We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

Ballindalloch Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.21*
and up
Full-Day Speyside Castle and Whisky Tour from Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brixham, Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

A family Castle with a long history and links with Royal Families. In a beautiful setting and superbly maintained this is an excellent estate to visit with children.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    52
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Taken a few visitors to this castle and they have all enjoyed their visits. Compact and beautifully kept, with soem nice grounds to walk, flat or hilly types and at the top of these some very good views around.

Helpful?
Thank tonyb274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

On this occasion we only had time to visit the tearoom and gardens. Grounds are beautiful. Lovely to walk around and some great photos. Fabulous toilets. Have visited the castle in the past, and look forward to including it again on future visits.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dkvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well maintained”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The castle is amazing! Lady Claire has opened her family residence to the public and it is worth the trip. Among the treasures are a collection priceless Spanish artwork, beautiful porcelain, and memorabilia from the 22 generations that have lived in the house.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantown on spey scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just been to this castle today and was so impressed I had to tell people about it . I have been to castles before but have never seen one so looked after and cared for. The rooms are all spotless and decorated to such a high standard. The grounds are absolutely immaculate. I just wish the edges in my garden could be so nice. There is not a blade of grass out of place and the walled garden is a haven of peacefulness. Then there is the cafe. Beautiful home baking and when I asked for a recipe it was no bother to the staff to have a look for me. Really pleasant helpful staff too. There is a herd of aberdeen angus cows there too, they are just splendid. Definately recommend a vist. By the way the toilets are something else to speak about, Supberb so clean.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballindalloch Castle also viewed

 

Been to Ballindalloch Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing