We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet spot on the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A quiet spot on the beach.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Sunset Beach Resort is out of the way on the "secluded" side of Ko Samui. It is a long way from the tourist traps so if you are looking for an isolated beach holiday this is a pretty good spot to start. The beach here is the cleanest I have seen in Thailand.

We stayed in a Garden Jacuzzi Villa which was a good, clean and had everything we needed. The furniture and fittings weren't particularly high end but everything worked. The bed was firm but comfortable and the fridge and air conditioning worked well.

The outdoor bathroom was huge, private and had some nice fixtures. We were told there was only warm water however the water temperature in the shower and jacuzzi were perfect. Being an outdoor bathroom quite a few leaves, flowers and the odd bug get in though.

The villa courtyard, plunge pool and sala were fantastic but not particularly private. The gardens were lush and felt really tropical; the plunge pool was a nice temperature and was cleaned daily to remove the leaves and other plant matter (which was appreciated).

The staff were friendly and attentive and service was always speedy.

The negatives are that being on the quiet side of the island it is a bit of a hike to get anywhere and the food at the restaurant wasn't anything to write home about.

If you are looking for a secluded spot on a Thai island at the right price check out Sunset Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Greg M,

Thank you for choosing The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Taling Ngam and for sharing your memorable experience.

It is always delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed our facilities, products and staff hospitality and have so many positive things to say.

Your compliments help making the team’s motivation high. We really appreciate it.

We hope to have opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    110
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
82
319
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really nice, great view and friendly staff. The place is quite and relaxing. But the location is remote, so better for travellers who rent a car.

It is close to attractions like mummified monk and shooting range. There is also some cheap local food nearby. Deep fried chocken is a must try! :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cleo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Cleo L,

Thank you very much for taking time sharing your recent holiday experience.
It is such a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. I am personally pleased to learn that staff and hospitality provided has met your expectation.

The Team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you are looking for an excellent resort at a rate that is half and an experience and quality that is double that of all the costly restaurants at Bo Phut(near Airport), then this is the place to be.

I found this place after a tiring search for a resort that is cheap but is as good as the costly ones in Bo Phut(for eg Akaryn, Nora buri, etc). This is in a place called Taling Ngam that is a bit far(about 30 mins) from the main market area. To be exact it is near the Intercontinental but on the beach side. It has its own private beach, long tail and high speed boat.
We stayed 2 nights in the Sunset View Jacuzzi Room and 2 nights in the Beach Front Pool Villa. Both of them were far better than their cost and also far better than the rooms in Akaryn(We stayed 2 nights at Akaryn in the Beach Front Pool Villa). The rooms are far more superior than Akaryn. The food is also good. Even though ASkaryn was better(but cosly as well).

I believe that I sould have stayed 2 more days at the beach front pool villa in Sunset rahther than Akaryn. The beach is also very good. The private pool is large. The staff is superb. i GOT INJURED DURING snorkelling and the treatment, care and hospitality that the staff provided was superb. Also, it was a good thing that a lot of people dont know about it, it was not crowded like Akaryn. They also provide a lot different activities inside the hotel like cooking classes, palm leaf folding, thai boxing, etc. Enough to keep you involved. They also have bicycles, stunt bikes, cars,etc for rent to move around the nearby superb restaurants. Thay also provide private sunset view dinner with superb food and they have a wine cellar from where you can select your choice of wine

I look forward to visiting it again(They give discount for returning guests).

Room Tip: Both Sunset View Jacuzzi Rooms and Beach front Pool Villa are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amlandohutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear amlandohutia,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive feedback.

I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities and our services contributed a memorable holiday.

Your compliments really give us high motivation to continue our goal offering high level of products and service quality.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to Samui in the hopefully not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I choose this hotel mainly for the reviews and the quiet location. We were not disappointed In fact after travelling around the whole island we realised just how perfect this location was for us. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff .the room was very clean and spacious and stocked with complimentary water daily. Although a bit off the beaten track hiring a car or moped direct from hotel was very easy and only takes an hour tops to get to other side of island. Hotel restaurant food was very good,there were a handful of restaurants near by and the beautiful Lipa Noi was only a 10 minute moped ride away. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Jacuzzi room on arrival we looked to upgrade but did not feel it necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodrose7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear woodrose7519,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for taking time sharing your recent holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that we were able to provide you with a relaxing holiday; the peaceful location, our clean and comfort room, and our staff were the highlight of your stay.

Should you plan your future holiday in Samui, please kindly let us welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We chose carefully the location for our 17days stay: west shore, sunset view, away from busier touristic areas... It paid the effort and to our full satisfaction. We enjoyed the garden villa on the northern fence of the resort. The breakfast was great; the meals in the restaurant delicious; pleasant and helpful staff. We were almost alone on the beach. Another three restaurants in just a few minutes walk, plus five star restaurant on the southern fence.
Wish the islanders get responsible and keep this paradise free from garbage, which unfortunately is spotted on many places.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Pete A,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your pleasant review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to know that we enjoyed our services and products. The most important thing is that we are delighted that our staff could offer you an unforgettable holiday.

It would be our honor to be able to welcome you back in the near future.


Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Aus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My friends were getting married in a villa super close to Sunset Beach and suggested that we stayed there - since we were only staying for three nights we decided on a Garden Villa.

My partner and I have travelled extensively through Thailand before and Koh Samui was never on the top of my list - this hotel is isolated from the touristy city area which was probably the biggest pull for me. It can be a bit drag if you want to do some serious island sight seeing or even go out for a local meal, but the front desk were happy to call a taxi or arrange a car to take us.
In reality for a quick weekend where I had snatched moments of relaxing time, this hotel was perfect.

Good price, clean room - it rained every day we were there which covered the outdoor bathroom and jacuzzi in plant matter which was a bit yuck - but other than that nothing at all to complain about.
Staff were accommodating and lovely, I especially appreciated the opportunity to get an airport transfer to save me any taxi stress.
The best part is the beach, mere metres away and one of the cleanest coastlines I have seen in Thailand. No bars or neon signs in sight. The water is turquoise, warm and begging for a dip. The reclining chairs provided by the hotel were perfect for an afternoon nap - and complimentary kayaks excellent.

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing hotel away from the main drag and young drunk tourists - I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear L L,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your positive feedbacks.

It is such a delight to learn that our location, facilities and staff were the key parts of your wonderful holiday.

The Team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My fiance and I wanted 10 nights in Thailand near the beach and hopefully not too many tourists. This was the perfect place! I am not sure if it was down to the time of the year (May 2014) but it was so quiet. Of course there were other guests in the hotel, but it was so peaceful and quiet which is exactly what we had hoped for.

We stayed in a Garden Villa right next to the pool, and the room was very spacious, and our bed was 2 singles pushed together = HUGE!

The beach was less than 20 metres from our villa, although the sea water was so warm we tended to sit by the pool each day.

The food in the hotel was very nice and not too expensive, which was very handy as there was only one restaurant nearby (and the much pricier Intercontinental next door).

The staff were incredibly friendly and quick to help out when we had some insect problems (not the hotel's fault - just as a consequence of the heavy rain).

If I had one grievance (and this is minor and would only be an issue for a small group of people) is the quality of the wi-fi. The wi-fi would frequently cut out, and when working, it was incredibly slow. As I said, this was a minor issue and more to do with the fact that I am used to home comforts.

I would definitely recommend this to couples or family looking for a bit of retreat, but stick to the other side of the Island if you're after a more party fuelled experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Russell B,

Thank you very much for taking time sharing your recent holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

It is such a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. I am personally pleased to learn that staff and hospitality provided has met your expectation.

Your constructive feedback regarding to Wi-Fi quality is granted and we are trying to improve its stability to the standard.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
8.9 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
718 reviews
9.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
8.8 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
7.5 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Property: The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing