We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like you are a guest at a private retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

While this property looks amazing on its website - its just stunningly breathtaking when you actually arrive at Samui Baan. Asmara, their delightful AGM assisted us with a flawless check-in process which appropriately acknowledge my platinum ambassador status and went even further to provide us with a quick history of the resort as well as useful local recommendations. She and the rest of the staff have a sincerity that is sometimes rare at 5 star resorts. At this location, you get the sense that the guests, the property and the staff are allowed to flourish to their fullest potential. I'm a fairly snobby foodie but was pleased with the breakfast selection - while its not vast - its all of the highest quality. I loved the fresh made juices and taro croissants. Pools, pools, pools. There are infinity pools with picture postcard perfect views at all levels of the resort. The Spa is serene, private and offers lovely signature treatments in exceptional rooms. The view from the beach along their private jetty to the five islands is simply stunning. This is a backdrop for a Gucci or LV advertising campaign in the making (if its hasnt been used a fashion shoot already?).

I'm generally not a resort person, I like to get outside and see 'real life' but this lovely hotel did bring a lot of the local thai culture into the property so I was able to enjoy the best of both worlds.

Highly recommend this as a perfect getaway for both a Honeymoon or just to beat the stress of life.

Room Tip: Beach Villas were impeccable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank owl_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear owl_wings,

Warm greetings from our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to learn that your stayed at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort was an idyllic retreat as “Feels like you are a guest at a private retreat”.

We are delighted to read that our secluded location and the lush tropical landscape of our resort provide you the true relaxation and that you were enjoying the peaceful getaway. It is great to learn that you liked our Infinity Pool, also the breakfast selection and the spectacular view. Our team members will also appreciate you took the time to recognize their professionalism of their service. We are proud that our InterContinental’s way of excellent service and hospitality complemented your memorable.

We certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for your next travel plan allow.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent six nights in a beach villa and had a fantastic experience.

The hotel is of an exceptionally high quality with the beach villa well equipped and with its own plunge pool.

The grounds of the hotel are very clean and the location meant we had an extremely relaxing and peaceful holiday.

The staff were very friendly and we found the restaurants and bar options really great value. Breakfast each morning was a joy and the dinner options were good quality.

The hotel is well spaced which means you can experience different parts of the hotel from the main lobby reception to the beach or the spa. Access is very easy as there are golf buggies to transport you to any part of the resort.

My wife and I both enjoyed a spa treatment and found this to be a wonderful afternoon again with great facilities and warm staff on hand.

I would throughly recommend the InterContinental at Koh Samui as a real 5 star resort experience.

We will definitely return for a future trip.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear John M,

On behalf of InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Family, I would like to thank you for your great feedback! It makes us very proud and motivates us to continue providing superior quality and personalized hospitality to our guests.

I would also like to thank you for praising our associates’ professionalism, they work hard to exceed all expectations and to provide our guests with the traditional warmth of Thai hospitality. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team!

We don’t have to wait very long for your second visit to our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Sincerely,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location with a mixed review on the facilities & service . Average check-in experience as a Priority club platinum member, Average breakfast, Great pool & bar area where you can just walk from the pool, onto the sand and into the sea. Tranquil infinity pool on the top of the hotel.Breathtaking views from the Air bar overlooking the best sunset in Samui. Partner really happy with bbq at Flames, me not so impressed, felt the service provided to each table varied and was based on the guests on that table.. Superb room with great views.
In my opinion felt as if I was in two different hotels, one minute a moment of excellent customer service and next minute a rubbish experience. Behind scenes communication between departments seemed to be a big issue and reason for lot of problems.
Saying all that really impressed and happy with the way my issues were dealt and resolved by Bazzam, the resort assistant manager and Juan, the resort manager. These two employees/managers stood out and are a great asset to the property, pity about some other managers .
Gist of the review- great property but not matched by same level of service. Investment in some staff & manager training would be beneficial

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cottoneyejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear cottoneyejo,

Thank you to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor for compliment us the superb room with great view and great property. It makes us to be very proud!

I truly am sorry to hear that our service was not up to expectations. The areas for improvement have been brought to the attention of the respective department heads to share with the team. We will work harder on these very important aspects.

The detail of your positive comments about Bazzam and Juan’s service is very much appreciated. I will share your kind words of appreciation with them!

Thank you once again for choosing InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort as your preferred resort. My associates and I do look forward to hosting you again at our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Kind regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Intercontinental Samui is a resort in a true sense. Nestled, away from the city in a calm and serene environment one can hardly find faults with this place.

Right from the time we checked in to the departure, the team at Intercontinental strived hard to make our stay comfortable. The entire team at Intercontinental truly believes in the concept of "Service with a Smile" and needs to be applauded for their customer service skills. The resort has an own beach which was a big plus for us.The view from the hotel is truly to be cherished(especially if you have opted for an Ocean View room). The only area of improvement for the hotel could perhaps be a better spread of breakfast and more options in the In room dining/deserts option!

The resort is well spread out and has all the modern amenities one can think off. One must however note that this is a resort and hence far away from the hustle& bustle of the city(approx 45 minutes from Samui international airport).Tourists wanting to stay closer to city centre may want to look at alternate options as the nearest market place/city centre is approx.8 Kms from the resort.

Since the resort is quite well spread out, mode of transport within the resort(to various rooms,spa,beachfront and main lobby building) is done by a "Buggy" hence it is advisable to guests to either request for rooms near the main building/lobby or be patient with availability of "buggy" at times.

Traveller's may want to hire a car from a car rental company if you are staying at this property as commuting to & fro(to the other city centres/beaches such as Chaweng,Lamai, Nathon etc) can be challenging and expensive. Hiring a personal car can be a cheaper, comfortable and better option. Pls remember, however, that if you hire a car, do insist on hiring it with an English GPS to navigate your way through the place and with a comprehensive insurance plan.The hotel has its own free parking for guests staying with them.The hotel cars/transportation can be pretty expensive(as compared to private car hire) and hence we preferred the option of car hire as it also gave us a lot of flexibility.

Cars can be hired locally or through international travel companies as Hertz,Avis etc(which are present in Koh Samui airport).Some of these car hire companies can also arrange to pick/drop the cars at your hotel at an additional fee.

Room Tip: - Look at getting an Ocean view room and closer to the main building/lobby. - Try and check for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kshitij P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Kshitij P,

Thank you very much for your review and for complementing our absolutely beautiful hotel on TripAdvisor. I truly am happy to hear that you got a fabulous experience during your stay, right from the time from check-in to the departure. It makes us very proud and motivates us to continue providing superior quality and personalized hospitality to our guests. I will share your kind words of appreciation with them!

Our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” is located within the exclusive enclave of Taling Ngam Bay on the unspoilt west coast of the tropical resort island of Koh Samui, 5 minutes to local market, 20 minutes to Nathon Thai commercial town and 30 minutes to Lamai beach. Renowned as the best spot on the island for sunsets, the resort is set in a quiet, secluded location and offers inspiring views over the Gulf of Thailand and the Five Islands beyond. We also provide many activities for free of charge to our guest such as 7 swimming pools, private beach, fitness 24 hour, sailing, Kayaking, 2 tennis courts, etc.

I have passed your suggestions to Director of Food & Beverage to provide more options of menu.

Thank you once again for your encouraging words of appreciation, we all sincerely hope to welcome you back to our resort very soon for your next vacation in Thailand!

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I can't imagine anyone giving this place less than 5 stars. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to decompress, ICH Samui is the place for you. Those of you looking for a place that plays loud music and is a party scene, you will be painfully bored here. There isn't much to do here past 9pm except lounge around.

1) Airport to Hotel Transfer: We booked through the hotel by emailing the front desk before our travel. After long flights from the US, it was very convenient not to scramble for a taxi outside of the hotel. 2 other flights landed the same time ours did. There's only 1 baggage claim with several people hovering to get their bags. The driver waited for us near the baggage claim exit with AC in the shuttle, cold water and mint towels. The hotel is approximately 45 minutes-1 hour from the airport. The convenience wasn't cheap at 2,000 THB which could be charged to your room. The hotel driver was an experienced driver in Koh Samui. We felt very safe in the insane traffic.

2) Room 105: Room 105 had spectacular views of the 5 islands, pier and property. It is also convenient to the main lobby and breakfast area but further away from the beach. It has a huge bathroom with a rainfall shower and separate tub. It was perfectly cleaned 2x a day.

3) Food and drinks: Breakfast is amazing at the Amber restaurant. Plenty of choices for healthy and not so healthy folks. There is no market or deli on the property so you are forced to dine in the restaurants. If you are facing the beach, turn right and walk down about 3-5 minutes. There is a local restaurant with old bamboo chairs that's recommended by Tripadvisor to get much much much cheaper food and drinks. Other guests told me they bought alcohol at the duty free and enjoyed their own beers in their rooms. We had dinner at Flames on the Beach twice. We ordered the cashew chicken nut and beef panang; both dishes were delicious! Again you can't beat the view and having the sand on your feet. Food and drinks are not cheap at this hotel but everything is very tasty. It's probably safe to say that you are paying for the view everywhere you drink or eat at the hotel. 1 cocktail will cost approximately 500THB.

4) Service: The service here was impeccable during our stay. Our check-in was very easy. We had a walk-through of our room and hotel area which made things easier to find. We often used the golf carts that took guests to/from the beach. We rarely waited more than 2 minutes for a ride up or down the hill. We also booked an excursion with the hotel, and it was very easy. It took all of 5 minutes. The entire staff was helpful, professional and eager to please. Occasionally I would have a staff member that didn't understand something I said, but he/she would call a co-worker to assist me.

5) Wireless internet worked well everywhere on the property including the beach. It was complimentary and easy to use.

6) Beach: The beach is a low current. The sand is not as soft as Chaweng, but the water is just as clear. There are rocks and coral on this beach so I would recommend having water shoes. It's a fantastic beach to take a dip in the sweltering heat.

ICH Samui is one of the most organized hotels that pays close attention to details. It cares about their guests and their overall experience. We personally appreciated the staff's service, the cleanliness of the hotel and strict security.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pr0Jettser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Pr0Jettser,

Warm greetings from our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to learn that your stayed at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort was an idyllic retreat for you.

We are delighted to read that our secluded location and the lush tropical landscape of our resort provide you the true relaxation and that you were enjoying the peaceful getaway. I would also like to thank you for praising our associates’ professionalism, they work hard to exceed all expectations and to provide our guests with the traditional warmth of Thai hospitality. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team.

We would love to have you back to our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” where gain the World Leading Luxury Resort Awards 2013 by World Travel Awards and please do look out on our website for some exciting offers. Wish you the very best.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Located in a very quite area of the island, the views of the property are just amazing. As soon as you enter the lobby you know you made the right decision. The room are spacious with wonderful ocean views. Restaurants and food are very good. The pool is located by the beach which you can reach be going down the steps or using the hotel buggy. We also used the steps (247) coming back up up for a slight workout. Have read some reviews where people complaint about the steps but we did not see it as a problem. For budget minded travelers there are a quite a few nice local Thai restaurants within walking distance on the beach or on the entrance of the property. Staff, as everywhere in Thailand, is very friendly and helpful. We can only recommend this property and will be back again.

Room Tip: Having the ocean view all day you might want to choose the basic rooms to sleep in. Don't pay to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comppack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear comppack,

Thank you so much for writing this review, what a pleasure to know that we made you feel enjoy your trip in Koh Samui and your stay at our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” with “Million Dollar View”!

It is wonderful to know that you loved the different facilities and services of our resort. We work very hard on keeping consistent service standards and your review will inspire us to maintain yet keep innovating from a product point of view.

Rest assured that I will share your wonderful feedback with the entire team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Koh Samui for your next visit in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived here on 3/3/14-7/3/14 room 630 2 adults and 8 yr old daughter
The check in was very smooth,we had to wait for our room because it was not ready due to arriving before check in ,we was given a room to relax in until our room was ready.we had a cold towel and a cool drink when we arrived,we were given a room which I think was an upgrade to the one we originally booked because it was a bigger room to accommodate our daughter so that an extra bed could be put in the room.we were above the lobby area up in the hills which was loveley and peacefully we had a huge balcony with lots of comfy furniture , this wasn't a problem ,you just ring for a golf buggy and they would come and fetch you.the staff here are amazing,very attentive ,polite friendly.the food is delicious also breakfast was of the highest quality,as special mention to the bell boy Chalerm maeaim (Zar) he was super very friendly and has a great sense of humor,he is a credit to this hotel, also (pan) the butler she is also super she is also a credit to this hotel.the views here are really breathtaking.the beach is very clean and clear to swim in.the restaurants was also very good.we met the head chef mr t he made the best food ever,he is also a credit to the hotel.the food here is reasonably price considering it is a five star hotel I would give it more than five stars,there is seven pools here we have been to most of them and they are truly amazing,they are never crowded,lots is sun beds to choose from and towels waiting on them with a flower in the middle,the service on the beach is excellent they bring you cold drinks of water with lemon in them which is really nice.our room was fantastic very comfortable beds and luxury toiletries ,house keeping do a fantastic job here our room was spotless everyday fresh towels fresh bedding plenty of bottled water,so thank you to housekeeping,we met the manager to he was very nice.i have posted pics to see more of this magnificent hotel,we had a fantastic time here it is so relaxing,so thank you to all at the intercontinental for making our holiday a special one, also just wanted to point out that some of the reviewers have issues with the service but in my experience the is no issues the staff here are reall wonderfully and couldn't do enough for you.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank wendyNorthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear wendyNorthWalesUk,

On behalf of InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Family, I would like to thank you for your great feedback! It makes us very proud and motivates us to continue providing superior quality and personalized hospitality to our guests.

I would also like to thank you for praising our associates’ professionalism, they work hard to exceed all expectations and to provide our guests with the traditional warmth of Thai hospitality. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team, especially Zar from Bell Boy and Pan, the resort butler!

We don’t have to wait very long for your second visit to our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Sincerely,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
7.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
9.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,461 reviews
9.3 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
9.5 mi away
W Koh Samui
W Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,153 reviews
9 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort

Address: 295 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: $291 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam is renowned for its legendary status as Koh Samui’s first ever luxury resort. Nestled on a dramatic cliff of Taling Ngam, with spectacular views over the bay and the neighboring Five Islands. The resort features chic and innovative dining, seven swimming pools, 79 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas including the iconic Beachfront Pool Villas. Baan Thai Spa and the famed Air Bar complete the picture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Baan Taling Ngam Resort And Spa
Hotel Baan Taling Ngam
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing