We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort in a quiet part of the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this resort in early January for 4 nights. We loved out stay here!
We absolutely adored every aspect of this resort even though it was quite far away from the main tourist area. The rooms were extremely well kept and very nice. Every staff member was friendly, always greeting us with smiles when we passed by. Every time we had a question the staff would always make every effort to answer our enquiry and help us at every opportunity. The staff are super easy to talk to and one of them even taught us a magic trick! (also makes awesome mojitos!)

If you're looking for some partying and clubbing this place is definitely not the place for you. The resort is about 40 minutes away from Chaweng and costs about 700 baht by taxi (if they call the taxi for you). For us, we only spent one day in Chaweng and caught the taxi that they called for us. They also said that if we wanted to organise a taxi the way back we could call them and they would send a driver over. Having the security that we had a ride either way helped us to barter for a taxi on the way back (originally quoted 1000 baht, we managed to get it down to 500 baht although we were really bad at haggling). Honestly though, since we were mostly going on tours for island hopping, snorkelling and other water activities, it didn't really matter that we were on the quieter side of town. We actually preferred our area as it was a lot more local and not as touristy.

The resort provides free bicycle hire and motorcycles for 250 baht a day. We weren't game enough to motorcycle on the crazy samui roads (although nothing compared to Vietnam) but we did use their bikes a few times. They had two new bikes and it was awesome just cycling around the quieter roads. We used them to cycle to the local seven eleven to stock up on junk food and drinks. The resort also provides kayaks for hire for 300 baht for the day. The kayaks are in awesome condition and the bay is super easy to kayak in! You can even kayak to lipa noi pier, which is very pretty and nice. If you do choose to kayak we would suggest kayaking in the morning around 9 to 11am, the beach looks the best then and the sun isn't as harsh.

The food was good but on the pricier side (about 140 - 180 baht), but you can easily grab food from places somewhat close by like Nathong city (about 80 - 90 baht) or there is a place only about 5 minutes away for some cheap grub (ya-on steak). There are also other restaurants if you walk along the beach to lipa noi beach. The prices are similar or more expensive than the hotel restaurant but the walk is quite nice. Only issue is that the tide comes up very quickly so the road you took on the way there might not be there on the way back.

All in all, this resort was GREAT! We were in Samui to relax and that's exactly what we did, relax. If any of the staff read this comment, we love you! Thank you for making our stay in Samui FABULOUS!

(Also if you are taking air asia to samui and going to lipa noi pier, organise a hotel transfer with the resort. It's 150 baht from the pier, which is cheaper than the shuttle that they provide at the pier which was 200 baht.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Viva Vacation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Wife and I stayed here for nearly 3 weeks over Christmas/New Year 2013/14.
We wanted somewhere away from the bars and discos of the crowded noisy Chawang east side of Koh Samui. So we opted for the west side; just south of the administrative centre of Nathon and close to the ferry services to the National Marine Park and magical islands of Koh Phangan and Koh Tao. What an excellent choice. Sure the beach wasn't as deep but it was well kept and soft sanded, the grounds/gardens were immaculate and the villas were also well appointed and superbly maintained.
There is a restaurant serving the select few villas (just 11) and the prices are excellent value, choice excellent and quality of food top notch.
Having toured around the island, we came across no comparative accommodation against which we said 'wish we had booked that one'.
The management at Viva couldn't have done more to help make our stay a memorable experience and were helpful in booking tours in every respect. You can't go wrong selecting this accommodation for your stay unless you want the all night bars and loud music; in which case you should head for the Cheweng (east) side of the island - and good luck to you. If you don't fancy the east side, I'd avoid the north also as it also busy and suffers from poor/dirty beaches and the similar airport noises as the east side, particularly at Bo Phut.

Room Tip: All villas are good but by preference ask for a sea view villa even if it costs marginally more.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyCJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I just spent two weeks at Viva Vacation while doing a yoga-fasting course and feel so very fortunate to have stayed there. The beach is magnificent, boasting several hammocks and plenty of lawnchairs. The sala is occupied by massage therapists who come in to massage guests after a "hard day on the beach"! The hotel's grounds are breathtaking with a magnificent pool, immaculately trimmed shrubbery, trees and flowers that are lovingly cared for by the cheerful hotel gardeners. This scenario is completed by hummingbirds and birds of all sorts singing beautiful songs to you from morning till night! A taste of paradise that also included a beautiful villa large enough to rollerskate in :-), cleaned daily by a very cheerful group of girls.
I ate several meals at the restaurant after completing my fast and although I wasn't able to taste many of the menu items, I found it very good. They really strive to please in every sense of the word.
Last but certainly not least, I found the people at the hotel to be "the BEST".
Kris, the Manager, always (and I really do mean always!) had a smile on his face and went that extra mile to be helpful. Koi and Nitt from the Reception were just so very kind and willing to help in any way possible to make my stay even better. Beer from the restaurant, although still a bit shy about expressing herself in English, was a delight to be around. The kindness of the hotel's personnel in my opinion is also a reflection of how their employers treat them; I feel certain that Kris is a very kind boss.
If you want to feel at home then this is the place to be. Mun-tung, Kris's dog, will most likely stroll over to beg a bite to eat from you. Geckos are plentiful on the island, but are harmless and are also doing their job of eatting up the mosquitoes, which are also plentiful!
The minuses are it is a bit isolated from town and my villa was so big I was losing things constantly (here she goes complaining again...)!

Room Tip: They are all nice but sea view villas are wonderful.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seren_dipity10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Viva Vacation whilst doing a 7 day yoga/fast at Dhamma Healing International. This delightful resort is just a very special place to be (rare to find). There is immense presence and charm which emanates from it. There is a magical quality about the calm atmosphere where detailed authentic healthy care is taken of visitors, the resort itself and the staff. The attractive grounds are blissful to walk through both at day and night. For those looking for a place to enjoy tranquility, a degree of luxury and privacy, I would thoroughly recommend Viva Vacation. The Chalet's are divine - I gasped with delight the first time I saw one. Kris, the manager, has the most beautiful Thai manner and deals so helpfully and respectfully with requests. He has the most engaging laugh and humbly told me "we just try to do our best for our guests" and that I can thoroughly vouch for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sesame55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here in Feb and we were made to feel like royalty from the moment we arrived,

The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble.
the food was lovely and the rooms were stunning.
I if I had to find any negative it would be this place and the staff are too perfect I don't know if ANYWHERE else could even come close.

Looking forward to coming back again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 285Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Vica Vacation Resort is extraordinary! The room, the beach, the people, everything!

Rooms: We booked the room with lowest price in the the hotel, and were simply expecting a standard bedroom with a small bathroom. But when we were shown into our VILLA, we were utterly astounded! It’s a literal SUITE with a spacious living room, a bedroom, a bathroom (larger than a bedroom of some other hotels), and there’s even a separate cloakroom for you to keep your luggages, clothes and other belongings. And there’s a wide porch outside the front door where you can lie down and enjoy the garden view.

Environment: The hotel is garden style, and you can see flamboyant flowers and delicately trimmed trees everywhere. There’re not many rooms in the hotel, so it’s always very quite. The beach is wide, and is very clean and soft when you step on bare feeted. The beach is adorned with bubble lights in orange color at night, which makes it even more romantic.

Location: It’s situated at Nathon beach, which is much less commercial than Chaweng beach. On the one hand, it’s quieter here, and on the other, it’s a bit inconvenient, as you need to walk out almost 1KM to find a convient store or a restaurant (sure you can eat in the hotel if you wish, and the food is not bad). Another good thing about the location is it’s near Nathon Pier and Lipa Noi Pier. This hotel is the top choice for those travelling via these piers.

Service: The hotel seems to be owned and run by a local family. They are very friendly, and wear smiles all the time. On our arrival, we were welcomed with towels and a very special kind of drink that changes color magically. And when we’re leaving for the pier the following morning at 6am, the manager of the hotel got up early and drove us to the pier (price is just 300 Baht per car).

Overall, Viva Vacation is the hotel with the best value for money in Koh Samui. Especially for those travelling via Nathon Pier or Lipa Noi Pier (Air Aisa), it’s your ultimate choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIPING X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent resort with large bungalows well furnished. Not the place if you want lots of nearby
bars and restaurants. Bur peaceful location, ideal for honeymooners wanting a romantic dinner
on the beach. Kris the manager and his mum, Saijai, were excellent hosts and made my wife
very happy.

Room Tip: No, I am not going to reveal that. It might make it more difficult to book it in the future.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.9 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Lipa Noi
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Siam Residence Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range: $36 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing