We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very pretty property with outstanding views. We stayed in a Panoramic Villa and have thoroughly enjoyed it. If you are traveling as a family or a group of friends this type of villas is the best choice. If you have mobility issues then you will need to make sure you get a villa right by the road as there are many steps and you do need a to be picked up by a buggy. The beach is kept very clean but sadly if you venture out of the property’s area it is filthy. The location is quite remote from Chaweng or any other village so you will need to rent a car if you want to visit the whole of the island. Closest village is Natthon about 20 minutes by car. The staff is very polite and helpful but food and services are a bit overpriced, so again having a car gives you more choices.

Room Tip: If not staying in the main building ask for a villa by the buggy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LOUKINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear LOUKINA,

Warm greetings from our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I would like to thank you for your great feedback about absolute great service and superb food! It makes us very proud and motivates us to continue providing superior quality and personalized hospitality to our guests.

Our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” is located within the exclusive enclave of Taling Ngam Bay on the unspoilt west coast of the tropical resort island of Koh Samui – where gain the World Leading Luxury Resort Awards 2013 by World Travel Awards, 5 minutes to local market, 20 minutes to Nathon Thai commercial town and 30 minutes to Lamai beach. Renowned as the best spot on the island for sunsets, the resort is set in a quiet, secluded location and offers inspiring views over the Gulf of Thailand and the Five Islands beyond. We also provide many activities for free of charge to our guest such as 7 swimming pools, private beach, fitness 24 hour, sailing, Kayaking, 2 tennis courts, etc.

I admit that our prices are probably not the cheapest on the island however, we consistently deliver the quality deserving of that price tag. We are the luxury five star resort that has gained legendary status over the years and is acclaimed by the New York Times No 1 Best Seller “1,000 Places to See Before You Die”.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you to stay with us in your next trip in Koh Samui.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you are looking for a luxury escape away then this place is perfect. The views are breathtaking, the facilities well maintained and the food fantastic but the best thing is the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff.

As some reviews have pointed out, this hotel is relatively expensive for koh samui but for the quality (and quantum) of the food you get I think it is still great value. Service is at times a little slow but certainly nothing to drop my 5 star rating and I often feel "smothered" by the continuous attention you get at some high end resorts so for me this was a good balance.

Overall we had a phenomenal stay, would not hesitate in recommending to others and would like to thank the staff for all their efforts!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Seb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Seb M,

Thank you very much for your great comment! It is wonderful to hear that you like our “Perfect escape” and had a great time with us as it is a proof of the superior service that we strive hard to deliver. The team at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort strives to make each guest experience as memorable as possible. We all appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback.

Thank you once again for your encouraging words of appreciation, we all sincerely hope to welcome you back to InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort very soon for another lifetime vacation.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Sadly just got back from the intercontinental.
It was a fantastic holiday, the hotel is gorgeous. As soon as you arrive to the lobby you will be left bewildered by the breathtaking view over the 5 ilands and the marine park. The hotel is very reserved with only 79 rooms. The rooms are fantastic with nice large confy beds and also offer a panoramic ocean view. The hotel has 5 pools with an infinity pool on a high spot next to the lobby. The staff is very friendly and welcomy and really make you feel special. On our first night we had problems with the airconditioning, they gave us another room for the night and the following day offered us a bottle of champaing. Also on our last day out tranfer to the airport picked us up late in the evening so after check out they gave us a waiting room free of charge for the rest of the day.
The beach is nice even if at times was a bit dirty probably as a consequence of the monsoon season. The water is a bit disappointing but is not great is samui in general, you can't swim due the presence of rocks in the water, but the hotel has a deck and braver swimmers can get into deeper water from there.
Overall the hotel is quite expensive especially compared to the rest of Thailand. We arranged our tours through different companies for example we spent 80 pounds for 2 people to go to the marine park with asiawebtour (pick up at the hotel included), the same trip would have costed us 100 pouns each if arranged through the hotel. Meals are also quite expensive at the hotel, ranging from 30 to 50 pounds pp (starter, main a glass of wine). There are a few restaurants nearby, we had dinner a couple of times at the iland view (they are happy to pick u up from the hotel) where the food was incredibly good and was much much cheaper compared to the hotel.
Also is to consider that the hotel is quite far from Chaweng, where most of the day and night time life seems to happen, we def enjoyed being on a more remote location, but this might not appeal to everyone, especially because the hotel would charge you 1500 bhat (30 pounds) for a one way trip via taxi.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at intercontinental and loved the fantastic view from the lobby and our room, would def. reccomend going there for holiday.

Room Tip: If booking a villa be avare that some of them have not panoramic view, so choose carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alli394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Alli394,

On behalf of InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Family, I would like to thank you for your great feedback for naming us “fantastic holiday”! It makes us very proud and motivates us to continue providing superior quality and personalized hospitality to our guests. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team!

Regarding to the cost, I admit that our prices are probably not the cheapest on the island however, we consistently deliver the quality deserving of that price tag.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you to stay with us in your next trip in Koh Samui.

Sincerely,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved our stay here! Everything was so relaxing. Before we arrived, we had stayed 3 nights at Chaweng. We stayed in a Junior Suite which we found very comfortable. We swam in several of the pools which were all beautiful. The food was expensive but it was so special having the Japanese teppanyaki, looking out to sea with a gentle breeze blowing around us. The views as others have mentioned were stunning.

But what stood out more than anything, was the beautiful staff who make this resort so special. Congratulations to Stephanne for managing such an outstanding staff. We have already booked to return next year. Hope to see you all again then.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear disy,

Thank you so much for writing us an incredible review! Your review was an absolute pleasure to read! Your portrayal of “Outstanding” puts a smile on our face. Thank you so much for complementing us the spectacular view with outstanding staff. I have shared your comments with our team members in your review and they were happy to read it too.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when your next return to Koh Samui.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went there for a short break. The location is subliminal, though a little far from the city. This can be an advantage if you want to relax, not if you want to go out at night. It is also a little far from the hotel. Would advise to ask for hotel transportation on arrival and as a matter of fact during the whole visit to go around the island.
There are numerous swimming pool and a very good beach front. If you are lucky you may enjoy the sunset.
I had a small hick-up with the cruise to Koh Tau organized by the hotel (this is the reason for the very good and not the excellent). But after the complaint to the hotel the staff's reaction was just perfect, outstanding, well above anyone's expectations. How can they train them so well ?
The resort is spread over a large area but there is plenty of transport through golf carts.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.
Overall a very positive experience. Go there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank vaccarile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear vaccarile,

Warm greetings from our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to learn that your stayed at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort was a “Perfect Relax Hotel” for you and recommend us.

We are delighted to read that you liked the big space and comfort of our room, also perfect boat experience to Koh Tao. Our team members will also appreciate you took the time to recognize their professionalism of their service. We are proud that our InterContinental’s way of excellent service and hospitality complemented your memorable.

We certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for your next travel plan allow.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights in July as part of a 2 week stay in Koh Samui

Arrival
Our luggage never arrived on our flight so we had a stressful start to the holiday. We called the hotel and they were great, advised us where we could go to get some emergency supplies and then arranged a car to collect us.

Our bad moods dispersed as soon as we arrived at the hotel – the view from the lobby was simply stunning, the pictures don’t really do it justice. Rinrada & Mai were great and couldn’t do enough to help with our missing luggage situation. They kept on top of it and liaised with the airport until they arrived later that day.

Rooms
We had an ocean view room including a great balcony with day beds – again the views are breathtaking. It had all the necessary amenities you would expect from an Intercontinental hotel. The resort is on the hill so you get golf carts everywhere which is great, I would recommend the walk through the canopy though

Restaurants & Bars

We found to food to be great at the hotel. The breakfast selection at Amber was always plentiful and there were never any queues. Staff were very attentive and drinks were served quickly.

We ate at Flames a number of evenings. The fish and meat buffet was amazing value for money. All you can eat lobster, blue crab, tenderloin & wagyu steak to name but a few. A definite must if you visit.

The main pool is the beach one and service there is very good, operating a pager service if you require drinks or food and complimentary water.

Towards the latter end of the week a number of families arrived which meant the pool got quite crowded and noisy with kids playing. This isn’t the fault of the hotel but as the pool bar is the only place happy hour exists it is a bit off putting trying to enjoy the sunset whilst being splashed. All credit to Stephane, as when we did raise this issue at the time, he allowed us to enjoy happy at the top pool. Maybe this is something that should be a permanent fixture.

Overall we had a great stay. The staff are brilliant and the food/ is of a high standard. It can be busy around the beach pool so if you were after a relaxing honeymoon I would suggest a pool villa.

Room Tip: all have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear gj23,

Thank you very much for an array of positive feedback on our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and happy to hear that our team, especially Mai and Rinrada catered to your every need. Our team work hard to exceed all expectations and to provide our guests with the traditional warmth of Thai hospitality. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team!

Thank you for having stayed with us at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort and for writing this review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We got there two hours before the show startes. So we decide to have a drink by the bar. First of all, it takes them forever to prepare the drinks arpund 15mins. Then the drinks were very disappointing. They taste like water.
After that, we moved on to the restaurant where they set up the buffet at the "fake sand beach". The poor quality of the food and they over charge per head with that kinda food (3000bht) per head. It doesn't worth a cent. I will not recommend to dine there.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank Franca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Franca L,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. I truly am sorry to hear that your dining is not up to expectations. I admit that our prices are probably not the cheapest on the island however, we consistently deliver the quality deserving of that price tag. The food ingredient and drink in all resort outlets, it is an important and we recognize that and that is why, our Executive chef and our bar manager will look into quality, hygiene and taste.

Thank you once again for choosing Flames restaurant as your preferred dining. My associates and I do look forward to hosting you again!

Kind regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
7.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
9.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,432 reviews
8.9 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
9.5 mi away
W Koh Samui
W Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,116 reviews
12.9 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#31 of 185 in Bophut
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort

Address: 295 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: $297 - $839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam is renowned for its legendary status as Koh Samui’s first ever luxury resort. Nestled on a dramatic cliff of Taling Ngam, with spectacular views over the bay and the neighboring Five Islands. The resort features chic and innovative dining, seven swimming pools, 79 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas including the iconic Beachfront Pool Villas. Baan Thai Spa and the famed Air Bar complete the picture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Baan Taling Ngam Resort And Spa
Hotel Baan Taling Ngam
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing