We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever been to!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballindalloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cragganmore House B & B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at Cragganmore as it is on the Speyside way, which we were walking for our honeymoon. From the moment we were greeted as we walked up the driveway and saw the beautiful house I knew we had found somewhere special. The owners have put their heart and soul (and a considerable amount of money) into restoring this old country house back to it's Victorian elegance. Their attention to detail is amazing. The room we stayed in had its own turret which contained a small sitting area with a radio/CD player, magazines etc- perfect for relaxing with a cup of tea and shortbread while we rested our weary feet after a good days walk. The fluffy dressing gowns provided after the hot bubbly bath were much appreciated as we were travelling very light with only a small rucksac.
We accepted the offer of an evening meal as there is no where else in walking distance. This turned out to be the most unexpected pleasure as the owner is not only a proffessional chef but makes every thing himself from smoking his own salmon for the starter, right through to making the after-dinner chocolates! The combined experience of a wonderful house, fantastic food and the most aimiable but discreet hosts made this truely the best Band B we have ever stayed in. If you like to get away from it all, love good food and old houses, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theoldhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2008

A beautiful home with great food and friendly and helpful, yet inobtrusive, hosts. The bathroom is shared if you have issues with that, but it's an amazing bathroom! Huge and fantastically appointed....a great soak after a hard walk on the Speyside Way from Grantown. I stayed an extra day and treated myself to a magnificent dinner from Tony. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tropopause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

We booked Cragganmore House because my husband's ancestors once lived on the land where the house now stands, and because it looked like a beautiful and interesting place to stay for a couple of days. We were not disappointed - we had the house to ourselves and received excellent, unobtrusive yet personal attention from our hosts Helen and Tony. The house is about 140 years old and has been lovingly restored by the owners, using original materials and techniques where possible, and is full of Victorian-era furnishings along with modern conveniences. On arrival, after settling in, we were served tea, coffee and biscuits in the sitting room, where a bright fire was burning, and lovely comfy armchairs nestled with occasional tables and piles of books. Our room had views in two directions - over the surrounding fields to the river valley, and out to the whisky distillery right next door (the house was built by the distillery founder). We had two dinners at Cragganmore House, cooked by Tony who is a professional chef, and they were spectacularly good, making use of delicious, fresh local produce. Breakfasts were big, plenty of choices of hot food as well as cereals etc. and were easily enough to see us right through to the early afternoon.
We loved our short stay at Cragganmore House and would not hesitate to go back again. THere are three big guest bedrooms/suites, as well as the large dining and sitting rooms downstairs that are available to guests. The hosts will happily show you around the rest of the house on request.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fruitylexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

Everything about this place is perfect - great views, amazing old house with lots of character, open fires, seriously wonderful food, and very friendly and down-to-earth hosts. The rooms are large and there is a guest lounge with plenty of games. The owners even did a bit of laundry for us without charging for it. We only spent one night here (we were walking the Speyside Way) and were very sorry to leave - we'll definitely be back though!

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Bath_UKSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank masatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank skemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank Rudi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cragganmore House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragganmore House B & B

Address: Cragganmore, Ballindalloch AB37 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Ballindalloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballindalloch
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to a step back in time to how the house would have been in the time of John Smith, founder of Cragganmore Distillery and former owner of Cragganmore House. With quality and comfort in mind but in the Victorian style. Convenient for many outdoor activities, walking, fishing, cycling, shooting and skiing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing