We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful country house accomodation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cragganmore House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballindalloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cragganmore House B & B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Beautiful country house accomodation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here one night whilst walking The Speyside Way.
Warm welcome from Helen the owner, though we weren't offered the customary tea and biscuits! There were tea making facilities in the room though.
The house is decorated and furnished in the period so is quite interesting. Our room was spacious and warm. We were tired from the walking so didn't feel we would appreciate the high cuisine dinner [which was expensive] so we were given plates to eat our 'pies'.
Good nights sleep and an excellent breakfast.
Helen was very helpful in arranging some luggage transfer for us and also an early morning tour of the nearby distillery. Thanks.
This place would be much better appreciated on a couple of days stay to take in the ambiance of the house and surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
W Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

A classic victorian country house, with many original features, and beautifully restored / decorated by the owners. Our room - the Turret Room - was magnificent, with it's own turret and a fabulous cast iron bath. The evening meal was delicious, our host obviously being a first class chef. Do take your own bottle of wine though, as they are not licensed. Breakfast was equally enjoyable. We will certainly go back if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: The Turret Room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th time here and things are just as perfect as ever. Tony and Helen are the perfect hosts in this beautiful, period-furnished and decorated country house. You never feel like an anonymous customer here - everyone is welcomed into Tony and Helen's home as a true guest and friend. The worries of the world seem to melt away as you settle in front of the fire in the drawing room with a vast selection of books, magazines and papers to mull over. Tony is a first-class chef and the food presented is superb in every respect, as are the rooms which Helen's pains-taking research and eye for detail ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. Whether you stay here as a walker on The Speyside Way, a fisherman, huntsman, cyclist, Whisky enthusiast or foodie, you WILL want to return very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesGodbehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

An old distillery owner's house, lovingly restored by Helen and Tony, the current proprietors of this B&B right on the Speyside way. Helen has created a charming Victorian ambience.
Full of antiques, with real fires in the sitting room and the dining room, the atmosphere and facilities are very much those of a traditional country house. We've stayed in the red room twice, and find the bed extremely comfortable. The room is warm, has a small flat-screen TV and a shower. The turret room is also delightful. There is complimentary Wi-Fi.
We heard but didn't see a dog, the cat was around. There are ducks and chickens roaming outside - the eggs served at breakfast are delicious, as are the home grown vegetables and home smoked meats and fish.
Tony is a "proper" professional chef, and the food is accomplished and plentiful. Tony is very willing to discuss menu options, and I'm sure would be happy to accommodate any particular dietary requirements. He also offers "kitchen days" where he demonstrates his culinary techniques. Bring your own wine.
Both Helen and Tony are very helpful and make you feel completely at home (or possibly slightly more comfortable!). There is a drying room, and wet walking gear is whisked away from the entrance hall to the drying room and returned in the morning.
I've stayed 3 times now, and am already looking for an excuse to make it 4 :-)

Room Tip: Red room has double and one single bed, with en-suite shower Turret room has very elegant feel, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneyedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

clean comfy roam, very plesant hosts and the food was second to none, i had smoked salmon, followed by fillet steak, finished with an almond and apple slice. I only stayed one night, in the red room. The speyside way walk is practically on the doorstep, well worth a look, very senic.

Room Tip: Remember to take your own drinks as they do not have a licence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rstrachan80023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlivet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a lovely evening last night. Tony and Helen and staff at the Cragganmore House B&B put on a wonderful five course New Years Eve Dinner. Tony has got a growing fan club now for his fantastic skills in the kitchen and last night was no exception. We went as a party of six with two dietary "complications" in the party. No fuss and they both praised their substitutions - delivered with the same style and attention to detail as the main menu, and with no fuss.

While we didn't stay there last night, we are no strangers to Helen and Tony's home. Their passion for preservation, shows. Their years of restoring this house has made it a welcoming, relaxed and "unstuffy" accommodation. If you are expecting boutique style or a faceless chain hotel then you're in the wrong place. However if you enjoy a welcome to a home with lots of character, plenty of history and rooms individually furnished and restored with original fixtures and fittings - even their bathrooms - then you won't be disappointed.

Sixteen people were seated for a New Years Eve dinner - around a warm cosy festive table by the roaring fire. All different parties and there for different reasons - but all got along fantastically well. The food was, as always, beautiful. Quite a feast! No big knees up, simply elegant dining among friends. Like having your own supper party in a very lovely period home. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The Turret Room is lovely - large and full of character and an en suite bathroom which probably has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GallowhillLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Initial thoughts were oh my god this is dated then the waft of dogs in the hallway. Went upstairs to view the room no on suite. Took the room as i was very tired, didn't sleep a wink as i seemed to be sleeping with blue bottles and flys. killed numerous but more kept coming. In November. Hence only stayed the one night. Never slept very well as no keys given for the room doors. Rooms were clean though and tiny portable tv's. Owners were very accommodating but breakfasts weren't still hungry afterwards. SORRY

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcefc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballindalloch
7.1 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
9.3 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragganmore House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragganmore House B & B

Property: Cragganmore House B & B
Address: Cragganmore, Ballindalloch AB37 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Ballindalloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballindalloch
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing