We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for the perfect place to spend your vacation? This is it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa in Taling Ngam in the time period 11th of april until the 21st of april. When we saw the pictures and some of the reviews online we expected it to be a good place to spend our vacation, but when we got there we were suprised that it was even better than we imagined. From excellent service to spectacular views, this resort has more beauty and charm than any place I have ever been.

We had a sunset room with a Jacuzzi and my girlfriend and I were impressed by the standard of the room. Everything at this place were practically perfect. Except from a few misunderstandings in communicating in english with the staff, we had NO complaints what so ever.

We had the room that was furthest away from the beach, but still only took us 20 seconds (literally) to get there from our room. When at the beach, you're still at the hotel grounds, which includes exclusive service from one of the most genuinely nice and polite staff i've ever had the pleasure of coming across. From free water (as much as you want) to the most complicated cocktails, the people working at Sunset Beach Resort & Spa would move mountains to satisfy your needs not expecting as much as a 'Thank You' in return. The food was also great in the resorts restaurant (L'Ananas) as well as the roomservice. The Beach restaurant was also great, with a variety of day-fresh seafood, luxurious meats and perfectly cooked poultry. The Australian Tenderloin Steak is really recommended here, with a red wine sauce so divine, it would make Jesus turn all the rivers in the world into this.

To give this place a negative review you have to be really messed up and hate your life so much. We had seriousely no complaints at all except that it was (for the party-hearted) a little far away from the "in" bars and places, but this was not a concern of ours, because we love to travel by moped everywhere we go. We rented a moped here everyday for a mere 300 Bath (gets cheaper the more you rent it) and it took us only 35-40 minutes to get to Chaweng Beach.

We will definately go back here the next time we go to Thailand. Actually, we think it might be in about 6-7 months time. It was truly the most romantic, exquisite and wonderful time we both had in our lives.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristopherGroenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear ChristopherGroenmo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Sunset Beach Resort and Spa.. Guest feedback gives us the drive to exceed expectations and to avoid possible mistakes. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities contributed an unforgettable holiday.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to Samui in the hopefully not too distant future.

WIth Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 530 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel, the staff, the beach and the food are all equally as lovely. My partner and I stayed here for 4 days as we were attending a wedding nearby.

I personally had a poor experience with a nearby hairdresser and I can not thank the hotel staff enough for their help to sort everything out, especially (Karn, Kai and Aff :-) )

The room was beautiful and the jacuzzi were brilliant and the attention to detail made all the difference.

Brilliant hotel, lovely staff and hope to be back!

Room Tip: Get a garden view room with a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TPot1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Many thanks for the sweet review and all the beautiful photos. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and sharing your experiences.
I am very glad that you appreciated the helpful staff, and found them extra friendly here! I've passed on your comments already.
We hope to see you back soon again!
Best Wishes from Sunset Beach Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were in this hotel for the second time and we satisfied again. My review is the same like I wrote last year. This hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere, staffs are very friendly and sunsets are absolutely breathtaking. The stay in this hotel I can recommend it for all who wants to unwind and fully relax.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Oliver B,
So, nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us a second time! This is just great for us to know and we will keep the high level of service along with the ambiance. And yes, the sunset is just amazing –always radiant and renewing itself! We are looking forward to welcome you back a 3rd time soon.
The staff at The Sunset Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Firstly, the hotel itself is wonderful. We stayed in a sunset view room with a Jacuzzi in it (behind the bed, but still with a view out of the giant glass sliding doors), and the view is to die for. I felt that the English of the people working there was a bit lacking at times, but everyone was so genuinely nice and helpful, that it never mattered. The food at the restaurant is pretty good, but the price is a bit high (though it is in line with other restaurants in the area). The view of the sunset from your room or the beach will make you re-consider going back home.

My wife did a massage on the beach, which she gave a fantastic review. And on our last day, we did a couples massage, which was heavenly.

The only thing to keep in mind is the location. The hotel is basically on the opposite side of the island as the airport and the major tourist areas. While this means that the beach is comparatively empty, it also means that there is not really any nightlife or other entertainment options available without an expensive 45 minute cab ride. For us, this turned out to be not an issue at all, and we did not feel the need to utilize the hotel's 100 THB shuttle to Lamai beach. We were more than happy to sit on the beach all day, have dinner watching the sun set, have a few drinks by ourselves, and then repeat.

There are not many restaurant options in the area, but there are a few, and we had good experiences at most of them.

Room Tip: The sunset view rooms are as advertised, on the second floor with a great view of the sun disappeari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Adam H,
Thank you for taking the time to comment following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you have a good time and also appreciated the different Spa treatments.
As for the location, like you most of our guest chose this area because it’s secluded and tranquil. So, as you experienced, after a busy schedule this is a place to unwind and recharge the batteries.
All the best,
Henrik&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A wonderful little hotel with god service and friendly staff.
The rooms are clean with a comfortable large bed.
A great pool with a pool-bar and a little restaurant.
The area around the pool is relay nice and beautiful.
Thank you to the Resort Manager and his staff that made my stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterB501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee khrap from The Sunset Beach Resort!
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was our pleasure to have you here, and we are happy that you liked the friendly staff and the area around the pool. Thank you for recommending to other guests.
Sincerely yours,
Henrik & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Don't normally do reviews but currently sat in Doha airport for 16 hours so as we used it alot this holiday to book hotels on the go and found it really useful. Thort id return the favour , , , , ,
We booked here as a friend had suggested it and certainly wasn't disappointed , we were coming to the end of travelling thailand and Cambodia back pack style so a couple of days in pure luxury was well needed . We paid just over 90 a night to stay with hotel.com for b&b . The rooms are lovely so clean and fresh and in the room we booked we had a jacuzzi in our room . The staff here really couldn't do enough for you, especially the front desk lady. They have a complimentary taxi service to the port and also the 7/11 as the hotel is pretty pricey for drinks so we went and purchased from the shop. As this place is so out of the way if your wanting nightlife , definitely not the place as its about 30/35 mins to chaweng beach resort area were the bars and nightlife is .
Overall a really nice few days here, the attention to detail is just lovely
Eg, every late afternoon u see a member of staff going round picking flowers off the trees to put in your rooms and of an evening housekeeping come in and turn your bed down and dim the lights , a really nice touch. Just felt like 3 days off bliss.
Hope it helps
Happy holidayy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becca0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Becca0503,
Many thanks for your kind words. It is great for us to know that you enjoyed your time here with us. I’m really glad you appreciated the Turndown Service, and the happy ladies working in the reception. It is our goal to give the best service possible for all of our guests.

We will be sure to pass on your regards to the rest of the team. You are off course welcome back anytime!!!

Best wishes from the Sunset Beach Resort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa may be out of the way, with a very modest beach, yet it offers a restful retreat, especially if remoteness is considered a plus. I 'd reserved a two-night splurge at a newly opened, pricey 5 star resort, yet to me it lacked an inviting atmosphere, taste, value. By comparison, Sunset Beach Resort was a breathe of fresh air. I love this place. Pluses for me: Scale/size - it's small, with a comfortable roomy feel. Ambiance/People: The welcome by staff is warm and continues throughout with sincere good service, friendliness. I also appreciated the composition of guests, international, mostly couples, small families (several well behaved children). Food/Drink: Restaurant is casual, comfortable with very good food (never made it past the tasty Thai dishes) and the happy hour drink specials are a treat. Spa/Ammenities: Resort had spa specials and I enjoyed a WONDERFUL massage. The pool is large enough for laps and nice to sit around. Special Touches: The rooms had fresh flowers, fruit, flower petals on turned down beds. Word of my birthday was out and along with cupcakes/candles at lunch, at the end of the day roses and a peronalized cake appeared in my room. Rooms: I looked at the garden and deluxe/superior. Both were very nice and I opted for the deluxe/superior. It was spotless, with a comfortable large bed, oversized jacuzzi tub, roomy open shower, nice small deck, polished wooden floors, tasteful simple decor, comfortable temperature, subtle air conditioner. The room was about 1/3 of the price of the high end resort and not only did I prefer the comfortable feel of this room, the relative cost/value was a treat. Due to weather I passed on an excursion to the Marine Park, instead enjoying a relaxing 2 nights/days at Sunset Beach before continuing on to Kao Tao. I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I liked my room - # 1 level 2 (reception area level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for the uplifting review! It was a great pleasure to have you here, with your laid back style and happy attitude! We wish you the best and looking forward to see you again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Henrik & all of the staffmembers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
2.4 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,561 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
11.2 mi away
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
12.2 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: $130 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing