We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute heaven”

Review of Baan Samlarn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lipa Noi, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janepb201...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute heaven”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a blissful time in this beautifully designed villa. You can swim in the wonderful pool surrounded by scented frangipani or from the almost deserted beach below the garden in the gloriously warm sea. We were served the most delicious food ever and the staff were unfailingly charming and helpful. It faces due west so the sunsets were stunning. Very highly recommended indeed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2017
Dear janeph2017,
On behalf of the entire team at Luxury Villas and Homes I would like to Thank you much for taking the time to give wonderful feedback on your stay.
It was a pleasure to read through your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at Baan Samlarn, Koh Samui.
We do look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Frank Jerusalem Resident Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKLondon
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Heavenly House for Large Group”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Baan Samlarn was the most fabulous house to stay with a large group. We were a total of 10 for the whole 12 nights, and were taken care of in style. The house itself, the accommodation (wonderfully comfortable beds), the large living room that opens onto the pool area, the pool itself, and the dining area overlooking the beach and ocean..... all perfection incarnate, but only outdone by the staff. Ms Fon and her team are nothing less than outstanding! The chef who takes suggestions for lunch and dinner, then shoots off on his motorbike to shop for supplies in the local market, or pick-up seafood from the fishermen... The domestic staff who patter around so quietly that you'd never know they were there but for the care thy take in ensuring the rooms are perfectly made, laundry done and delivered back to the wardrobes.... Nothing is too much trouble for the team who on top all off this make top cocktails with nibbles before dinner. I can't recommend this house more strongly, and will definitely be looking into a return booking in the not too distance future I hope., possibly renting the house next door as well so we can have a bigger group!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff, evening cocktails, chef, pool.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodee96
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Right out of Conde' Nast Traveler...”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This villa lives up to and surpasses all expectations. It is literally breath-taking. The lay out is ideal for a large family or group of friends. Located directly on the beach with views of the Birds Nest Islands and in the distance Angthong National Park.
The rooms and bathrooms are lovely and well appointed. The shared space roomy and comfortable. The staff welcoming and gracious. The food was so amazing there is no need to leave for a restaurant.
I recommend renting a boat to visit the park.
Visit Fishermans Wharf for shopping. The Thai people are friendly and never pushy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Location. Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SneaksNZ
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AHHHMAZING!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We hired Baan Samlarn for our wedding & stayed there for 4 nights with our wedding party. We had so an magical time there & found it very hard to leave. There were 10 adults & 3 children in our group. The place is so big that we weren't getting in each others way. The staff were so attentive & helped us whenever they could, especially when my father was in hospital they made sure we got to & from the hospital without any trouble.

The highlight of our stay was of course having our wedding there, we will never forget the ceremony on the beach followed by the beautiful reception on the lawn. The place just looked so incredible, it took out breath away.

As a group we thoroughly enjoyed the dinner every night together with the most delicious food.

We all want to go back!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy R
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Villa”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from eight fantastic days in this heavenly villa. It is in a wonderful setting on its own beach, stylishly decorated and with incredible bathrooms for each room. There were ten of us in the party, but you would never have known that we were a full house as the layout is so well designed with endless different places to sit, by the pool, in the shade or on the beach.
The food and service was particularly good, the staff were kind and helpful but also very discreet. We ate out on several occasions but the food in the villa was by far the best we ate.
The attention to detail was outstanding, we were treated to delicious fresh mango juice and frsh coconut water by the pool during the day and to cocktails with canapés like dim sum or sushi at night. They organised boat trips, candlelit dinners on the beach and even a fantastic fireworks display one night! I could not recommend this holiday more highly and the only change I would make if I visited again would be to not leave the villa atall!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kraber10
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Beach”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were invited to stay at this amazing villa by friends of ours.
We were two couples with four kids aged 4-8 yrs old. The bedrooms were spacious, well appointed and the aircon worked to arctic conditions. En suite bathrooms were large and had outdoor showers in some bedrooms.
The views out to the ocean, and the direct beach access is perfect for kids and adults alike. The private cove along which the villa sits has had no strong current or tide and it was nice and shallow allowing for plenty of water play. An extra bonus is that the beach is West facing so you have amazing sunsets. The villa and grounds are well maintained and there was Wi-Fi and Sonos sound system even in garden, around the pool in dining area by beach.


The villa manager, Ms. Fun organized massages, a snorkeling trip on a traditional Thai fishing boat and Jet Ski rental without prior notice. Very impressive. Any wish is her command. She also makes a mean mojito. The rest of the villas staff were kind and gracious and very efficient. Room cleaning and evening turn down services were impressive. Food service was very attentive and professional.

The food was amazing; breakfasts with pancakes, bacon and fresh fruits, mid morning Mango smoothies, great Thai dinners that were flavorful and not too spicy. The in villa chef was also very accommodating to kids tastes, French fries, chicken satay, spring rolls, fried rice and home made chicken and fish nuggets were faultless. All in all both adults and children were super happy during the long weekend at this amazing property. I would go back and I would recommend it to others. If you are a bigger party you can also rent adjacent villas. The pool and garden are perfect for lounging and give children enough room to run around supervised by adults who can keep a watchful eye from many different seating areas. I particularly like the covered lounge area on the beach –perfect for reading a book or snoozing with an ocean view and sea breeze.

We did not explore surrounding areas, we never left the villa. Can’t wait to go back.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Child friendly Beach
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Holiday”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We (7 adults and 3 children under 2) stayed at Baan Samlarn over Easter and i don't usually bother to write reviews but we had such a fantastic time if felt i should do so this time.

The villa is lovely. Very nicely decorated and the layout inside and out provides for lots of space even with plenty of other people about so you never feel on top of one another and also has direct beach access facing west for those awesome sunsets. As mentioned in the write up it is close to the ferry pier which we were worried about at first but actually it became part of the scenery as it causes practically no disturbance.

What really makes me want to write this is the service we received during our stay. The villa manager, Pon looked after us very well, pandering to every request we had (and we had plenty with 3 babies) including going out for nappies and organising trips, transport, restaurant reservations etc. The other staff were discreet and helpful and made everything seem seamless. The chef was incredible, we did not have better food anywhere else on Samui and actually decided to eat in more than we first planned as it was so good and also amazingly good value. I should also add that Jun at Luxury Villas & Homes Co Ltd who we booked through was great to deal with over many weeks as i was organising the trip and all the requirements for 3 families coming in from different places and it was all spot on.

I'm really surprised to see a negative review as this was absolutely one of the best holidays of this type we've ever had and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing