We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 for 12 nights with our 2 toddlers and 10yr old. The hotel itself is perched on a mountainside, with the front aspect of the lobby being completely open apart from minimal glass panels, so the view is breathtaking but if you have small ones, make sure they are in a buggy! We arrived after a very long journey from Bahrain and the staff could not do enough to check us in quickly and smoothly, our bags were taken straight to the room and we were taken by golf buggy no more than 10 minutes later. The accommodation was a 2 storey villa, furnished to a very high and comfortable standard, loads of room, the quality of linen and soft furnishing was also a really high standard. The resort itself is connected by golf buggy's due to the steep nature of the location, we never waited more than 5 mins to be taken anywhere. The beach was beautiful and the service very good, we spent most days here relaxing on the beach, kayaking, walking or paddle boarding. The kids played in the kids club every afternoon and were looked after brilliantly, we would definitely come back for a relaxing beach holiday, the management team took a real interest in our experience at the complimentary cocktail party, we really thought this was a nice touch and something we'd never experience elsewhere, my only complaint would be that considering the location is quite remote, we thought the menu was a bit pricey and could have been more extensive, after a week we were all wanting something a bit different - that said, all of the food, even down to the chicken nuggets were cooked perfectly, thank you to everyone who made our stay with lots of children effortless!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldhopper82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear worldhopper82,

Thank you very much for posting an outstanding review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you and your family had a wonderful and unforgettable holiday with us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you here again for another wonderful holiday, hopefully in not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    234
    64
    30
    31
See reviews for
327
480
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here earlier this year for 6 days, and had a very nice experience. Was kindly welcomed as an Ambassador member and given an upgrade to one of the best ocean view rooms, and then further to one of the suites when we encountered an issue.

The view from the ocean view rooms is really spectacular, and was much better than that we had from our upgraded suite. Unless one needs a huge space for children, I wouldn't suggest upgrading too much, as the views are the definite highlight of this resort.

The rooms were huge and well appointed. The bed faced out to the ocean, and the room had ample sitting space inside, as well as a huge balcony. The bathroom was probably the best part of the room, as the huge shower and bathtub were very relaxing, and also afforded views of the ocean. The toiletries were a high quality local brand, which we noticed at the airport. A bar of soap that they give you in the bathroom sells at the airport for 150THB, so I'm convinced it was a quality product.

The pools and lounging areas are all very nice, although the lower pool doesn't have the same views and tends to get rather crowded at times. The beach was average, but did allow for some decent snorkeling to pass the time. The main issues here are the relative small size of the property - if it is busy with kids, the pools will be busy, and also the fact that one needs to take a golf cart to get back to the main resort (it's ok to walk down). In addition, I found the food to be rather average, and was especially turned off by the prices being charged for the local Thai dishes. I understand charging a premium for European food, but Thai dishes can't be offered at 15X the local prices. There are plenty of local restaurants to choose from - don't think you are so isolated! We took the free bike service and discovered 20 restaurants within 2km of the resort.

Iwould say that this hotel is a great value, and can afford one probably the best views on the island. The views are better than all of the other chain properties, and are essentially the same as the Conrad. My only real reservation was with Samui itself, which felt like a tourist trap without any real 'local' experiences. We found that staying on the property was much more relaxing and enjoyable than running around to the local beaches all day long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyonnaisdecoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear lyonnaisdecoeur,

Thank you for your recent TrpAdvisor review and delighted to read you have enjoyed your recent holiday at our iconic resort - the stunning views, the setting and the overall design is quite remarkable indeed.
Regarding the food price difference you have mentioned, please allow me to clarify, Prices at the resort are indeed higher than local restaurants due to higher running cost however, the prices being charged for the Thai dishes at 15X the local prices seems overestimated.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort soon.

Best regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September whilst travelling through Thailand with a friend. You cant imagine just how beautiful it will be until you walk into the reception area which is perched on top of the mountain and overlooking the ocean - its wow!

The Reception is a very open area, elegantly appointed with some of the most breathtaking views I have seen. I love the use of space and design elements in all areas of the resort. We stayed in the main building and had awesome views from our balconies!

The rooms are extremely well appointed and the furnishings of a very high quality. The amenities were gorgeous loved the spa amenities in the room! It was probably the best sleep experience I have had and the beds and bedding are second to none, you dont want to get out! Overall, the room size and style suited me very well and really appreciated the large balcony and outdoor living space that came with it. Also, their bathrobes are totally awesome!

We really enjoyed the food at the beach restaurant area - Flames and the staff were friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. Out of the 7 pools, we really enjoyed the infinity pool by the beach and also, the inifinity pool looking out toward the mountains near the reception area.

The Air bar is really funky in design and colour and again fits in very well with this Resort.

The only down side I would mention is that if you want to get out and explore, its totally possible, but this area is quite far from the main "touristy" areas, but if you are looking to get away from it all and just chill in luxury - this is your place....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Chop_sue07,

We are delighted to read about your recent holiday experience at InterContinental Samui - the spectacular views; the culinary delights and the design certainly complement the legendary ambiance at the resort.
Thank you for your comment about our team and service, your feedback is much appreciated and shared with the team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you here again for another wonderful holiday, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Amazing place, wonderful facilities, nice beach, very friendly staff. The Bar at Sunset is unique! The Hobie Cats of the hotel to sail to the close "Five Islands" complete the experience. And the perfect also. A clear "have to come back place"

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear amreina,

Thank you for posting this short but great review regarding your recent holiday at InterContinental Samui. We are pleased to know that you liked the resort, wonderful facilities and authentic Thai hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

POSITIVE COMMENTS:
When we finally made it to the Intercontinental after 4-great days at a much smaller (and also great!) resort (Hansar Samui next to Fishermans Village), we were immediately impressed.

This hotel recently finished MAJOR renovations and the rooms, the grounds and the facilities are stunning. They clearly put a lot into this hotel.

There are multiple pools, a great beach with easy swimming, lots of activities (sailing, thai boxing lessons, yoga, etc.) and multiple restaurants to choose from. Just fabulous!!

We enjoyed it so much we stayed another night.

ISSUES:
1. The shower drain was clogged our first night. We told the manager (Johan) and he promised to get it taken care of. It wasn't taken care of.
2. We requested additional waters to be brought to our room. The same manager (Johan) promised he would bring them, but they never arrived.
3. The beach bar staff were not good about bringing water. We had to ask multiple times to get a glass of water and 20+ minutes later they arrived. When we ordered a cocktail they finally brought it but soon after a fly landed in it and they took it away but charged us anyways.

I would return to this hotel in 2014 when hopefully it is still feeling fairly new but they have better learned how to train their staff in English and customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordlyandwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Wordlyandwise,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed fresh experience with our recreation activities and beach pools as well Restaurants and Bars.

I have taken note of your comments in regards to the challenging issues and shared with our respective team for immediate actions accordingly. I do hope this will not deter you from returning to our stunning resort, please feel free to get in contact with me if there is anything else I can be of assistance with, My email address is arnaud.girodon@ihg.com.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I felt like I was in paradise! The ocean view from the room was amazing and the amenities were great. The beach was very nice and tranquil. With two pools, a gym, a spa, and a few places to eat, I could just stay in the hotel not going out at all. The service was excellent and everyone was friendly and helpful. We used the hotel’s transfer service to and from the airport and they were always on time. The only negative was the dull and average food offered at their restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leydeebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Everywheretraveler,

We truly appreciate your effort for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about your recent holiday at our iconic Koh Samui Resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the various facilities, culinary delights and our team’s warm hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your own “Paradise” soon.

Best regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Second visit after our last stay in 2009 when the hotel was under different management, when we had a lovely holiday.

For a host of reasons we try to avoid large multi national hotels, however the room deal & our previous favourable experience had us forgetting our principles & booking.

This part of Koh Samui, is just so quiet & retains some of the feel that was Koh Samui some thirty years ago. Our room an ocean view was light & airy it was quite lovely, a fabulous bathroom, the bed was large & very cosy. Clearly a vaste amount has been spent in bringing the rooms & the resort facilities up to date, we were not dissapointed & will freely admit our view of what has happened here is all good.

The food was superb & restaurant service was prompt & courteous, smiles all around from all staff seemed genuine. This was a fleeting five day visit on the back of a business trip which we now wish we had extended, great time, we just might go back again.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms offer comfort at a reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanguardAction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear VanguardAction,

Thank you for posting your valuable review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience on your second visit at our resort; the amazing views, the facilities and the resort’s culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for the third time; ‘Where Legends Just Get Better’ at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort.

Best regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
7.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
9.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,369 reviews
9.3 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#18 of 186 in Bophut
915 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,570 reviews
12.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort

Property: InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Address: 295 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam is renowned for its legendary status as Koh Samui’s first ever luxury resort. Nestled on a dramatic cliff of Taling Ngam, with spectacular views over the bay and the neighboring Five Islands. The resort features chic and innovative dining, seven swimming pools, 79 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas including the iconic Beachfront Pool Villas. Baan Thai Spa and the famed Air Bar complete the picture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Taling Ngam Resort And Spa
Baan Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Hotel Baan Taling Ngam
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing