We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden little gem !”

I-Talay Beach Bar & Cottages at Taling Ngam
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is located on the remote TALING NGAM BEACH -- very quiet, peaceful, surrounded with green nature, and a good spot to watch the sunset. All day local food and varieties of drinks are available to all visitors.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

It's quite surprising to find this restaurant / beach terrasse / massage / Private boat tripes combo on the nice Taling Ngam beach. More incredible, the food is amazing made of nice fresh
products to compose a remarkable experience. Don't tell anyone, we've eaten our finest pizzas in years !! The snappers and seafood are also to be highlighted. So, a pretty nice discovery for one who wants to switch from his resort usual menus...

Helpful?
Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    110
    33
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Went here for lunch and the food wasn't great if I'm being honest. The prawns didn't taste fresh, so we didn't return. Service wasn't the best either.

The young coconuts for 70bht each were fantastic though. They will even do them for takeaway complete with a bag and straw!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank portex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchit, Owner at I-Talay Beach Bar & Cottages at Taling Ngam, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Portex,

Thank you very much fr kindly visited us and also put your comment on it, It pretty much help us to know which one we need to improve and also which one we need to stay keep it. The comment was very much help and talk to staff what are wrong. Actually we went every morning to get all supplier and also Seafood from fresh market who they catch from last night or early same morning,,,,but if some point miss with from our check then we are highly to say sorry for cause happen and we will more double check for all suppliers and seafood we take from market. The service as well we tried to serve with warm welcome at our place.

Look forward to welcome all your back again in near future.

I=Talay team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just wonderful staff and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The best food ever and staff so lovely, and excellent value for money! We even availed of the onsite Thai massage facilities, stunning views and right on the beach

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenO114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We visited this place 3 times while staying at the Intercontinental. The food is a fraction of the price and it is very good. Try the white snapper with chili, basil and lime. It doesn't look much, but it is a quaint little beach place with friendly staff and great cocktails. It is a 5 minute walk up the beach from the hotel and it is well worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NiniBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I talay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place. We had good food. Beach is beautyfull and water is clean...

Staff is nice but very poor english and quite slow.

Helpful?
1 Thank Slavko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchit, Owner at I-Talay Beach Bar & Cottages at Taling Ngam, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Slavko C,
It was very pleased to hosted you at I-Talay during stay in Samui. We thank you a good review and also comment as our service quite slow and staff limited in English. As we are locally restaurant and also most of staff we use from local closed by to support local life...therefore the limited communication is happen...however, we will work on this point to improve it...

Thank you and look to welcome you again for future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I-Talay Beach Bar & Cottages at Taling Ngam also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
 

Been to I-Talay Beach Bar & Cottages at Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing