We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We visited several destinations and hotels in Thailand for eight times so far.One thing I can say:This hotel was the best!Room-stuff-restaurant-garden-beach eccelent.!!!!!January 2012 we'll be there!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giannis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Viva Vacation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

This resort is a beautiful place. The owners and all the staff are very nice and service minded people. Chris, the youngest son, speaks very well English and is very helpful. The resort is located about 1 km. from Lipa Noi village and the main road. It’s very peaceful and the villas are huge and cosy with a BIG bathroom and a nice walk in closet. I was here in May 2011 and I practically felt I was the only one in the resort. May is low season here as it rains a little – but actually it’s nothing serious. There are only 11 villas situated in an extremely beautiful and well kept garden filled with tropic birds and beautiful flowers and there’s a nice pool area and a little private beach. About the beach I have to say that swimming is simply not possible here. The sea is shallow, dim, filled with garbage and simply not suited for bathing at all. In the five days I was here, I never saw anyone swimming at Viva Resort’s beach or any of the other beaches along the same coast line. You can sun bathe on the beach and swim in the pool which is less than a minute walk. But be careful when you walk in the sand, there’s a lot of broken glass! The resort has only one villa in the first row and it’s basically the only one with a proper sea view. Two villas in the second row and they do have a limited sea view and they are quite a bit drawn back. The sea is only visual from the small terrace outside the villa. If you don’t have a vehicle be prepared to either walk or pay for transportation every time you want to go outside the resort. And as you might know, transportation is quite expensive in Koh Samui. I paid 600 THB for transfer from the airport to the resort – one way. It’s about a 25 min. ride. But it’s worth it, because only transportation at the airport are the mini busses which means that you have to wait for them to get filled up and many stops on the way. The restaurant at the resort is ok. But the dishes are rather pricey and portions quite small. There’s no bar at the resort, so if you are travelling alone there’s nowhere to go to talk to other people in the evening at the resort itself, but there are five or six bars near by. You can for instance walk along the beach to Nikki Beach which is normally very lively. It’s about a 15 minute walk. Or you can go by taxi. It will cost you around 150 THB each way. Lipa Noi village itself is nothing more but a 7 Eleven and a few houses so shopping is done elsewhere. The Hin Lad waterfall is very close, but be prepared for a 40 min. tough hiking up hill and 40 min. back. It’s tough in the heat. You can swim in the waterfall and there’s a temple close by too.

Room Tip: Choose one of the sea view villas
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Spirits-in-the-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My fiancee and I spent 3 nights at Viva and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment Chris greeted us he was always willing to help and eager to please- we have never experienced such great service and welcoming hospitality before. His mum is a great cook, so make sure to eat in at least one night! The villas were huge, I especially liked the deep bath that even my 6'4" fiancee could fit in. Lipa Noi and Nathorn have none of the sleaziness of Chaweng, and it was close to a lot af attractions like the waterfalls and elephant trekking. We hired a motorbike and did everything at our own pace- cheaper than organised day trips too! The pool at Viva is much bigger than you would normally find in a resort and the sunsets at Lipa Noi are simply stunning!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CourteneyAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We cannot recommend Viva Vacation strongly enough. We were blown away by the beautiful lodges set in manicured tropical gardens - the attention to detail was amazing, down to the 'elephant shaped' towel arrangement on the bed to the flower and fruit displays in the lodges on arrival. The place was spotlessly clean and the lodges had loads of room, with the biggest bathrooms we've seen. Air conditioning and fans added to the comfort and the king size beds were lovely. Above all was the service, which was impeccable, the family (it's family owned and run) and the staff could not do enough for you. The huge pool is crystal clear and you can use it whenever you like - all night if you want, so long as you are quiet of course; there's none of this nannying you get in some reports where they won't let you use the pool unless there's a life guard on duty. It's very relaxed, and it's a perfect location for a peaceful holiday. Hire a car if you want to get about, because (thank God) you won't find nightlife here at Lipa Noi. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I highly recommend Viva Vacation. We only stayed a night in transit and chose Viva Vacation due to its location to Nathon pier - I wished we'd had more time to enjoy the beautiful villas and relaxing location.

While it's not close to Chaweng, it's an excellent choice for pure relaxation - the beach is very quiet and not crowded like other areas. There is lots of lovely seating on beach and by pool, enough for everyone. The villas are very spacious, with a sitting room, spare toilet and even a walk in closet. The bathrooms have separate shower and bathtub and feel very luxurious. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant - based on these, I would say the quality and selection of food seemed very good.

The highlight though was the service we received, everyone we met was helpful and friendly. It's a small place but there is even a 24-hour security guard. There was a bit of a mix-up when we booked through Agoda but the hotel went out of their way to make sure everything was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bearcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Spent 5 nights at Viva Vacation Resort and would have liked to stay longer.
The resort has big, beautiful villas set in the most marvelous garden with big butterflys and with shrubs trimmed in to works of art. The villas have one big sitting room, a big sleeping room (could easily fit the big double bed and one extra bed and a baby crib. The enormous bath room is covered in marble and has a bath tub and a separate shower. If this is not enough you also have a big closet and an extra toilet.
The pool is big and well kept, and right next to the beach. We were always alone at the beach witch is very nice!
As it is a family owned hotel the staff was very keen on beeing as helpful as they could. Everyone was friendly and always said hello with a big smile, even the gardeners.
The only down side I can think of is that the pillows where to high and hard, but that is not even worth mentioning, so I won't....
As it is a bit secluded, it helped that we were two familys travelling together.

Me and my family would go back there in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fridlur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

i stayed at the viva vacation resort while attending a fast/detox 3 minutes down the beach. the manager could not have been kinder or more accomodating (they had already cleared my minibar before arriving).

the rooms are large and set in beautifully maintained gardens and the whole resort feels very spacious. the only downside is that the beach is not cleaned and is strewn with debris and broken glass.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.9 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Lipa Noi
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Siam Residence Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range: $36 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing