though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

the resort is old and worn out. Over-rated. Check your bills as we were charged on food and drinks that were from other guests. There were ants all over the rooms. The air-con not working properly two of our rooms were leaking with water seeping into our bags, and one air con even stopped working on the second day of our stay. There ants all over the rooms. Food at the restaurant not great relatively to normal Thai food. Most of the items on the menu is also not available. Over charged our rooms. These operators are dishonest made our stay in K Samui a bad experience. Will not recommend anyone to this resort..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelindaZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

You arrive here, and life slows down, just as it should on a holiday.
We stayed from the 29 June to 5 July 2012, as part of a family holiday. Most of our stay we were the only people there, it seemed like we had a private lodge. We have so many good things to say about the place!

Rooms - Traditional Thai style, very clean, very large, aircons work well, lovely verandas to sit around on, lots of hot water. comfy beds for a good night sleep.

Staff - so lovely!
Those serving in the restaurant were very friendly, their English may not be perfect, but it all works and they will make your day.
Those in the kitchen are talented, the food is fantastic, and all the dishes that have been recommended on the first page of the menu should be tried!
Those cleaning did a really good job - would clean all our rooms while we ate breakfast, better service than the five star places we stayed at where cleaners don't arrive until 3-5pm.

They went above and beyond, when seeing my sister and I in town at the supermarket, offered us a lift home in their own family car. On our last night they made us some special thai desserts, which was also very generous.

Restaurants - we ate the majority of our meals here, trying all kinds of things from the extensive menu, and never getting sick(when it seems like your the only guests all month, you wonder how fresh kitchen ingredients could be, but it was perfect). Food is very reasonably priced, and we all enjoyed a few banquets. fresh fruit and smoothies were good to eat throughout the day.
note - its not a buffet breakfast, but your waist will thank you for this as you over indulge at other meal times.

Pool - perfect little infinity pool on the beach. Nine year old lived in here, and because it was right next to the restaurant, and in view of the rooms, she could swim all the time with supervision. We swam in here all the time instead of the ocean.

Beach - at the time of the year we stayed, this side of the island was getting the winds, not the flat warm waters we had over in Chaweng. but it was great to walk along the empty beach, collecting shells, listening to the waves(not surfable). a few nights some incredible thunderstorms rolled in, best light show around as you eat in the restaurant over looking the sea.

They were doing something with a big black pipe on the beach - this could be annoying, the daily smelling diesel digger - we just found it amusing. what is was - we got 20 different answers, who knows!

It is a quiet area, just what we wanted, but we were a group of 9, so entertained ourselved. You can watch dvds, play table tennis, free wireless, sea kayak, massages, but most of the time i read books while laying by the pool. Niki beach resort is just down the beach, but we never made it there at night time for any events. Yes there are a few stray dogs, our kids loved it, they adopted a puppy for the week and it followed them everywhere.

I know they do weddings here, and if a private beach is important to you, this would be your place. My sister was married at the Four Seasons, and their 'private beach' wasn't nearly as private as Lipa Lodge.

This isn't a five star resort, it doesn't claim to be, but their services is and i recommend for a perfect, relaxing, traditional thai beach holiday. Our family will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: all rooms would be good. if you want total peace and quiet go for the one furthest away from lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

A relaxing way to kick off a fortnight in Koh Samui / Koh Phangan - for several days, it felt like it was our own private resort. There are only 11 villas in total, so you would barely feel crowded out if the resort was full. The beachfront villa was charming (with a fantastic view of the sunset) and the surrounding gardens lush and extensive. The pool area was pleasant, with a decent beach seconds away. Breakfast was adequate, but the quality of Thai food at other mealtimes was superb and authentic. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Not a place for a wild time, but if you enjoy great food and doing absolutely nothing and doing it well, Lipa Lodge comes recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have stayed in another resort on Lipa Noi, however discovered the restaurant at the Lipa Lodge and had to come back several times for dinner. The chef there has got some awards and you can really tell... The food is delicious (we are big fans in Thai cuisine, so didn't try the western cuisine) and it is great value for money. It is the best restaurant we have experienced on the Lipa Noi beach and the cheapest in the same time. Truely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Came to Lipa Lodge with not much interest in Thailand except for being in a group attending a wedding there, and have come away very impressed. The location is on the west side of the island, away from the Chaweng and Lamai crowds and tourist traps. Food is very good although prices high by island standards because there is less competition here. Na Thon is about an hour's walk along the road or beach, and is much more authentically Thai than the east coast beach resorts.

The wedding arrangements were managed by an intermediary called Guenther, and they were spectacular...excellent services (flowers, makeup & hair, celebrant, fireworks display) plus a sensational banquet of Thai dishes including barbecue. I booked with the group through Guenther, but I found out later that Lipa Lodge takes bookings from Agoda and other accommodation websites. There's only 11 rooms or so, and they've just finished a honeymoon suite which my friends were given.

The infinity pool and ocean frontage were sometimes used by passing visitors walking up the beach to the restaurant for lunch, or to swim in the sea, but were never crowded. Accommodation neat and clean, friendly staff eager to help. There was the occasional cacophony of noise from the Nikki Beach resort up the beach which has dance parties about once a week, but other than that, it was quiet and calm, with the sounds of native birds, butterflies and the occasional coconut or palm frond falling down. I appreciated the free wi-fi which generally worked well. The Thai massages were firm but invigorating.

The only hiccup was on checking out - they had calculated my bill incorrectly, adding meals, drinks and services that belonged to other people, and charging taxi costs to my room that I had paid direct to the taxi driver. None of this seemed deliberate, but it was a bit of a disappointment after a wonderful stay.

Recommended if you'd like to unwind and enjoy the beauty of Koh Samui without the rabble.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms slightly more expensive but views wonderful and so may be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonstar1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varberg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The staff at this small bungalow resort do everything they can to make your stay pleasant. It's rather secluded and not much to do at the resort besides relax and take a dip in the beautiful pool or swim in the sea. The small beach is not the greatest on the island but you get a feeling that it is your own private beach! The restaurant is also very nice, the beach is literally at you feet. And if you want to see more of koh samui, wich I reallly think you should, the staff will help you with any transportation.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
2.5 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
7.0 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
3.0 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lipa Lodge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipa Lodge Beach Resort

Property: Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Address: 75/4 Moo3, T.Lipa Noi, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lipa Lodge Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Lipa Lodge Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lipa Lodge Beach Hotel Lipa Noi
Lipa Hotel Beach
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing