We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$125
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Booking.com$126
Priceline$126
Destinia.com$135
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,542)
Filter reviews
1,541 results
Traveler rating
1,102
286
78
38
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,102
286
78
38
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air bar amber restaurant flames restaurant club benefits beach pool the club lounge koh samui suspension bridge kids club hotel lobby panoramic ocean view thai spa the cliff evening cocktails five star hotel thai food fire show
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,132 - 1,137 of 1,541 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I just spent a wonderful time in this fantastic resort in Koh Samui last week. This is my first time been to Koh Samui which had left me a very unforgettable experience. This resort did contribute a lot on it.

My local agent offered me a 2+2 package which I stayed 2 nights at Deluxe Room with Ocean View and 2 nights at Pool Beach Villa. This package is really good for whom prefers to try different types of rooms in a resort.

First of all, a credit should be granted to resort staff. I am so appreciate for their sincerity and hospitality. Thai people always express their hospitality with their smiles. Overall their service are responsive and satisfactory. Arranging buggies between room and lobby, in-room dining, asking for other service and stuff, etc are all responded promptly.

Another impressing me is the resort's environment and the aweful scene. This resort is located at the south-west coast of the island, Taling Nam. Despite of relatively longer distance from airport / Chaweng Beach, about 1-hour car distance, the resort is situated at a human-less paradise, very silent and calm, with beautiful beach though not so long, a fantastic sunset view. Deluxe rooms are built along the cliff. Each of them with a sizable balcony with 180-degree ocean view. The following 2 nights were spent in the Pool Beach Villa which my wife and I were so impressive. The villa is spacious with a large jacuzzi. We could swim anytime we liked in our private pool. We enjoyed relaxing on the beach chairs and observing beautiful sky in starry night. It was really an unforgettable experience.

There are 2 restaurant which provide international cuisine. Our package included sets of Thai dinner. I satisfied with the food quality. Dining with the moon and relaxing music from the Air Bar next to the restaurant, I thought it was a wonderful experience. As we were busy with photo shooting around the resort, we always ordered in-room dining. The food quality is also good and service is prompt.

Overall, we consider this resort is an excellent one in Koh Samui with no doubt. Should you request me to find something not good, I could just say the location. However, the location of this resort is its weakness but also its strength. We did not rent any motorbike or car as we did not plan to visit all the places on the island. So, if you are the one prefers night activities, shopping, scene looking, this resort may not be fit you. Nevertheless, the location of this resort provides it with a silent and fantastic paradise. For those who like relaxing and slowing down the lives like me, it is the best choice in Koh Samui.

Last but not least, many thanks to the hospitality of all resort staff. I really appreciate for their enthusiasm on servicing guests and enjoying their jobs.

Room tip: I highly recommend to stay at Beachview Villa with Private Pool. Try to request resort to provide those villa which are closer to the beach, you could enjoy with amazing sounds from wave.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Eric_sun,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful and unforgettable holiday with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Koh Samui soon for another wonderful holiday at our iconic resort. .

Sincerely yours
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental Samui for 7 nights in early October. The property is amazing, with stunning sunsets and views of the 5 islands and national park west of Samui. We stayed in a beachfront villa, with private plunge pool, outside shower. The room was very comfortable with all the needed amenities, and a huge bathroom with central round bathtub. There are a few villas directly behind the main beach pool, but all villas still have great views of the sea. The staff are well trained, lots of smiles, and are very accommodating but not overly intrusive. We added the Club Intercontinental benefits, which i highly recommend. This package provides the guests with a personal butler (available by hotel provided cell-phone 24/7), who really went out of her way to please us (Tui!). Buggies were always at the villa within a few minutes to whisk us away to the upper levels of the resort. With the package you also get free evening cocktails each night, unlimited drinks all-day anywhere in the resort, 1 free massage, airport transfer, and much more. We also went to the GM cocktail, which included drinks with Arnaud, the GM and some of his senior staff. A nice touch!

Lots of gifts were received throughout our stay, including endless coconut triangle sweets, local village souvenirs, a CD with the Air Bar ambient music mix, traditional Thai lanterns, etc.

We enjoyed a massage at the spa, but if this is out of one's budget there are more local options nearby.

The only negatives of the IC in my opinion are the beach, which has a lot of coral and driftwood wash up, as well as some garbage. The hotel tries their best to clean this, but the location on the west coast makes it hard. Also, the a la carte dinner at Amber was not great, the Thai options were weak in flavor. On the other hand, the breakfast at Amber was excellent, especially the baked goods. A lot of the f&b at the property is sweetened, so make sure to ask for drinks without sugar/syrup. We had a few towels at the beach that were stained, possibly from sunscreens/other lotions. Finally, our villa had an annoying bright blue light coming from the AC controls that could not be dimmed.

There are 2 or 3 restaurants within walking distance, of which 5 Islands was most enjoyable. Excellent food and great service and very romantic moonlight dining on the beach. The other restaurant on the other side of the resort, while cheap, was not so great. We rented a bike for 3 days and rode around the island trying different restaurants and beaches. It was low season, so most beaches were very empty. Silver Beach was our favorite, as were the very local restaurants along the northern beaches. The whole ride around the island takes roughly 1.5 hours.

Overall a very enjoyable trip and will definitely be back!

Room tip: Beach villas 505-512 are the most secluded.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlbsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear jennylebeouf,

Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review; we appreciate that you have enjoyed the stunning views and the overall concept of InterContinental Samui. We have taken note of some of the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and shared with our respective teams accordingly.

Sincerely yours
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Intercontinental Samui Baan Taling Ngah Resort is nestled on the cliff of Baan Taling Ngah, Samui Island. It is about 45 minutes from the airport. Taxi coupon to the resort is 1000bahts which can be purchased from the counter after you pick up your luggage at the arriving hall.

Approaching the resort’s lobby on the steep one-way road, the view was simply stunning. Upon arrival, the Front Office staff escorted me to the lobby lounge where welcoming drink and cold towel were served. The view from the lobby was breathtaking. Check in was flawless and I was escorted to my room on lower floor of the main lobby. The room was impeccable. It was well maintained and beautiful decors with ocean view balcony. Albeit the resort is 10 years + old, there is no sign of aging.

The resort is widely spread from the beach front to the hill slope. A buggy is needed to ferry you from one location to the others. Besides the beach pool and the infinity pool next to the lobby, there are 6 other “color” pools scattered around the hillside villa.

Besides the Lobby lounge & bar; Serene, There are two other restaurants; the all day dining restaurant, Amber located one level below the lobby serves great varieties of local & Asian cuisines. It has an open kitchen concept and overlooking the ocean. The Flames situated on the beach front serving seafood & grilled meats.

The resort is a bit remote on the south western side of the island, thus relatively quiet which is good if you are looking for some tranquility. If you are party animals then go to Lamai or Chaweng.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Huat88,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us this detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Samui and look forward to welcoming you back to you “Home on a Beautiful Cliff” on your upcoming trip to Koh Samui.

Sincerely yours
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I heard a lot about this property and being at Koh Samui decided to have a look for comparison of photos and reality. Omg it's really extremely beautiful 5-star resort which was renovated last year!!! The rooms and villas are very cozy and it makes you feel like home. The view from the rooms and villas is breathtaking, during sunny day you even can see Ang Thong National Park and of course Five Islands. The SPA is luxurious and spacious. The hotel provides kayaks for water-sport activity. This place is ideal for honeymoon couples and people who like to spend the holidays in peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The resort is located in tropical paradise of Taling Ngam area so if you would like to go to Chaweng or Lamai it's better to rent a car. If we decide to spend our anniversary next year at Koh Samui we certainly stay at InterCon!!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear AnitaMagic,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us this tremendous feedback! I am delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed the stunning views, the warm service and culinary highlights at InterContinental Samui.

My Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to you “Home on a Beautiful Cliff” on your upcoming trip to Koh Samui to celebrate your anniversary.

Sincerely yours
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent a total of bthree nightsinthis property.the view from this rm was magnificent and there were fewer than 3 or 4 boats small ones in the sea at any time, it provided the mind with a very tranquil kind of feeling amidst the greenery which interweave the 97 rooms together.

Enjoed the pool next to the private beach which had a in-pool jacuzzi which had firm jets of water that soothed our aching muscles after a nice walk along the beach and jetty.

Excellent breakfast spread at amber restaurant . the bread was freshly baked and the smell was great. and tasted equally yuumy.Bbq seafood dinner was yummy with an interesting array of appetiser, seafood and desserts by the beach. real value for money if you have a great appetite otherwise at usd $80 a person just for food some may find it a tad expensdive.

The location is ideal for holiday makers who wants to rejuvenate the mind and the soul and if you are a city person you may not find it ideal, to get tothe the 'centre of live" you need about 45 minutes by car

Overall the staff were warmth and pleasant. .will definitely make another visit if just to regain my senses away from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Tan H

We are delighted to read about your recent stay at our iconic resort – the views, the setting and the overall design is quite remarkable indeed. Thank you for your comment about our team and service, your feedback is a testimony of our hard work. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon as mentioned in your review.

Yours sincerely,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews