We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Reviewed December 7, 2008

We originally booked into the Coconut Villa Resort for one night just to be sure that it was what we wanted when we arrived at Koh Samui. It turned out to be absolutely perfect!

The villa is situated in a beautiful, quiet and unspoilt part of the island (south west corner), just right for people who really want to experience a tropical island without the commercialism.

The tranquil and beautiful setting is complemented by a resort that is sculptured so well with the landscape - it is well appointed and allows you to indulge all the senses while at the same time not being pretentious and self conscious.

Best of all are the staff who are delightful and helpful. We were made to feel welcome in every way, so much so that each night we came back to the resort we felt that we had come home again.

This resort is perfect for people who want a quiet and beautiful base from which to explore the many highlights of the island and then return to its charms and warmth. If you are up to hiring a motorbike (which we did for the first time) then its more remote situation is no draw back. Alternatively a taxi will do the job but it's nowhere near as much fun!

Needless to say we stayed the full 8 nights we spent on the island at the Coconut Villa. No doubt there are many other fine places to stay but if you want a wonderful experience with great food, rooms, service, swimming, massage facilities and a sense of peaceful timelessness then this is the place for you. Oh, and it's also very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dasima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 560 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at Coconut from 1/Sep for 3 nights in Poolview Deluxe. At first we were very warm welcomed by the friendly staff, my upset feeling by the bad mood and unfriendly receptionist at Samui Jasmine hotel were totally faded away!

The hotel is trendy and fashionable as in the pictures on their website.

The Poolview Deluxe is facing to the pool and you can directly enter the pool from your terrace. We love our terrace very much, and spent whole day there. The water in the pool was always fresh and cool, and the pool was totally private for us because very few guests were staying at that time. Somehow most of the guests prefer to stay at another pool, so we could enjoy a serene and gorgeous time at the pool.

Coconut villa is surrounded by peaceful nature. It is totally different from Chaweng or Lamai beach where a lot of annoying people are hanging around. The beach is quite white and beautiful. It is absolute private beach. The view from the beach was stunning. You can see several islands that have beautiful white sandbeaches.

If you drive around by bike, you can see real friendly Thai people. The children are waving hands with a smile, old women are still wearing traditional clothes.

The restaurant at Coconut is not so gorgeous but reasonably priced and the staaf is very polite. (They are totally different Thai people than Samui Jasmine's staff!)

The spa staffs are also very polite and have very good massage technique. They always gave us massage much longer than the mentioned time.

We can't wait to go back to Coconut next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lionheartNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We found this property by chance: driving around in a rental jeep we got thirsty so we stopped at the only hotel in a beautiful little bay.

We liked it so much we returned the next day with our luggage and stayed for 3 nights.

Coconut Villa is remote... there is nothing in the neighbourhood but if you're looking for a quiet idyllic retreat you don't need anything else.

There are 6 bungalows which I think personally are the best option. They consist of 1 double bed, nighttable with lamps, large closet, minibar, TV, electronic safe and many lights to create moodlighting !
Nice terrace but no privacy.

Bathroom is very big and white: bath with jacuzzi, separate rainshower and WC. Shampoo, soap and many towels are provided. Only nr 1 has full seaview (even from the bed)!

The main building is divided in 2: thus creating 2 rows of rooms with a swimming pool in between. Ground floor rooms have a nice terrace, 1st floor have balcony. No jacuzzi in the bath.

Breakfast: during low season there is limited choice of continental, American (+ eggs and bacon) or asian breakfast.
Fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit of the season, toast, butter, jam, tea/ coffee.
During high season a buffet breakfast is spread out (they say).

We enjoyed the dinners too, prices are reasonable but the menu is a bit limited - you would get bored after a week.
What I liked was that if you ordered Thai food they ask if you like it spicy or not and actually adapted the use of chillies to our request.
There are some restaurants located in other bays that have pick up and drop off service, reception is happy to make reservations for you.

Staff is very friendly but there is a language problem, don't aks for anything that's not on the menu/ drinks card...
There was only one guy who spoke English really really well (he worked in the UK)

If you like swimming in the sea this area will be a dissapointment, only after about 1 km you will find water...There is a nice stretch of beach that you can walk for kms. but because it's not touristy it doesn't get cleaned so you will find some rubbish between the shells.
The clean swimming pools make up for it though !!!

The views are beautiful: there are 5 islands off the coast and you can actually kajak (free of charge) or take a motorised boat (paying) to the closer one.

2 computers available, internet with paycard (which you can buy in the hotel and use in any other internetcafé).

We rented a motorbike via reception which cost us 300 baht and was delivered with a flat tyre...or you can call for a taxi...it's easier if you arrive with your own wheels.

I would recommend this hotel for any traveller seeking some quiet and peace (especially during low season).

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertroseBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: เหมือนๆกัน ตึก 2 ชั้น ชั้นล่างติดสระ แล้วแต่ชอบ
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank _U1460MZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCBS, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 422anetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCBS, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fusee1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCBS, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Choississez une chambre en bas avec accès direct à la piscine
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Annick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCBS, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
5.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,661 reviews
11.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
465 reviews
11.5 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
8.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
8.9 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui

Address: 114/1 Moo 4 Thanon Taling-ngam, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: $19 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint beach resort on the secluded beach of Thong Tanote, on the south-western tip of Koh Samui, Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui enjoys a quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of Koh Samui. With island vistas, natural surroundings, a private beach dotted with coconut trees, a beautiful spa, a fitness centre, and two swimming pools, this intimately-sized resort is perfect for a no-thrill beach getaway. The resort also offers easy access to the islands of Koh Tan and Koh Mutsum for snorkelling, kayaking, and opportunities to discover the island such as trekking. With only 54 spacious rooms and villas ranging from 44 to 63 square metres of total living space, the resort offers privacy along good views over the pool or the beach. Guests can enjoy the option of staying in a room with direct pool access while each villa features an indoor Jacuzzi and a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort, and there’s also an all-day dining restaurant and a bar. A scheduled shuttle service connects Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui with Lamai Beach, a 30-minute drive away, and Chaweng Beach. Nathon Pier, with ferries to and from the mainland, is reached in about 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Villa Hotel Koh Samui
Coconut Villa Resort And Spa
Coconut Hotel Koh Samui
Centra By Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Taling Ngam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing