We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian country house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballindalloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cragganmore House B & B
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Victorian country house”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

An old distillery owner's house, lovingly restored by Helen and Tony, the current proprietors of this B&B right on the Speyside way. Helen has created a charming Victorian ambience.
Full of antiques, with real fires in the sitting room and the dining room, the atmosphere and facilities are very much those of a traditional country house. We've stayed in the red room twice, and find the bed extremely comfortable. The room is warm, has a small flat-screen TV and a shower. The turret room is also delightful. There is complimentary Wi-Fi.
We heard but didn't see a dog, the cat was around. There are ducks and chickens roaming outside - the eggs served at breakfast are delicious, as are the home grown vegetables and home smoked meats and fish.
Tony is a "proper" professional chef, and the food is accomplished and plentiful. Tony is very willing to discuss menu options, and I'm sure would be happy to accommodate any particular dietary requirements. He also offers "kitchen days" where he demonstrates his culinary techniques. Bring your own wine.
Both Helen and Tony are very helpful and make you feel completely at home (or possibly slightly more comfortable!). There is a drying room, and wet walking gear is whisked away from the entrance hall to the drying room and returned in the morning.
I've stayed 3 times now, and am already looking for an excuse to make it 4 :-)

Room Tip: Red room has double and one single bed, with en-suite shower Turret room has very elegant feel, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneyedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

clean comfy roam, very plesant hosts and the food was second to none, i had smoked salmon, followed by fillet steak, finished with an almond and apple slice. I only stayed one night, in the red room. The speyside way walk is practically on the doorstep, well worth a look, very senic.

Room Tip: Remember to take your own drinks as they do not have a licence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstrachan80023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlivet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a lovely evening last night. Tony and Helen and staff at the Cragganmore House B&B put on a wonderful five course New Years Eve Dinner. Tony has got a growing fan club now for his fantastic skills in the kitchen and last night was no exception. We went as a party of six with two dietary "complications" in the party. No fuss and they both praised their substitutions - delivered with the same style and attention to detail as the main menu, and with no fuss.

While we didn't stay there last night, we are no strangers to Helen and Tony's home. Their passion for preservation, shows. Their years of restoring this house has made it a welcoming, relaxed and "unstuffy" accommodation. If you are expecting boutique style or a faceless chain hotel then you're in the wrong place. However if you enjoy a welcome to a home with lots of character, plenty of history and rooms individually furnished and restored with original fixtures and fittings - even their bathrooms - then you won't be disappointed.

Sixteen people were seated for a New Years Eve dinner - around a warm cosy festive table by the roaring fire. All different parties and there for different reasons - but all got along fantastically well. The food was, as always, beautiful. Quite a feast! No big knees up, simply elegant dining among friends. Like having your own supper party in a very lovely period home. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The Turret Room is lovely - large and full of character and an en suite bathroom which probably has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallowhillLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Initial thoughts were oh my god this is dated then the waft of dogs in the hallway. Went upstairs to view the room no on suite. Took the room as i was very tired, didn't sleep a wink as i seemed to be sleeping with blue bottles and flys. killed numerous but more kept coming. In November. Hence only stayed the one night. Never slept very well as no keys given for the room doors. Rooms were clean though and tiny portable tv's. Owners were very accommodating but breakfasts weren't still hungry afterwards. SORRY

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcefc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We staggered in at the end of a long and tiring day's walking from Grantown-on-Spey: rain, mud, marsh, awkward little gateways and cows. We were warmly welcomed by Tony, our wet and smelly boots were taken away to dry on the boiler, we caught a glimpse of a blazing fire in the sitting room as we were escorted upstairs to the elegantly furnished Turret Room which had several hot radiators and a gigantic bath. Dinner was a delight - sitting in the bay window of the dining room, we were served the most delicious meal by Helen and Tony, and began to feel less like travel-stained trekkers and more like the Laird and his Lady at home. The proprietors of certain Scottish hotels which boast of their so-called "fine dining" should be sent here to find out what the phrase means. And after dinner...... comfortable armchairs and that blazing fire. Breakfast of course was excellent. We can't wait to go back - and we'll stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We discovered Cragganmore House while walking the Speyside Way and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Tony and Helen were very welcoming, the beautiful house had great rooms and a really interesting collection of books and antiques. The cooking was superb, we will definitely be returning to stay at Cragganmore. Worth remembering they are not licensed so bring your own wine to enjoy with the meal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varies...
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A fabulous location, outstanding meals, generous and gracious hosts. And 100m from Cragganmore distillery. What more can you ask for? Bring your appetite although this is unlikely to be an issue if you are walking the Spey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 284Weary_traveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballindalloch
7.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
241 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
742 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
531 reviews
16.6 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
4.3 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 7 in Aberlour
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragganmore House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragganmore House B & B

Property: Cragganmore House B & B
Address: Cragganmore, Ballindalloch AB37 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Ballindalloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballindalloch
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to a step back in time to how the house would have been in the time of John Smith, founder of Cragganmore Distillery and former owner of Cragganmore House. With quality and comfort in mind but in the Victorian style. Convenient for many outdoor activities, walking, fishing, cycling, shooting and skiing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing