We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Simply a Real Joy!”
Review of The Five Islands

The Five Islands
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $99
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite Simply a Real Joy!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We dined at Five Islands three times during our 3 week visit to Koh Samui!

The menu is great - and between us we got to try out a good number of the dishes - but what's really special is that you can dine on the beach - a real haven - which you can also use all day.

Colin is a great host and the staff are all brilliant.

We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripleredline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    120
    43
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful restaurant in a romantic quiet part of Samui”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had just been out of the Elephant Trekking spot and were really hungry and lo and behold our driver got us to this beautiful restaurant "The Five Islands" on the beach in the Taling Ngam area.

The ambience was just fantastic and this restaurant was the only thing on the beach. The food was equally great and the staff was prompt with the service. The prices were definitely on the higher side, but i guess with a property like this they are certainly going to charge the premium. All in all a great place to have lunch and possibly a romantic dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last of old Samui”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great to find this place in a quiet spot with a nice beach and view. We spent a few days here travelling an hour from our accommodation to enjoy the piece and quiet and good food. No problem with the service and food was of good quality.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bangalorebob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service...”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

So disappointing to be writing this review, the venue overlooking the ocean is outstanding, as was watching the sunset, this was about all the positives I can say... Food was quite good quality, not 4 star and menu a bit tired. The waiter, totally hopeless, every order was stuffed up, so were many tables around us, no cutlery for 10 minutes, we had to walk to the bar twice to order our drinks. The soft shell crab was tasty which my partner had, I ordered the pork, which was meant to come with vegetables, it was pork on the plate in gravy, nothing else, when I asked the waiter, he looked blankly and walked away, I guess I knew I was only having pork for dinner! Don't waste your $ on a taxi, the sunset is not worth 2000bht return from Chewang Beach... Try RockPool instead!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodesinclermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best dinner with a view ever”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The restaurant is located on the beach in a corner of the island of Koh Samui, overlooking the western sea as the sun sets. The food was high quality, the staff was quick, and they had a pretty good selection of wines. But the thing which puts this place over the top was the view that came with everything. Get there for dinner around 5:30, order drinks and your food, and sit back for the view. We were staying at a hotel ~10 minutes away, and the restaurant sent a car to pick us up and drop us off, which was greatly appreciated!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Five Islands also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Five Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing