We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Having stayed here for the last 7 days before moving on to Khao Lak, I can honestly say this hotel is a little slice of total relaxation. The hotel itself is small but has everything you would expect to relax your days away. 2 swimming pools, fitness centre, swim up rooms, seperate bungalows, a lovely restaurant and a small, well kept, beach.

In relation to the rooms, we stayed in a swim up room where you walk out on to your patio and can access the big pool from there. The rooms are well kept, spacious, have tv and dvd player, free wifi, seperate shower and bath, air con and a huge king bed. The staff do an excellent job at keeping rooms clean and providing fresh towels including beach towels. Water is provided free each day and the mini bar is relatively inexpensive for coke etc.

The restaurant is lovely. A mixture of Thai, European or Pizza etc. Being in Thailand, I resorted to Thai each day and cannot fault the taste or presentation of the food. All the restaurant staff were fantastic as were all of the reception staff too. Having gone half board with Thomson, you can pick any starter, main meal with rice / noodles etc and dessert for your evening meal. I highly recommend the Coconut Appetiser which has nothing to do with coconuts but gives you a taster of Thai.

The pool and pool area is spotless and very refreshing when looking to cool down from the sun. Loungers are provided at the pool and on the beach and staff will bring any orders out to you.

The only point to really consider regarding this resort is that it is in the middle of no-where. This is what we wanted as it truely does provide total relaxation. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to 2 major towns but, other than this, there is not very much to do and I wouldn't recommend it if you have children. That said, if you are looking total relaxation in paradise then look no further - well worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1980_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcbs, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear David1980_07,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay at Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.


Yours sincerely,

John

Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    211
    72
    23
    23
See reviews for
75
259
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, Fife
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just finishing off a week stay here as week 1 of a Thomson twin break - next stop is Khao Lak. Centra has more than met our expectations and has been pretty much as described by many other happy visitors. It meets the Thomson 3T criteria well and we would emphasise this is definitely a resort for those wanting peace and quite, which we did (as we had a younger pair - mid-20's something - move after 1 night as it was too quite..!). We have been more than happy with the quality of service, rooms which have been pristine clean and kept that way with daily towelling for both the room and the beach provided (if you don't stick to the environmentally friendly policy). We have been on half-board: buffet breakfast with ample to choose from on the large daily menu ranging from UK to med to Thai cuisine so no excuses for the picky eaters. We have had no issues with the range and quantity of alcohol in the cocktails. The hotel also offers a daily free bus alternating between Chaweng beach and Lamai beach with an evening service also available. There is a small gym consisting of free weights and modern treadmill, x-trainer and bike all in perfect working condition. Relax afterwards at the spa with a real Thai massage. Otherwise you need to make your own entertainment here or just relax! More than happy to stay here again - be wary of the transfers - we arrived from the UK and as going direct to Koh Samui needed to wait on an internal flight - it was only a 2 hour wait but if you had any delays if could have been the next one, 6 hours later (not much to do at the airport) so think about this before booking. Big thumbs up for the hotel and staff with special mention to our waiter Kai who has been attentive all week. Lets hope the Mariott matches up next week!

Room Tip: If trying to trim costs - not sure you really need to pay the extra for a swim up room as the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmcconville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcbs, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Kmcconville,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John
Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

stayed for 5 nights 15th to 20th november 2013 on our honeymoon absolutly beautiful amazing place. only thing i would say is you need a car the hotel is out of the way . we had a car and drove around samui lots to see and do would go back in a shot ... Mr and Mrs R Gallacher

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallacher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcbs, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Gallacher2013,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.


Yours sincerely,

John

Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick 2 night stay away from our home in Bangkok. Exactly what we wanted clean well serviced room, helpful staff, lovely pool and private beach!

We only had fruit smoothies and a club sandwich from the restaurant but they were good.

Reception staff were very helpful with taxis and and any island information.

Quiet location suited us an we took taxis out and about. It's about 20 min to Lamai - with plenty of food and drink options. Chewang probably is the place to party and a bit far - 45 mins and 800-1000bht.

Will recommend to friends and family!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeanneBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcbs, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear LeanneBlake,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay at Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.


Yours sincerely,

John


Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Centra Coconut beach resort for 6 nights, during our Honeymoon in Thailand. It was an absolutely amazing experience!! The staff were fantastic, we got exceptionally good service. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast every morning with a beautiful view over the ocean. We stayed in a deluxe villa, we were close to all the facilities of the resort, which was wonderful for us. Our room was cleaned daily and they replaced our towels daily. We could live there forever, it was so peaceful. The resort offers a daily shuttle to Lamai and Chaweng at no additional charge, which was great for us. The pool's are extremely clean, chrystal blue!! The restaurant staff were extremely friendly. The night before we checked out, we got a going away present. The staff gave us a paper lantern and helped us to send it off into the night sky. We loved it all! I would recommend this resort as a first option for all travellers going through Koh Samui, it is really beautiful.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view villa is the best positioned, closest to the ocean Deluxe villa is also very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 948AnnaMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcbs, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear 948AnnaMare,

Very nice to hear from you that you are very happy during your stay with us, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay at Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.


Yours sincerely,

Khajohn W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night. Staff we excellent.. Very friendly, always smiling. Food was very good, but don't leave your food unattended as the local birds are cheeky and fast. Location was wonderful, right on a very quiet beach with very calm water and plenty of shore to stroll along and catch a glimpse of the sunset around the corner. Room was immaculate with a good shower, balcony overlooking the long pool, safe, tv, very comfortable bed. Would happily stay again.

Actually there are two pools here... We sadly didn't use either! They looked clean and beautiful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcbs, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Stratcat11,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay at Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all Department Heads concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.


Yours sincerely,

Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed mid September 13, the hotel was very quiet which was what we were expecting so was perfect for relaxation, we hired a car so could easily tour around the island when the clouds came over. We had beach front villa which was a lovely location with great views. The room was nice and cleaned daily, although we always seemed to be last in line so the cleaners never really got round to us until about 4pm. I really think to make the room that extra bit special it could do with a furniture update, it did look a bit worn.
I found the restaurant to be good, the meals were always well presented and tasted lovely, I've read some of the other reviews saying the food wasn't too good, the choice was a little limited but otherwise great.
The sea was shallow for quite a long way out but with sandals you can easily walk to the edge of the reef. The kayaks were also really useful and were easy to use even in the shallow area.
As has been previously reviewed there were two very friendly dogs who slept on our veranda every night we were there, I'm sure they get plenty of treats but still look a bit skinny, we fed them each day, were sad to leave them but I'm sure they're fine.
My one complaint would be, we were leaving about 4am for the airport, at midnight the air conditioning switched off, I did complain about this as I felt I had paid up until the moment we left. I would make sure you are not in the same position when staying at the hotel as I ended up without sleep for the night and the 26 hour journey home.
To summarise, if your looking for a quiet time on the beach with friendly staff and dogs, this is the place to visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcbs, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Paul S,


On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay at Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

We have taken a good note of your comments regarding the service quality from Engineering department regarding to Air condition and would like to assure you that appropriate action will be taken to remedy, where necessary, the problems which you have highlighted. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Apart from the points that you rightfully mentioned, we hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
5.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,588 reviews
11.5 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#46 of 187 in Bophut
1,519 reviews
4.5 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
14.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
10.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Address: 114/1 Moo 4 Thanon Taling-ngam, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint beach resort on the secluded beach of Thong Tanote, on the south-western tip of Koh Samui, Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui enjoys a quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of Koh Samui. With island vistas, natural surroundings, a private beach dotted with coconut trees, a beautiful spa, a fitness centre, and two swimming pools, this intimately-sized resort is perfect for a no-thrill beach getaway. The resort also offers easy access to the islands of Koh Tan and Koh Mutsum for snorkelling, kayaking, and opportunities to discover the island such as trekking. With only 54 spacious rooms and villas ranging from 44 to 63 square metres of total living space, the resort offers privacy along good views over the pool or the beach. Guests can enjoy the option of staying in a room with direct pool access while each villa features an indoor Jacuzzi and a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort, and there’s also an all-day dining restaurant and a bar. A scheduled shuttle service connects Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui with Lamai Beach, a 30-minute drive away, and Chaweng Beach. Nathon Pier, with ferries to and from the mainland, is reached in about 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Villa Hotel Koh Samui
Coconut Villa Resort And Spa
Coconut Hotel Koh Samui
Centra By Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Taling Ngam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing