We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place !”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spend our honeymoon at Viva Vacation Resort. It was the perfect choose for us! We had a very nice welcomed in with a bed nice and romantic arranged wit petals of flowers and with a card that greeting us for our marriage. We had room nr 101, right on the beach and pool. We liked it very much. Big rooms, dressing room and a very big bathroom with service toilet to. A lot of fine details tastefully arranged make it a select place. The house has everything....air conditioner (it is important there) place when you can make a coffee, minibar, tv, a lot of towels for the beach and inside towels, products for the bathroom, slippers, even umbrellas....
outside you can see a beautiful garden, and a nice beach. You can't really swim in the see because the water is not very deep, but there is a great pool, big and clean.
The food is...excellent!!! We love spice type food, and didn't try the European menu. The best of what we try in Koh Samui. Great breakfast ! You can choouse from a list of foods. We enjoined every breakfast. And loved the fresh fruit cocktails !
The family and staff is very nice and friendly, and discreet to.
The "inconvinient" is that is faraway from the Lamai or Chaweng, or other animated places. We chose the quiet type place. But you can rent a car or scooter from Kris at the resort. They have also bikes for free. We rent for a day scooter, and it was for us a stressful experience, because we where not accommodate with it and with the island traffic and we had a fall :), but because we had no high speed everything was ok. We scratched a car and pay for it and the scooter was ok, Kris had a very close and detailed looked on it.
If you want to make trips, they are help you with information and bookings or they call for you a taxi.
In the room you have a book with information about the place,island, country.
We had a very nice vacation and we are grateful for the owners and staff. There is a piece of Paradise ! Definitely we recommend Viva Vacation Resort.

Room Tip: all rooms are very good and, I think, like the same. If you want quite in the afternoon, maybe you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatricelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
87
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

As others have commented the family run nature of this resort is great. Everyone working here is so pleasant and helpful, they really make you feel at home.

I visited in June which apparently is low season so it was very quiet. There were just a few others at the resort. Even with one family, the resort was peaceful. It was lovely relaxing by the pool and on the beach.

The beach is nice and you can take a nice walk along the beach for a long way and still not really see anyone else. The sea is shallow quite far out so it's nice for sitting in the warm shallow water but not great if you want to swim, but then there's the pool for that. The pool is lovely and long enough to do some lengths in!

The breakfast options were great as were the dinner choices.

You can rent motorbikes or a car from the resort which is handy as it is fairly isolated. I just made use if the free bicycles they offer and cycled into the nearest town which wasn't too far. There are a number of shops/cafés there, including a tesco and you have a fridge in your room so that's useful.

The villas are brilliant, really spacious. It's nice having a separate living room with a TV you can turn to watch from there or in bed. They have plenty of DVDs you can borrow!

Overall I had a lovely relaxing stay and felt nicely taken care of by all the staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Freyakav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great place to come and relax. Very good value for money. A bit far from the action but they gave everything you need here, pool, beach, massages and restaurant (try the corn fritters). Rooms are huge and well maintained.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our second stay at Viva Vacation was as positive as the first one two years ago. We were greeted as friends and felt like coming home. Kris is a perfect host and Koi is an excellent enhancment to the team (we hope your leg is ok again!).
The breakfast list to choose the personal favorites from is one of the improvements we really appreciated.

Besides, we hope that nothing will change until we come back, hopefully next February.
All the best to the entire team!
Christine and Uwe

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erdtopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Viva vacation is a family owned hotel/resort/b&b (whatever you call them). If you want to party all night long then this is not the place for you. However, if you are a couple, or travelling with young kids i can imagine you will enjoy it a lot.
They only have 11 houses. So most of the time you share the beach or pool or restaurant with only a few people. The beach is absolutely stunning, the sunsets even more. We went to other beaches as well, in Mae Nam and in the Ang Thong nature reserve, but i think "our" beach was best.
The Thai food in the restaurant was spicy, but there were options for kids as well, however it would be nice if there was a bit more choice (us being vegetarians). Then again, there are other options in Nathon, or the neighbours, or elsewhere on the island.
The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. Bringing drinks to our house or arranging taxi's or massages was just what you would expect from a 5 star resort, but they also do it here flawlessly. Massages were done at the beach, by two ladies that were on call (from down the road). A third lady that did the hot-stone massages was unfortunately not available during our stay.

It shows that the place was family owned. A lot of the staff was connected family wise. They are obviously proud of the place and keep it in good shape (for their own good/family fortune).
We stayed for 13 nights, but wish it was more.

We has two small kids, 4 & 7, who shared one extra bed we asked for (at some nominal cost). For babies they also have cribs. However, you shouldn't mind they share the same bedroom. There are no two bedroom properties. The room comes with a fridge and airco for the bedroom, that is powerful enough to cool the rest of the rooms if you need that. Wifi is excellent, i was able to vpn into the office daily at great speeds.

There are mosquitos around like in the rest of Thailand and Asia, but they really try to remove the nests (during our stay they did spray twice), but we found some deet stuff did wonders, and some common sense like not have an open door and lights on. There doesn't seem to be malaria on this coast, so the worst that happens is an itchy place. The deet sprays can be bought in the 7-11 nearby.

Recommendations: Daily massages on the beach, cocktails at the pool, paper "balloon" on the eve of departure, avoid midday sun, and relax :)

I will return with the family as soon as i can.

Room Tip: We were staying in room 102, which was very close to the pool and beach, but we think 101 would be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thijmen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

OK, first I have to say that we booked this place by mistake – no fault of the hotel I would hasten to add, just my not reading the description correctly.
I was therefore most disappointed when I arrived and realised my mistake – and this added to difficulties in finding the place (the coordiantes for anyone who is going there are Latitude=9.511810. Longitude=99.936110 which I have supplied to the owner too) did not put me in a good mood.

I only mention this as it is a credit and tribute to the owners and staff of this resort how much we just loved staying here and why we will return – primarily due to the service levels and ambience are in excess of a five star hotel.

As an example
1. Met at front door by GM / owner Kris
2. Offered welcome drink (changes color when you put lime in it – cool or what)
3. Check in done in a low key but efficient way
4. Went to go to room – bags already whisked away and put in dressing room. Real good stuff
5. Rooms are enormous. They’re suites really Bathroom is the size of a double bedroom ++. Sitting room comfortable. Beds beautifully made (elephant towels). Pool towels nicely presented with flowers. Bath towels nicely presented with flowers. Two toilets. Dressing/storage room. Fridge, TV (swings round so can be seen in living room or bedroom – cool). Aircon efficient (Umbrellas, beach bag, all amenities you could want, etc etc in room (or should I say apartment). And all spotlessly spotlessly clean.
6. Internet – perfect – 26 mb download. Fastest known in Thailand. Even a router in the room which shows the attention that has been focused on what to some, like me, is such an important part of a stay
7. Restaurant. After an initial bit of a problem ordering wine on arrival lunch (staff acted as though this hadn’t happened before) we all got into the swing of things. Food truly excellent and not overpriced. Great staff. If lunch or dinner, Singha beer appears and my wine (see below) comes out of fridge. Breakfasts are excellent (you tick off what you want on a piece of paper – very efficient) . We ate two lunches and two dinners here. Soft sell crab curry best we have ever eaten in Thailand. Pineapple curry to die for. Everything else we had was super – we like to go out and try diferent places usually but we couldn’t better this
8. Ambience. Quiet. Peaceful. 11 rooms. Most of the time you think you are the only one here. Plenty of sunbeds around pool. Plenty on the beach. Lots of space – owners could put another 20 rooms in the gardens but haven’t. Despite there not being rain for more than three months, gardens in very god shape
9. Staff attitude. Get up and do mentality. Absolutely brilliant and anticipate what you need. Examples. Sitting at lunch, first day, with map of island. Kate comes up and asks if she can help with anything. We tell her we would like to go to Angthong National Park. She asks whether we would like her to book it. Within 5 minutes, al was booked, AND she informed us that she had asked the cook to come in next morning early so that we could have breakfast before we go. How great is that? Another example. As mentioned, problem with wine availability (which seems to be quite normal on Samui at the moment). Came to an arrangement that I would drink my own (no corkage). End of first meal, Kate asks if I would like to store box in fridge. Again, how good is that? Equally maids, gardeners etc all greet guests in English ( I get a sense this is their limit of the language but hey ho, it’s a nice gesture and a manifestation of good training
10. Beach. I cannot understand previous people’s complaints about the beach. It is very clean (the staff of the resort clean it each day as do next door’s staff). No, it isn’t very wide but it’s certainly wide enough for sun beds, walking, ball games – and as the beach is almost empty one feels as though one has to oneself. As I live in Thailand – and know that the myth of powder white beaches isn’t always reality – this beach comes up to the best for cleanliness I have seen in Thailand. It is shallow near to shore, and there are one or two rocks (which is usual for the area) – which I would have though for the latter would be good for kids and for the former I never travel around Thailand without my jelly shoes
11. Location 1. Yes it is a bit remote. Which provides its charms although there is more nearby than perhaps has been reported in previous reviews. The restaurant at the resort we found fabulous. The resort next door has dining on the beach and a lovely ambience at night. There is Nikki’s hotel nearby, and Big John’s and a couple of other restaurants (taxi or motorbike) and Nathon is 10 minutes away by car max (some interesting restaurants there) and really good handbag shops (brand rip offs but good quality) . There is also Angela’s restaurant up the road, a steak place (which admittedly seems to close whenever a customer approaches). We found a great restaurant in Nathon (10 minutes’ drive) on the corner of the one way system going into the town. Called the View. Just opened. Serving thai and Western (sausages with onion gravy define) in a fabulously up market setting overlooking the bay/port .there’s also a 7/11 for basic supplies in the village (10 minute max bicycle), decent market, and other minor stores so if you need fruits, coffee other essentials it is all close by
12. Facilities. What can I say. Pool is gorgeous Big, clean, lots of different depths for the confident and not so confident swimmer – or their offspring. Wifi I have mentioned – superb, not dropped in 5 days which is astounding. Bikes. There are basic pushbikes at the resort – we had a lovely time investigating the area – and resort just asks for a donation for the staff

13. Location 2. Directly outside the resort is an area where Thai people live – and again I can’t understand some of the reviews on this. This is Thailand. Thais live here. And for me, it’s a bonus that they are so near to resort and there aren’t many resorts that one has to drive through the middle of a Buddhist temple to it (and a very good example of a temple and compound it is ) So if local culture is your thing, this is a good place to come.


So, would we come back. Absolutely definitely. And will certainly be bringing our visitors here. It is a place that has to be experienced to be fully appreciated and can’t rate highly enough – especially in comparison with what else we have seen of the island (Choeng Mong beach excepted)

There are a couple of things in my view the resort owner / Kris needs to do in terms of pre arrival communications and directions but I have addressed these directly with Kris). Having said that, this is a truly fabulous place to stay and we will definitely be back with friends and visitors and want to thank Kris, Ffon, Koi and Kate – and all the other staff that we met but didn’t get names – for making our stay so perfect

Room Tip: 101 or 102 are nearest to beach but get booked by long stay guest (and I understand why)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolineess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in seaview villa 103, from Feb 7th to 16th 2014, with 2 kids aged 4 and 1 1/2. We chose Viva because of all the reviews here, and were not disappointed in the least. Yes, the sea is shallow (i.e. warm, calm, perfect for young kids, then!), and the resort is located in a very quiet part of the island, just like we wanted. When you go for a quick cycle using the free bicycles, you'll see local thais, living their local life. No big hotels, no noisy bars, no tourist shops... Just regular people. There's a small temple and school next to the resort, coconut plantations, fields, little farms, it's lovely!

The Viva team is wonderful, helpful, patient and kind. It's hard to prise them enough.

The food at the restaurant is excellent, and it's nice to feel like you're not settling for the hotel restaurant because it's convenient, you're going because it's tasty and well-priced. The food from the small Siam resort next door is more expensive and not as nice. Siam is more fancy, though, and the restaurant is on the beach, so it's OK for a change...

The villas are large, 75 sqm. We slept with an extra full size bed, AND a cot in the bedroom, and had plenty of space to spare. Perfect for families. There is a large, separate dressing room with ample storage to tidy up all the clothes and suitcases.

Wonderful pool, and the gardens are idyllic. Nice massage sala right on the beach, open view of the sunset... Viva is a little slice of paradise.

Thanks Kris, Koi, Phat, Kate, and everyone for making our time with you so memorable. We miss you already!

Room Tip: All villas are slightly recessed from the beach, with a few trees and shrubs between you abd the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank grandmainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.9 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
1.4 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Siam Residence Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Lipa Noi
107 reviews
9.5 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 40 in Lamai Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Property: Viva Vacation Resort
Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing