We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is as close to perfection as it gets...”
other traveler has booked this property
So peaceful and serene
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
So peaceful and serene
Directly on the beach over looking the five islands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
So peaceful and serene
Directly on the beach over looking the five islands
Directly on the beach!
The living room area with a large TV that can be hidden away in the cabinet
Afternoon tea on the terrace or a refreshing cocktail or beer.  What will it be?
Stepping down to the garden & to the beach in front of the house
Kitchen
Ground floor bathroom adjacent to open air shower
Bedroom on upper level
Overlooks the sea & the garden from both sides
Terrace to bedroom pavilion closest to the main house
Bedroom pavilion closest to the house overlooking the sea
Courtyard to Mainhouse and bedroom with the single beds
En-suite with shower to bedroom
The driveway leading to the house
The courtyard leading to the large tropical garden with your own private swimming pool
The second bedroom pavilion
Large swimming-pool set in tropical garden leading up to second bedroom pavilion
Looking out from the bedroom pavilion
Overlooking the Five Islands
Dinning out-side
As the sun goes down the automatic lights come on
As seen from the terrace - The Naga boat out at sea as the sun sets
Amazing sunset can be seen from this side of the island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is as close to perfection as it gets. We had an awesome time.”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We spent Christmas and New Years at Five Island Beach House, we were there for 3 weeks and every night we were spoilt by the most stunning sunsets.
This part of the island is known as the Virgin coast, this means that it is incredibly natural, which we loved. In the mornings if you take a trip out to the road you will see the locals walking their Buffalos! This is the place to go if you want to enjoy your own time and space.
The pictures on trip advisor are totally true to what the place is like. it really is of an internationally high standard and stunning.
The housekeeper Oh is a fantastic chef, I would highly recommend her services. The island view restaurant down the beach also does delicious food and a wonderful Mojito. They also have truly blissful massages, you listen to the sea while a local lady works on your back.
There are loads of things to do in the area, we particularly loved washing the elephants!
The houses owners were attentive and when we contacted them for advice they were extremely helpful. This really is a gem of a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leoSai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute Beachfront - Unique Traditional Thai Style Beach House”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This unique villa property consists of 4 traditional thai style wooden buildings set over a huge tropical garden with large private pool. The buildings are well maintained and decorated with pieces of traditional Thai/Asian artwork and furniture creating an ambiance that is Jim Thompson-esque in atmosphere.

While old world Thailand in feel, it certainly doesn’t lack the modern comforts of aircon, flat screen TV, WIFI, music system and modern bathrooms & kitchen which makes this a very special base to enjoy the true treasure of Samui’s tranquility.

The main pavilion is perfectly situated on the waters edge with a huge terrace facing directly across to Five Islands. The view constantly changes with the weather and light of day so it was perfect for quiet contemplation. Alternatively when we felt like some action, we were only 20 steps to long tail boat hire for a 10 minute ride over to the 5 islands for a wondrous snorkeling and kayak adventure. The location is also great for long coastal walks at low tide, light snorkeling directly out front and a short walk to a number of good beachfront restaurants. It was also only a 10-20 drive to Nathon, Lamai and Chaweng for shopping and busier entertainment if we felt like it.

Our on-site hosts Oh and Jack made our short stay a perfect villa vacation with an optional meal plan available. Oh’s home cooking is not to be missed. She serves from a large menu selection of Thai and European food, catering for kids, fussy adults and spicy food lovers.

The Taling Gnam beach area reminds me of Samui 25 years ago before the crowds and resort developers took hold of Chaweng and Lamai. It is quiet, non-commercial, lovely and clean, and the local people are surprisingly welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the unique atmosphere of this Villa property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Paradise for all the senses....if only I could teleport back there now!”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Where to begin? Five Islands House is quite simply one of the most beautifully observed and curated houses in the most stunning place with amazing views I have ever seen.

Around every corner there is another surprise; a beautiful view from the veranda of the main house with the 5 islands the house is named after over to the left, the sun sets directly in front of the house in the evening. The gardens are lush, vivid, and very well kept. The amazing traditional main house is adorned in antiques, artwork and is a wonderful place to gather. Its main bedroom is so romantic and the views from here are to die for. My kids loved the swimming pool and the two smallest ones learnt to swim there.

The sea is reached by a few steps down from the main house and it is very clean here. We even saw phosperous one night. I only wish I knew you had to swoosh the water around to make it come even more alive. Take a trip out in the local fishing boats. Much more fun than the organised big tours and half the price. The sheer amount of fish in the water to see when you were snorkelling were incredible.

For me the highlight of my stay was Oh, the wonderfully sweet, kind, funny and most amazing chef. She made everything so simple, took any of the stress away (evitable with extended family) and made us feel so at home. Everyone loved her food. My kids now rate my own cooking by how good or bad it is compared to Oh's. She makes everything from the most amazing Thai Curries (very, very, very, good) to simply beautiful salads or pasta and home made burgers for the kids. I would certainly recommend using her services - you are on holiday and certainly for use it was a once in a life time holiday and she was the icing on the cake or should I say the crunchy peanuts on the Pad Thai Noodles.

I hope one day I can return there, until then however it will remain vividly in my imagination.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Service
Liked best: The magical house and the food.
Liked least: Nothing - didn't have a single complaint.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Querate
Amsterdam
1 review
“Secret Paradise”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

From the moment you arrive through the gates there is a feeling of tranquility.
The lush gardens that surround the villa are home to an exotic array of wildlife.
Walking through the gate towards the main house you ascend the steps to the villa to be greeted by the most breathtaking view of the sea and its hues of greens.
The main house is a treasure trove of Thai antiquities that add an old world feel and blend in seamlessly with the architecture of the villa.
The sleeping quarters are separate to the main house each one tastefully decorated and allowing added privacy to your stay.
The location of the villa is next to a small fishing village that goes about its daily routine as if time has stood still.

Every morning you awaken to the sounds of lapping waves and the cacophony of tropical birds. The squirrels scuttle down from their perch to forage about for food, as you make your way to the pool to do morning laps on a carpet of frangipani’s.
Breakfast is a feast of tropical fruits accompanied by a Nespresso coffee, the villa is equipped with all those 21st century amenities that we seem unwilling to live without.

In this oasis you are far away from the masses and yet close enough to everything should you feel the need to seek out all that this island has to offer.
If you do manage to tear yourself away from the villa do not miss the sunsets.
Every night the horizon, which is dotted with islands, is bathed in swirls of pearly pink and tangerine fading to purple and blue. No sunset is alike.

The owners of the villa Peter and Ann are extraordinarily welcoming and helpful.
The staff here make you feel completely at home and their kindness and warmth are endearing. For those of you that want an authentic experience of Thailand this is the place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiExpl...
Hahei, New Zealand
1 review
“Stunning house, amazing location, divine food and perfectly relaxing.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a treat to stay in this luxurious traditional Thai house complete with lovely and talented chef Oh. The location is so quiet and peaceful but there is so much to do. Highlights for me were, drinks on the patio overlooking the the gorgeous sea views, relaxing beside the pool, wandering a few meters along the beach for the best Thai massage and the great hospitality. Loved it!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional Thai Paradise!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traditional Thai Paradise

This was our first time to Thailand and Five Islands Beach House made our holiday and completely exceeded our expectations! The villa is about 30min drive from the airport and away from the main town and tourist area which is exactly what we wanted. We were warmly greeted with a welcome drink and refreshing cool towel from the property managers Jackie and Oh such a genuinely lovely couple.

You'll see from the photos this property is a traditional Thai styled villa, each of the rooms are beautifully decorated with Thai artwork.

The added bonus of this house is Oh is your personal chief and can make anything you desire on request and at a very affordable price. Oh also runs Thai cooking classes in her outdoor kitchen which we highly recommend. Prepare your taste buds for a delicious Thai gourmet feast!

The property is really well laid out, if your traveling with a group there is plenty of separation between the rooms which allows you to have privacy when needed. The pool is located in the gardens of the property so you are not exposed to any onshore wind. It was rather hot during our stay so we found the pool very refreshing or you may choose to take a dip in the ocean and take in the view.

Restaurants, local shopping and the mummified Buddha in the temple are within easy walking distance. If your looking for the perfect place to distress, relax and unwind then this is great value for money and we can't wait to return soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury, fine dining and a view that I have never seen even after visiting Samui for 7 years in a row!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If Thai style villa with your own private chef, a stones throw away from the beach and the most picturesque view of the five islands is your thing then I would hands down recommend you stay at the Five Islands Guest House. This is our 7th year in a row visiting Samui and our stay here was second to none. My favourite times were having dinner on the open veranda with moonlight above the ocean and the five islands in the distance while being served the freshest seafood by the friendliest original thai family. Jacky and his wife went out of their way to accommodate us, entertain us and make sure we were happy. The location is perfect too, much quitter than Chaweng and non of the bother that comes with staying there. Total bliss, harmony and relaxation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and service
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing