We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days of complete bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 days of complete bliss”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this resort for part of our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it. It was off-season but it was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. Days spent relaxing by the pool - enjoying the poolside drinks (fantastic cocktails and smoothies) and time on the beach too - which felt very private. The beach was lovely. The restaurant was fantastic - food amazing and a great selection. Breakfast was also plentiful and set us up nicely for the day. Staff were brilliant - incredibly polite and helpful. We full recommend this resort if you want to relax and enjoy a beautiful, quiet location - the sunsets are also stunning. We enjoyed a romantic dinner/BBQ on the beach which was something we will never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in a sunset jacuzzi room which was delightful - try for the second floor for a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chap_Abroad2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Christ W,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your memorable experience. It was such an honor being part of your wonderful holiday. It is always encouraging to hear that our guests enjoyed our many of our facilities and activities and have so many positive things to say. It is much appreciated.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    107
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
80
312
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a hidden gem!! We stayed 10 nights in a luxurious garden villa (no. 5).
It was always lovely to get back to our villa after a day of sightseeing, it has such a
calm and relaxed environment, unlike most other areas on Samui.
Also great to just spend time at the resort, by the pool, on the beach or having a massage.

The buffet breakfast is excellent (not over the top extravagance), a lovely selection of fresh
fruits, homemade breads, jams, granola and eggs cooked however you like with TLC.

All the staff were fantastic and eager to please. Nothing was too much trouble no matter
what our request was.
We would like to thank Tim (manager) and all of the team, for making our stay at this resort
so enjoyable and perfect.

Room Tip: Garden and beach villa's are well worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a nice afternoon find ;-) This place is about 30 min down the mountain from our villa in Taling Ngam, what a hidden surprise ;-) It was (obviously) a resort style spa service as opposed to a local, off the road shop, but the pricing was fair for the treatment we received. We did their 90 minute special, that consisted of oil, the herbal massage, and traditional Thai Herbal Massage Ball one of Thailand’s Traditional Massage tools, which have been used since ancient times. The Herbal Ball is a netted bag, filled with more than ten varieties of local healing herbs, Before, during and after the massage the ball is applied against your skin allowing essential oils and heat to transfer to your body, and relax the muscles, and the tension melts away. We thoroughly enjoyed our therapist hard work on us. They assigned a female body worker for me, and a male for my husband. That is the first male therapist we have ever had while here. Husband gave him a thumbs up. We may well return as it is so close to the villa. All around great afternoon. Namaste'

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We traveled to Koh Samui in June 2011. We decided to stay in this place for 5 days in the sunset Jacuzzi room where the wasn't sunset view at all. All we saw from our room was massive coconut trees. Our room was above the maintenance staff room where they were performing general cleaning and maintaining from 6am. We could hear the guys sweeping outside area and washing their vehicles early hours in the morning. After 2 nights of broken sleep we decided to speak to the manager about our concerns. They offered us an upgrade to garden villa which was lovely and quiet. Unfortunately the villa garden room had an issue with air con which wasn't working. We had to take the unit apart and clean the filthy filter covered in dust! On the last night we were woken up by a mouse! Yes, mouse was having a lot of fun eating all the fresh fruit left by the staff for us to enjoy. Shame it was mouse who enjoyed it rather than us. When we asked for some help to chase the mouse away, the staff seemed to be more scared than the mouse. There is nice private beach right outside the hotel but forget about swimming! There is dead coral all around which makes very difficult to enjoy dipping in the water. All in all the place is really lovely, staff are helpful and will try to make your stay comfortable. There is a need for some updating, chopping down the coconut trees for the sunset views, sorting out the air con and for the staff to be more proactive. Breakfast was lovely though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGAdamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for a week for our honeymoon and has a lovely time, really enjoyed lounging by the pool and taking advantage of an excellent happy hour (about £1.80 for a cocktail and they were really good!) the beach is clean and there are plenty of sun loungers as well as free water all day long which us chilled in a cool box on the beach.

We stayed in a sunset jacuzzi room which was spacious and the jacuzzi bath was nice. The staff made the bed and put petals in the bath one day for the honeymoon which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good and the thai buffet one night was lovely

However a few things could have been done a bit better. For example, we had the Private Sunset Dinner on the Beach. This was very disappointing as we booked for 7pm and waited on the beach. There was no table set up or anything so my husband went to reception and we were told to wait at the beach. 20 mins later and no sign of anyone and we were told it would be at the poolside instead as it was too windy by the beach. We were taken to a table by the pool and then another couple were placed right beside us. So it was not private and not on the beach!

Also, we had a voucher for the Thai Moment package at the spa from a wedding guest. We booked in for this 2 hour treatment which was due to last 2 hours each for my husband and I. after 1 hour we were told that it had finished. I asked at reception and the lady said that my friend had only paid for 1 hour for us. I pointed out the voucher and she said my voucher was wrong. Then I asked her to double check and she checked the computer and then told us in fact, we were entitled to 2 hours each. However ladies in the spa were great and we really enjoyed the treatments!

These small issues mean I have given the resort 4 but I would still recommend it, just check things and make sure you get what you have paid for

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having read the reviews here, maybe our expectations were too high. Don't get me wrong! For the price, the resort is great value but it is pretty dated and there were small niggles here and there that took the shine off a bit.

This is a small property with just a handful of rooms, one restaurant, a pool, a gym and pretty much nothing else, which is located on the secluded Taling Ngam beach. The hotel van picked us up (for a 1,200 baht fee) at Samui airport - a bit creaky, but serviceable vehicle - and we arrived, about an hour's drive later, at a hotel reception that was dated, with old & crumbly fixtures, to be greeted by the ever-helpful, ever-smiling Khun Nok, for a relatively painless check-in.

We had two adjoining "Sunset Jacuzzi" rooms, numbers 10 and 11, one for the wife and I and one for our boys, but unfortunately, the only inter-connecting rooms were already taken, even though we had made the request a month in advance. The rooms are very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the ocean, and a large bathroom area, with a shower and a Jacuzzi. The mattresses have seen some use, but aren't terrible. The furniture is quite dated, but works. There are split air-conditioners in the rooms, and the one in number 11 didn't work very well. They tried to fix it a couple of times but, in the end, we had to make do with a floor-standing fan that they gave us from their office.

The concept is that as the rooms are West-facing, you are meant to get a great view of the sunset from your balcony. Not so. As rooms 10 and 11 are one extreme corner and the resort faces not quite West, but South-West, the palm trees that grow next to the resort block the view almost completely, and to really enjoy viewing the sunset, you really need to be out on the beach.

The pool looks much bigger in the photos than it is, but it is adequate, for the size of the resort. They keep it clean and there are plenty of loungers to go around. Some of the tiles have come off, though, which shows the age of the property. Not bad enough to impact the pool's utility in any way - you can still safely enjoy a swim - but it looks horrible. The pool bar has a "happy hour" from 5:00pm to 6:30pm every evening, when drinks are all half-price and we took advantage of that generous offer every day!

The beach is lovely and secluded. The water is very calm but you can't really enjoy a swim in it as there is a lot of coral & rocks, which makes wading very uncomfortable. The resort provides a variety of activities, including a couple of kayaks that you can take out for free, which is great fun!

The food was very nice, if a little limited in variety. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, the menu had a lot of Thai and western offerings, and we found that everything we ordered was fresh, delicious and nicely presented. It is also decent value for money, which is great, because there isn't much around the property by way of eating options, unless you've hired a car or motorbike, which we hadn't.

The spa also has a "happy hour" promotion from 10:00am to 2:00pm each day on some of the more popular massage and facial treatments. My wife and I both had massages, which were very good. The treatment rooms are nice and the therapists are very knowledgeable and competent.

The best thing about this resort is its staff. They are all extremely friendly, eager to help and, by and large, very competent. From the front office to the restaurants, from the pool to the spa, we found the Sunset team did everything that they could to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Beach & garden villas have a lot of private space. Sunset Jacuzzi rooms have a private Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HammerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were married in Taling Ngam so not only did we spend a week here but we also had family and friends also staying at the sunset beach resort too. We couldnt be more thankful to the wonderful staff for being so welcoming. A special mention to Kai on the front desk for ensuring all of our guests bookings were in order and Chid for the constant flow of cocktails at the pool bar!

We had a bbq at the resort for 50 people, the food and service was well beyond our expectations.

Excellent value for money, amazing service, clean & spacious rooms.

We will definitely be returning!! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 184EmmaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
9.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
9.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
6.8 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,968 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Property: The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing