We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Nearby Hotels
$111
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
$32
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Easy Time Resort(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
$35
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
$138
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa(Lipa Noi)(Great Value!)
$96
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,163)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveler rating
785
245
67
34
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
245
67
34
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamber restaurantmain buildingkids clubinfinity poolclub benefitsflames restaurantsuspension bridgestunning viewsbuggy servicethe cliffocean viewgolf buggiesspeed boatmain poollarge balconypersonal butlerfire show
Filter
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,163 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Spent 4 nights and stayed at the Ocean View Suite. Lovely room, can't complaint! Best view of in the hotel, perfect sunset view! There are two locations for the Ocean View Suite, one is at the Cliff and the other in the main building. At the cliff is more private, but yet very convenient to go around the hotel with their buggy service; the other is at the main buidling. Personally I like the suite in the main building.

Lovely staff, again, can't complaint! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbigeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear bigbigeye

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a short & sweet review about your holiday experience at InterContinental Samui. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the Ocean View Suite. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for longer stay soon! Many thanks for sharing the photos, they look fantastic!

Warm regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family and I have just spent a week at Intercontinental Samui staying in a 2 bedroom villa and taking the Club Intercontinental package. My wife booked this holiday and I must say at first I was a bit skeptical about an Intercontinental Resort in it's soft opening phase, having generally found some of their business hotels relatively average compared to alternatives.

I am a total convert now though - this is a beautiful property, in a quiet, secluded part of the island with fantastic staff, great food and all the amenities one would expect from a world class resort. Add to this the stunning views and I don't think one could go wrong in selecting this resort. Not only were we impressed from the moment we made our reservations, thanks to Khun Jarunee who is a true asset to the property, but she is one of the most patient and polite people that I have ever come across!

As mentioned we took the Club Intercontinental package which I think is a top class product offering a much higher standard of service than one typically associated with hotel "clubs". Firstly, the butler service comprises a dedicated butler who is always checking in and helping with everything. Our butler Nicky was an exceptional young man who befriended our 2 boys so fast, we barely saw them for the entire week. They were very well looked after, which meant that we had nothing to worry about but fully unwind and relax!

Despite being in it's soft opening phase, we had an absolutely fantastic week without a single hiccup.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear RRRR

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful family holiday at InterContinental Samui. The Club Intercontinental package is indeed a fantastic value-add and we are very pleased to see our guest enjoy the elevated level of hospitality. Thank you as well for mentioning the names of our colleagues that made your stay extra special, we have celebrated this recognition with them.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Samui Island soon.

Best regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

before landing in koh samui we did a lot of research on where to stay.... there were quite a few options available like w retreat, four seasons, le meredien, but we opted for intercontinental instead...

i still remember the moment when our buggy stopped in front of the reception... my eyes lit up when i saw the view... it was simply mindblowing... absolutely stunning... i can bet that very few resorts in the world can boost of having such views...

we stayed in a delux room and trust me it is much bigger in reality than wht it seems like in the picture... very spacious with huge bathroom and a big balcony... really impressing...

the entire resort is divided into 2 sections...

the upper section which is built on a cliff has the reception area, amber restaurant, air bar, 4 swimming pools, panoramic view villas and delux rooms...

out of the 4 pools, the one near the reception, i.e. the infinity pool is the best one... it also has a jacuzzi area... remaining 3 pools, namely orange, green and blue (yes u heard it right) are located between the villas and very secluded... they are good for photography but i didn't see a single person swimming in these 3 pools...

resort's main restaurant (THE AMBER) is located near the reception as well.. this is where breakfast is served in the morning.. overall interiors of the restaurant were above average with nothing spectacular to rave about.. but during dinner with all the candle light setting the look changes completely and it becomes a lovely romantic place... since we were vegetarians we had limited options in the menu, but whatever was served tasted good... so complains about the food...

i was highly eager to see the air bar ambience during the night time as on the website of the resort it was one of the major highlights of the hotel... but honestly i was hugely dissappointed... yes the entire decor of the air bar with lights on looks beautiful... but there were hardly any people around... a lone dj playing music, couple of bar tenders, and hardly 5-6 people... thts it... nevertheless i m sure in the peak season the situation would have been very different...

coming to the lower section which is right on the beach.... it has beach front pool villas, flames restaurant, a swimming pool, pool bar and a deserted beach...

the pool here is the largest and best of the hotel... there was a seperate sitting area inside the pool where drinks were served from the pool bar... there were quite a few sunbeds too...

the second restaurant of the hotel, flames was right next to the pool... we didn't take dinner there as not many vegetarian options were available... interiors were just about average but it remained packed in the night time....

the most dissappointing part of the hotel was its beach... i was hoping for a white sandy beach but it was far different from my hopes... the beach wasn't maintained well and was dirty... it was difficult to walk bare foot as there was always a fear of something hurting or sticking to the feet.. it was a big turn off for me... also the ocean near the beach isn't suitable for swimming at all... so guys don't expect yourself to spend many hours on the beach... resort claimed to have lot of water sports but baring one person doing kayaking we didn't see any major stuff happening on the beach....

since resort is located very far from the chaweng and lamai areas of koh samui, they offer complimentary shuttle services to chaweng, nathon areas 3 times in a day... so generally we used to take a shuttle at 1 p.m. to chaweng which normally took 1 hour to reach the destination... while coming back, since the last free shuttle provided by intercontinental leaves at 5, we used to take a taxi which is easily available in chaweng area... it costed us 800 baht one way...

overall the staff was pleasant and we didn't have many complains.... we took a lot of guidance from the concierge and it really helped us to roam around in koh samui...

to summarize, baring the beach area, i would highly recommend this resort for people travelling in koh samui... the sheer view from its reception area makes the money worth spending for this property...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nakul13385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Nakul13385

Thank you very much for the fabulous review; we really appreciate you taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our iconic resort. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the spectacular views, the spacious room and the signature cuisine. Regarding the beachfront, we do strive to maintain our beach area in pristine conditions; however with the low tides and eco-corals, it could be a somewhat unpredictable. However we offer our pier with a ladder to access deeper waters.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will even more pleasant that your previous one.

Warm regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

As others have said the hotel is just gorgeous and the views are stunning. The beach is good as well.

We really enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast is sumptuous. I disagree with the poster down below, the room is perfectly okay to get your food from and then enjoy it outside.

Our stay was only soured when we came to pay the bill. They had included the mini-bar drinks on the bill even though we were Royal Ambassadors.

The Thai manageress tried to say that the minitures of spirits were not part of the freebar. I know this is not true (and I was pretty sure she knew she wasn't telling the truth either). Only the wine cellar in the room is not included and there is even a notice stating that.

She proceeded to say she had rang head office and that they confirmed that her version was true (a blatent lie).

She thought she could bluff us, but we stood our ground we smiled pleasantly and my boyfriend pulled out his phone and said he would dial head office and get to the bottom of this. She didn't like that! And said no need "She would call them" and then scurried into her office, where she probably tapped her foot for a couple of minutes and then came out and said we were right.

Truly a pathetic pantomine. The rest of the staff were very pleasant and we would recommend anyone else to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RinKoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The place was great, all rooms facing the seaview, the layout is nice, the furniture and the interior design was great, a very pleasant place for holiday.
However, the staff desperately needed to be trained, here are a few problems we were upset about:
1. We went to play tennis, and the staff sent us down to the court by the buggy (somehow the tennis courts were out of the resort area), the staff knew we were going to play for 1 hour, but after 1 hour, no one around at all and we were stuck at middle of nowhere, after we waited for 20 mins, we decided to call the lobby (via roaming) and ask for a buggy, but it took another 10 mins for the buggy to come down and without apologising.

2. I was having tummy upset and asking for some medicine, it took them 25 mins to send the medicine to my room, and actually they brought some paracetamol, so we asked if they have anything for tummy upset, and after that it took another 20 mins to bring down another type of medicine, they were just way too slow...

3. It happened many times nobody answered the phone when i called up the concierge, it's just unbelievable for a 5- star hotel, and when I had some basic enquires, some staff just don't know how to answer, which reflects the hotel training was not enough. And their roles are kind of a mess e.g. the reception staff suddenly went to drive the buggy etc...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessiekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Jessiekan

Thank you for your great review; we very much appreciate you taking time to provide feedback following your stay at InterContinental Samui. We have taken well note of some of the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and shared with our respective teams for proactive remedial action.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you are planning to visit us in the future and I will be glad to meet you personally to make sure that this time, you will have the signature InterContinental experience you deserve.

Sincerely your
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews