We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballindalloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cragganmore House B & B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just go to this guest house. It's smashing! You will love it. Tony and Helen have created a comfortable relaxing atmosphere that will make you want to stay. Dinner is a must. Breakfast is great. I want to go back already. Absolutely the best place we stayed on our Scotland trip.

Room Tip: Book early if you want an en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsymaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 125 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are regular visitors at the Cragganmore B&B. We can't rate them high enough. No sooner are we through the door on arrival and we are offered coffee and biscuits not to mention the hors d'ouvres. We have had the pleasure of staying in each of the rooms during our various stays and each one is unique, the hospitality special and the food exceptional, especially the presentation. Can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The other reviewers say it all. This place is very special, from the welcoming hosts to the lovely house to the incredible dinner (and breakfast). We even got to stay in the turret room, with a gigantic long bathtub, the first in my life where I can stretch out and not touch the ends. Tony and Helen were gracious and attentive, even to the point of helping us change our travel plans at our next stop in a nearby village. It's worth going out of the way to stay here. And try to book the turret room, it's very cool.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed one night at Cragganmore. The rooms were comfortable with original features but also all mod cons (not sure about Wi-Fi as I didn't try and login). On arrival we were served tea in the sitting room and were made to feel very welcome by the owners, Tony and Helen. Our three course evening meal was excellent and faultless - if you get the chance to stay there take this option too - you won't be disappointed. The only thing you need to do is take a bottle of wine. The breakfast was good too.
If you are in that part of the world it is definitely worth staying here and if you are walking the Speyside Way you won't be disappointed by this oasis in the mist.

Room Tip: The room with the turret is great and also has a huge original bath in the en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Weary_Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here one night whilst walking The Speyside Way.
Warm welcome from Helen the owner, though we weren't offered the customary tea and biscuits! There were tea making facilities in the room though.
The house is decorated and furnished in the period so is quite interesting. Our room was spacious and warm. We were tired from the walking so didn't feel we would appreciate the high cuisine dinner [which was expensive] so we were given plates to eat our 'pies'.
Good nights sleep and an excellent breakfast.
Helen was very helpful in arranging some luggage transfer for us and also an early morning tour of the nearby distillery. Thanks.
This place would be much better appreciated on a couple of days stay to take in the ambiance of the house and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A classic victorian country house, with many original features, and beautifully restored / decorated by the owners. Our room - the Turret Room - was magnificent, with it's own turret and a fabulous cast iron bath. The evening meal was delicious, our host obviously being a first class chef. Do take your own bottle of wine though, as they are not licensed. Breakfast was equally enjoyable. We will certainly go back if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: The Turret Room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th time here and things are just as perfect as ever. Tony and Helen are the perfect hosts in this beautiful, period-furnished and decorated country house. You never feel like an anonymous customer here - everyone is welcomed into Tony and Helen's home as a true guest and friend. The worries of the world seem to melt away as you settle in front of the fire in the drawing room with a vast selection of books, magazines and papers to mull over. Tony is a first-class chef and the food presented is superb in every respect, as are the rooms which Helen's pains-taking research and eye for detail ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. Whether you stay here as a walker on The Speyside Way, a fisherman, huntsman, cyclist, Whisky enthusiast or foodie, you WILL want to return very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesGodbehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballindalloch
7.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
254 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
764 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Highlander Inn
Highlander Inn
#4 of 5 in Craigellachie
233 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 6 in Aberlour
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragganmore House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragganmore House B & B

Address: Cragganmore, Ballindalloch AB37 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Ballindalloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballindalloch
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to a step back in time to how the house would have been in the time of John Smith, founder of Cragganmore Distillery and former owner of Cragganmore House. With quality and comfort in mind but in the Victorian style. Convenient for many outdoor activities, walking, fishing, cycling, shooting and skiing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing