We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressing Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in the hotel only for a short period, but we do want to go back; The sevice is great, the staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly. We booked the room seaview deluxe, when we arrived, they are fully booked, so the staff change us into garden villa, which is way out of out expectation~~We had very good time, and plan to go back some other time. This hotel is located in remote area on Koh Samui, transportation to the resturants and other places may be not so convenient, however, it is quite and far away from the crowd and noise. Needs to rent a motor bike to get around the island~In all, this is great experience.

Room Tip: The space of garden villa is big, with open shower and bath tube; very nice to take a bath which wat...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 527 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

This review is a little late but here goes....

We were there last year August for our friend's wedding. There were 40 of us which pretty much was all the rooms. Our short 3 day stay was excellent. The staff could not do enough. The wedding was amazing on the beach front.

A little off the beaten track so you need a motorbike if you want to see more of the island but would recommend this hotel.

Had such a good time that I forgot to take photos of the room but it was lovely!! Take my word for it as I'm fussy.

Hidden Gem!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nats29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

ARRIVAL - Stayed at Sunset as the first leg of our Honeymoon on Samui. We stayed 5 nights and overall our experience was good. The shuttle was very prompt in picking us up from the airport and had cold towels and water waiting for us upon arrival. We did have to wait for about an hour to check in to our room as they did not have it clean yet (we arrived after 2 pm which is their designated check in time). This was not a huge problem as the staff stored our bags for us as we took a bit to walk around and see the lay out of the resort.

CHECK IN - Once we we able to check in our room we found it to be a nice place. We stayed in one of the regular room (not a villa). The room was spacious for 2 people and seemed to be clean and well put together. The stone shower and "waterfall" jacuzzi tub are the highlights of the room. Watch out for the sink and shower and tub because the fancy looking faucets splash very bad.

ROOM - The weather when we stayed was very rainy the first couple of days so it was very nice to have a TV with DVD player and home theatre system. The TV was old and outdated but as we were checking out we noticed several employees carrying large HD TV sets to some of the rooms so updates may be underway but not completely sure.

ROOM - One big complaint we had was the bed. As we found Thai beds are generally very hard. In order to make a large bed the resort pushed 2 smaller bed together. This proved to be very uncomfortable as there was a big bump due to the beds being uneven. For two people sleeping on the bed meant either squeezing onto one size or sleeping separated by this bump.

RESTAURANT - Overall the resort is very clean and nice. The pool is large looks good and was generally very clean. Swim up bar was a cool touch. Breakfast buffet was great and the restaurant was ok. Resort restaurant was pricey for decent food and as another reviewer pointed out can get old especially eating 2 meals a day there. For a change we walked down the road to a small beach side restaurant. It was good and cheaper but we did not discover the place until almost the last night.

RESORT - The resort is nice and the spa is great except very expensive. There is a huge down side to the resort and that is its location. We knew it was pretty remote when we decided to stay there but in 5 nights we only left the resort one time. The problem is that in order to go into a town the only was is taking the hotel shuttle. The shuttle only runs once a day, leaves you to find your own way back, and due to how remote the resort is... it is expensive both leaving (the hotel shuttle is not free) and getting a taxi to bring you back. We wanted a place away from it all but this resort is about as far away as it gets. We would have liked to do more shopping and sight seeing but it is hard from this location. If there was a better shuttle system this would be a much better place to stay

BEACH - Obviously the beach was the reason we went to Samui. The beach was pretty nice and the chairs and umbrellas were nice to have. The water however is not swim friendly which was a bummer. There are way too many rocks to enjoy a swim and getting past the rocks to swim water is just about impossible. Even if you made it out that far the waves would be too strong to allow for a leisurely swim.

OVERALL - The place is very nice and I might stay again for a day or so, but when visiting Thailand I prefer to eat at the smaller local restaurants and enjoy the shopping and sights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We chose Sunset Beach Resort & Spa (Sunset Beach) for our honeymoon vacation after endless reading of wonderful reviews and comments on Tripadvisor, and we would like to say
THANK YOU to all of the previous reviewers for leading us here.

Sunset Beach is far from town, tucked in one of the most remote spots in Koh Samui, but for those who are seeking a romantic getaway, far from the hustle and bustle of the happening Chaweng, Sunset Beach is THE place to stay.

We were warmly welcomed at the airport by Tong, one of Sunset Beach's staff. Upon arrival at the resort, we were served with refreshing welcoming drinks and taken to our room promptly, not forgetting the very friendly briefing on the resort and its amenities. Staff here are very friendly and hospitable, our many thanks to Aom, Muay & Jaras.

Food has been delicious and consistently catered to our personal requests (we requested for less spicy & only seafood, and on top of that, we requested for only mangoes to be sent to the room each day). All this was done with nothing but smiles on the faces of all staff here. Kudos!

Sunsets at Sunset Beach are just so special. Each day at 6pm, we make it a point to get back to the resort to walk down the beach after a dip in the awesome swimming pool… to catch the change of colours in the sky, as we walk down the beach, up the 100m pier, to the end of the pier and admire the beauty of the sunset from here.

Oh yes, we forgot to mention that we are staying in the Sunset room…the in-room Jacuzzi is one of the highlights of our stay here…The open bathroom is amazing, makes it all a lot more romantic!

One thing which we right now wish we could have done in the past few days here, is to enjoy the spa packages and the candle-light dinner by the beach…BUT we WILL be back for sure 

P.S. – We are writing this on our last night at Sunset Beach Resort & Spa. We definitely had a wonderful honeymoon in Koh Samui because of this resort. Enjoy the pics we attached.

Cheers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanadamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Ok, so we booked this hotel in high hopes from the reviews and online pictures. Well, let's just say that our stay was average. We arranged for airport pick-up by the hotel, very nice service that should have set the tone for the rest of the stay. During welcome, there was no where for us to sit so we sat in restaurant. Welcome drink glasses weren't clean...and we overlooked that. Our biggest issue was a pest problem in the room our first night and overall villa maintenance (poor for the cost of this place). The manager, Olivier (only there for 1 month now), really tried to help with this. However, he wasn't there the first night that we had an issue and his staff on duty, well, they were less than helpful. We found that they front desk staff at this hotel was less than helpful and they should have been more responsive to our issue. However, this pest issue, wasn't really all that's at issue with this resort. It's just one of the many villa maintenance issues that they have. In addition, they need to improve the front desk staff that is on duty--especially the evening staff, which tried to ignore us until they realized that we did have a serious issue (which we had to physically show them to get them to even respond). We were in garden villa 2. When we arrived, the AC unit was really loud. In fact, the AC units for all are really loud and if you want to sit on the lanai or outside, you have to shut off your villa AC to enjoy the sounds of birds and nature. We booked a villa specifically for this purpose--to be able to site outside all day and enjoy quiet and peace. If they had running water (a fountain or the ability to have some running water in the small pool), this would really help offset the AC noise. The small "pool" in our villa was just a larger version of a jacuzzi tub. It wasn't clean--and it wasn't just leaves from the trees--it hadn't been scrubbed in some time. You could see the dirt/yellow film on the bottom and when you turned it on, it sounded like a lawnmower. Very unnerving. Also, the villa itself wasn't well maintained--the front sliding doors had rot and holes, 2-3 inches under the glass. We plugged it with newspaper to keep out mosquitoes. Also, the outside bathtub in bathroom has no cover in the bath, so leaves and ants are always in it--it should have a cover to prevent this. In addition, the doors to the bath had no latch on the outside--so when you are on the outside bath, bugs can get in the room. Finally, there were holes around the shower and flying insects had a house in there. They would get in your hair and face when showering. We knew to expect an outside bathroom, however, with proper maintenance, it would be a much better experience. We have stayed in villas with outside baths in Bali, and well, this resort was no match for that due to the poor maintenance. Lastly, on 2 days we had poor housekeeping and we had to ask for someone to clean the room by 2 PM! Just to get new towels! By that time, we were done with having to complain or even say anything about it. In any case, the beach is OK, but needs better cleaning around the chairs as there was always some trash there. There are more seats than umbrellas, and all seats should have an umbrella because it gets very hot in the afternoon. Also, swimming is limited in the beach area due to rocks and tide. The restaurant is OK, but with the resort being remote, it's an issue if you stay for several nights as one can get bored of it. We ate at I-Talay down the beach to the left and also at the Intercontinental next door for a change. In any case, I really hope that Olivier, the new manager, can fix some of the issues at this resort as it is expensive and as it has the potential to be something special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank India_Pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear India_Pia,

We thank for your feedback and honnesty in taking the time to report your experience, and there I understood the discomfort and unpleasant experience.

Please accept our most sincere apologies, despite the fact that I have offered you the first night on complimentary basis in order to try to recover this problem.
I am also very sadened to discover that our Front Desk staff was seen unhelpful which to me doesn't reflect experiences.
I have spoken to our front office team about this - I know the sight of having many ants is not unpleasant and stressfull. I wish we could have had the choice of offering you another villa, but unfortunately we were fully booked.

However, as I am dedicated to a high level of guest satisfation, I had no hesitation to compensate what needs to be, and therefore it's been the case.

Our garden, and public area are reguarly sprayed to avoid such problems. The island weather, humidity may not have help during the very hot period of your stay with peack temperatures.

As well, I am aware of the other points you mention for AC noise although which can be heared, though it is very moderate but I understood the points that it may be heared in some cases.

I regret sincerely, that our Resort did not meet your expectations as well for the Housekeeping service as our staff do always ring the bells and proceed betwen 10am to 13am. I am very surprised to hear this, altough room that are on do not disturb signs are always mentionned and reported. Our housekeeping takes care of removing leaves that may fall in the Jacuzzi bath tub, for the morning service and turdown service, but we do not have covers.
As we are in a remote location, we do understand that our guest want to try a different experience for food, eventhough we try to satisty our guest and offer an extensive Thai and Western selection with some specials selections, Recommended dishes or set Menus.

The necessary steps regarding some details are looked after, and actions to be taken because, we do not know that some points needs continious improvements.

However, if you would consider another stay at Taling Ngam in our Resort, I would encourage you to contact our reservation and myself directly and inssure special request would be input in your profile.

With sincere thanks, and kind regards,

Olivier Simon
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were guests at a wedding being held at this resort so chose to stay here. As per previous reviews it is far away from the main tourist action but is perfect if you want a holiday where you get to do nothing but relax, sunbath and swim. The staff are wonderful here and because the resort is small it is very intimate. By the end of our stay the staff knew our names and our room number despite being fully booked. They were attentive, friendly and trustworthy. I also had a couple of spa treatments which were fabulous. The massages in particular are professional and excellent value for money. Food is good and affordable and they make a mean mojito, which is best consumed in the pool bar. The rooms are clean and tidy and value for money. The grounds and pool are lovely. Free water is a godsend. We also went to the Intercontinental next door for drinks and dinner, which was more expensive but great. All in all a lovely holiday experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We travelled to Koh Samui for our honeymoon in Jan 2011 and stayed at this resort. We stayed here for almost a week. The resort is quite a distance from the main city but it makes up for the distance in every way. We had booked a garden view room which got upgraded to a beach view room. The hotel staff was very warm & helpful all the way from booking, airport pick up and drop to helping us rent a bike. They have a private beach and drinks and meals are served the beach without any hassle. Beautiful and clean rooms, food at the restaurant was a favourite - especially the breakfast. The pool & spa is very clean and relaxing. The greatest asset of the resort is still their ever smiling friendly staff.
Cant wait to plan another holiday and stay here! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Epilogues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
2.4 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
499 reviews
8.9 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
7.5 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: $110 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing