We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very very very impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“very very very impressive”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Good evening to everyone,

i left Koh Samui today but still under impression about this hotel. Usually i stay in 5* hotels or Spas, but this time my yoga program in Tamarind Springs was canceled at last moment. So,i split my week for 2 parts-one in forest spa and for 3 days i chose the Viva Vacation.Mostly because it was voted the best B/B in Samui and i like the photos and reviews.
The reality was unbelievable better!!!
In booking.com its rated as 3* hotel. Don't believe in this -all 4* for the price of 2*!!!!
What made the hotel famous? Not only the very good location,facilities and so on. The service-is the most important!!!
Viva Vacation have a Soul! When you arrived there you feel yourself as a member of this Thai family that owned hotel and take care about your relaxation day and night.You always feel their care. But this care is very very polite and absolutely unobtrusively. And what is most surprised that they are very Professional!! Iam in tourism and hotel business for around 15years. And its difficult to believe that this family run hotel only 3years with such great understanding of hotel management.
Villas are very big with all necessary facilities inside and very beautiful decoration. Perfect view to sea (i was in sea view villa on second road ,but its not spoiled the view at all). Hotel area full of flowers and trees,so there is a feeling that you r in your private garden and can't create anything better than it is.
I was little bit afraid to step on beach after one of previous review.So,i dress sandals and was watching every step. But.....
i don't know where that writer was looking! The beach was clean as a virgin!!!! And not only clean, but was combed :-))))
And every morning whatever time i was waking up,the beach was perfectly clean(even without any steps on it)
Later i was walking along the beach about 2 km to right and 2km left from hotel and did find some sea garbage on my way, but no one broken bottle or anything else! So,all days i was happy not to wear any shoes.
The area is not developed,there are almost no other hotels around.Mostly simple villas for rent and houses for local people.
If someone like to party,he need to drive.But i was looking for absolutely opposite. So,those who prefer relaxation and peace welcome to this Paradise.
The ocean is very warm.Not deep at all.Perfectly for children. But adults must to walk a bit inside.
Following recommendation of previous adviser i had food only in hotel.And i didn't want to move somewhere else.
When i ordered fish i was ready for searching some bones inside,but didn't find even one (although in Michelin restaurants i always was unlucky to find some ). And the taste was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All in all -my advise for you to don't go there, i will keep this place only for myself to get the perfect relaxation in family atmosphere!!!! :-))))))))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lana X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

It was the end of the trip so we decided to escape the busiest part of town (chaweng) we needed a quiet and relaxing place before we flew out of Samui. Viva Vacation is in a secluded part of the island. Offering generous garden space between each villa. An almost private beach. This family own resort serves excellent cuisine and the restraurant must be one of the best kept secrets of the west part of the island. In the bedroom exquisitely folded towels representing cute elephants frolicking a midst a field of orchids welcomed us on arrival. They offered very professional Thai massage on the beach. We will definitely visit again...Viva Vacation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHNFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A fantastic choice if you want to unwind and don't want a string of bars and restaurants nearby. Having said that, the town of Nathon is a 5 min cab ride away if you want shopping and restaurants etc. Also the shopping here is quite good. We walked down to Nikki Beach Resort (walk do to beach, turn left and walk 10-15mins) and had a few cocktails in this funky resort.
Viva resort is a very quiet laid back property. The staff are very friendly and Chris, your host, was simply wonderful.
The cabins are huge with seperate lounger area and a huge bathroom.
Do please eat at their onsite restaurant and order the massamam curry. It is Thailands signature dish and the one I had at Viva was the best of my whole trip to Thailand..
Breakfast here is good also.
The pool was a real feature here. For so few guests (there are not many cabins) it has a HUGE pool. Thewre are hammocks, umbrellas, recliners, all around the pool and on the beach. The sea isn't terribly inviting to swim in which I though would bother me, but the pool more than made up for it.
Choose Viva if you want a quiet, relaxing, peaceful break.

Room Tip: Only the front ocean view room has a
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Just stayed at viva vacation for four great nights - it was truly lovely. The manager Kris is a nice young guy who is very helpful and knows a lot about the island. His family do a great job of managing the place and make it really feel like home.

The hotel has only 11 villas which are very spacious and comfortable. They are set in a beautiful garden with a nice big pool and a great beach front. The beach isn't the island's best but it's nice for a walk or a quick dip.

The location is great for exploring the beautiful southwest of the island - grab a bike from Kris for 250 baht and head off on an adventure. The roads are quiet down south.

The food at the restaurant is delicious and if you feel like you're missing the 'scene' Nikki beach is fun and a walk away.

We had a great time at viva vacation and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We visited several destinations and hotels in Thailand for eight times so far.One thing I can say:This hotel was the best!Room-stuff-restaurant-garden-beach eccelent.!!!!!January 2012 we'll be there!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giannis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This resort is a beautiful place. The owners and all the staff are very nice and service minded people. Chris, the youngest son, speaks very well English and is very helpful. The resort is located about 1 km. from Lipa Noi village and the main road. It’s very peaceful and the villas are huge and cosy with a BIG bathroom and a nice walk in closet. I was here in May 2011 and I practically felt I was the only one in the resort. May is low season here as it rains a little – but actually it’s nothing serious. There are only 11 villas situated in an extremely beautiful and well kept garden filled with tropic birds and beautiful flowers and there’s a nice pool area and a little private beach. About the beach I have to say that swimming is simply not possible here. The sea is shallow, dim, filled with garbage and simply not suited for bathing at all. In the five days I was here, I never saw anyone swimming at Viva Resort’s beach or any of the other beaches along the same coast line. You can sun bathe on the beach and swim in the pool which is less than a minute walk. But be careful when you walk in the sand, there’s a lot of broken glass! The resort has only one villa in the first row and it’s basically the only one with a proper sea view. Two villas in the second row and they do have a limited sea view and they are quite a bit drawn back. The sea is only visual from the small terrace outside the villa. If you don’t have a vehicle be prepared to either walk or pay for transportation every time you want to go outside the resort. And as you might know, transportation is quite expensive in Koh Samui. I paid 600 THB for transfer from the airport to the resort – one way. It’s about a 25 min. ride. But it’s worth it, because only transportation at the airport are the mini busses which means that you have to wait for them to get filled up and many stops on the way. The restaurant at the resort is ok. But the dishes are rather pricey and portions quite small. There’s no bar at the resort, so if you are travelling alone there’s nowhere to go to talk to other people in the evening at the resort itself, but there are five or six bars near by. You can for instance walk along the beach to Nikki Beach which is normally very lively. It’s about a 15 minute walk. Or you can go by taxi. It will cost you around 150 THB each way. Lipa Noi village itself is nothing more but a 7 Eleven and a few houses so shopping is done elsewhere. The Hin Lad waterfall is very close, but be prepared for a 40 min. tough hiking up hill and 40 min. back. It’s tough in the heat. You can swim in the waterfall and there’s a temple close by too.

Room Tip: Choose one of the sea view villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Spirits-in-the-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My fiancee and I spent 3 nights at Viva and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment Chris greeted us he was always willing to help and eager to please- we have never experienced such great service and welcoming hospitality before. His mum is a great cook, so make sure to eat in at least one night! The villas were huge, I especially liked the deep bath that even my 6'4" fiancee could fit in. Lipa Noi and Nathorn have none of the sleaziness of Chaweng, and it was close to a lot af attractions like the waterfalls and elephant trekking. We hired a motorbike and did everything at our own pace- cheaper than organised day trips too! The pool at Viva is much bigger than you would normally find in a resort and the sunsets at Lipa Noi are simply stunning!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CourteneyAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
1.4 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
9.5 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 41 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
8.6 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Lipa Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Property: Viva Vacation Resort
Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing