We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, spacious villas on a pretty, private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Romantic, spacious villas on a pretty, private beach”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had such a lovely time in Koh Phangan at the Sunset Hill Resort the last 4 days that my husband was afraid that the Viva Vacation Resort would not quite match up. Sometimes, it's just lovely to be proved wrong!

We were wondering whether to pay extra for the beach view villa but then settled for the garden villa. Since there are only about a dozen, a garden villa is set in a gorgeously designed garden, just 10 metres behind the beach villas. The villa was spacious and had a massive bathroom with a tub and mirrors all round (yes even in the bedroom!). The furniture and flooring (in the bedroom) is simple and wooden. There is a large living room and kitchenette as well. Each villa has its own flowering hedgerow and seating arrangement outside it.

The pool is large and tiled with dark blue tiles - very unusual and exotic - and is surrounded by clay elephants spouting water into it and bright orange beach chairs. Very pretty! Beyond are beach chairs, hammocks and a massage sala from where you can see the sea right in front. As some of the reviewers have said you need to walk a bit to get to deep enough water and there are few waves. But the water is clear green and makes for a spectacular view from your hammock/beach chair. There is also a nice looking restaurant - but we did not try it as there were a number of good local restaurants. We got our scooter (a must as Lipa Noi is a bit secluded) from the resort.

The resort was so peaceful and serene and our villa so pretty that we decided to spend the last 2 1/2 days just lazing in the hammocks, drinking, swimming in the pool, swimming in the sea and loop endlessly... instead of the usual running around to the 'happening' beaches. It was well worth it. You wake up to the sound of birds chirping and walk through a sunlit garden as butterflies weave drunkenly in your path to blossoming hedgerows - as if inebriated by the overabundant beauty of the place. The resort is efficiently run and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Space in the resort (of which there is a lot) is well utilised and every little nook has some interesting clay tub with water plants or cherubic dangling clay children.

Thank you for everything! We'll be back..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
87
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wonderful place, clean and very well kept. Huge bungalows with more space than one needs. Beautiful garden and swimming pool. Away form everything, i.e. best enjoyed if you have your own vehicle, and if you like avoiding noisy bars, fake massage, loud music etc. Those who cannot or don't want to go anywhere else can rely on very good breakfast, lunch and dinner (at prices slightly higher than in town, which is a 5-minute drive). It's a 30-minute drive from the airport or 5-minute south of the main ferry arrival pier.
Nothing is perfect though: like many places in Samui there is no easy swimming or even easy getting into the sea. At Viva the beach is about 10-metre narrow and fine, one can easily walk into the sea but will have to walk a while before reaching a place deep enough to swim. The only small advice I would give the wonderful managers/keepers is: put a garbage bin by the beach to help their staff and guests get rid of the garbage brought ashore by the tide.

Room Tip: Best sea view rooms are 101 and 102. The others are less so, but it does not really matter, the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our stay at Viva vacation was amazing. The staff were so accommodating and nothing was too much for them. The villas are lovely and the location perfect right by the sea and with a lovely pool too. This hotel is perfect for those wanting relaxation away from the party scene of koh samui. A big thanks to Kris and her family for making our four days there lovely. We will be back again.
Kate and Jack

Room Tip: The garden room was lovely there isn't much difference between the two
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_k8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went for our Honeymoon in Thailand and stayed in Samui for 3 nights from feb 25th to feb 28th 2013 at Viva Vacation Resort. It is around 3 kms from the Pier. We stayed in a Garden Villa and it was an amazing experience. The Villa is spacious with all the facilities in place. The Pool is a big attraction which is very well maintained and quite huge. There are 11 Villas and all are similar, so there is no difference in Room type or quality as such. We stayed in Villa 110. We wanted to stay in Ocean View Villas but it was completely booked. Room 101 is the frontmost and has the best view. Please book in advance as the Villas are very much in Demand. The Hotel staff is warm and very efficient and we faced absolutely no problems at all. There is a lovely massage sala right in front of the beach, which gives an unbeleivable ambience and tranquility which we had the privilige to experience. The Scooters are good if you wanna hire from the resort and they also have bicycles for free if you wanna go around. We had a honeymoon decoration when we arrived and it was artfully done. The Breakfast is very nice and we enjoyed it thoroughly. Even the Lunch and Dinner served there is sumptuous and decently prized. They have a good DVD Collection in case you wanna watch some movies. If there is anything a little negative about this place, it is the beach. It is not a beach per se and doesn't have waves. We stayed in the Pool and that was wonderful enough.

In the end, I would like to thank Chris, Chris's Mom, Koi and all the other staff members for making it a memorable stay. We will surely return again and this time maybe in an OceanView Room :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niranjan0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here as I was getting married in Ko Sumui and all our friends stayed here too. They picked us all up (7 Persons) from the airport and took us to the resort. From the moment we arrived they welcomed us with a drink and a cool towel. They helped us transport our luggage to our villas. Breakfast is included in the price and was so nice to eat. They also do lunch and evening meals too. All the staff are friendly and welcoming. They helped us with booking taxis and day tours. Free Wi-Fi are in all rooms. mini bar and hair dryer. You get 2 free bottles of water each day. The pool is clean and big. We loved the fact that the beach is only a few steps away and the sea is wonderful to swim in.
It is in a quite part of ko sumui which we wanted and if you wanted to go somewhere busy a taxi is so cheap to hire. We also hired a scooter for 10 days and we just explored the whole of the island which is amazing. We would recommend this resort to anyone that wants a relaxing stay, away from the hustle and bustle of a busy town.
Can not wait to visit again!

Room Tip: choose a sea view villa room 101 or 103 which we stayed in. But all villas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My second attempt as tripadvisor "lost" my review plus photos!!
We chose it because of the reviews. And yes it all fitted in very nicely.
We were collected in style by a 4x4 SUV at the airport and taken to the hotel by a very friendly driver who also gave us a brief guide along the way.
Reception formalities over we were shown to our villa or room which was huge with all the facilities in.
I particularly liked the view over the pool and out to the ocean.
Menu is so good that you really do not want to eat elsewhere.
As the resort is a bit out of town there are bicycles (free with a donation) mopeds for hire. Or they can arrange on your behalf a taxi or tuk-tuk to take you where you want to go and collect later. this seems to be the best. No rip-offs like in Bangkok.
Lipa Noi is not far away and quite nice for browsing, thus the resort is peaceful and quiet at night.
And there is a happy hour from 3pm with all sorts of cocktails. I liked the mojito the best.
To get the body into that relaxed feeling ask for a massage at the beach. There is one that is particular good -sorry forgot her name (she is the older one)
One night it rained a bit and suddenly there was these bellows, almost like cows. It is actually the frogs.
From the reception to the the kitchen staff, to the waiters (they are all one big family) were very attentive and extremely helpful and friendly.
Should I go back to Koh Samui this is my choice.
As I am separated from my original fotos I hope the review puts it in the right perspective. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: It is difficuilt. They all seem to be good. Perhaps the ones in the front?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virtual_dirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The Villas are huge and clean. You have your privacy and can look into a well maintained garden. Pool is Big, you can actually go for a proper swim. The Beach is not amazing. It serves its purpose. There are some fisherman living right next to the resort. Prices are good- as some other reviews have mentioned it is really quite far away from everything... Excellent Service as usual and Super Cute hotel dog- harmless!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.9 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
6.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#8 of 8 in Lipa Noi
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
The Siam Residence Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Property: Viva Vacation Resort
Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing