We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”
Review of Upper Largo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Largo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Largo B&B and Inns
leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visiting friends and called in here on our way back to denhead,st.andrews,the food(price crunch menu) and service was first class.can recommend it. The price of drinks was quite cheap compared to other pub/restaurants I have been in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotthallLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    32
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
32
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My brother in law, nephew and I booked a table here after not visiting for few years as we had heard good things about the food.
Table was booked for 5:00pm on Sunday 4th Aug, and we strolled up from Lower Largo on a beautiful afternoon.
The car park was busy and the restaurant aprx' half full.
We were shown to our table and given menus, all three of them! Al a carte, Sunday roast special, and the Chefs Weekend Special. Drinks were ordered and we looked over the menus.
The Sunday Roast was fantastic value at only £10:95 and looking around the rest of the rest of the tables was obviously proving popular with holiday folks & locals alike.
This is where we went wrong!
We ordered from a mix if the menus and the food took 45 minutes to arrive!
My prawns in garlic and a herb sauce on rice was mediocre at best. The small prawns, all 5 of them, were ok but the rice was totally bland and I had to add salt, which I almost never do, to give it any sort of taste. If the sauce the prawns were cooked in had been poured into the dish it would have probably been fine. I then had pork belly with Stornaway black pudding and a duck egg. As there were no accompaniments we ordered fat chips & onion rings for sides, but when the food eventually arrived, a large dish of assorted veg appeared. Enough to feed a small army.
The black pudding & duck egg were fabulous, but the pork belly was cut thin, and as a result was tough and chewy at best. The accompanying sauce was in a small pouring pot but was too hot to pick up, and with a film over the sauce had probably been under a hot lamp for far too long?
My brother in law ordered lamb shank, was given lamb cutlets, but as they appeared ok accepted them as we had waited so long and said they were fine.
My nephew was impressed with the steak pie.
The waitresses were young and obviously very inexperienced but I must add very pleasant and tried to be helpful.
Didn't know what bottled or draught beers they had. Turned out two of each. But did know they served Pepsi as opposed to Coke.
I would suggest they should cut out at least one of the 3 menus, or even, on a Sunday, stick with the Sunday Roast, as it was obvious we threw the kitchen into disarray deviating from this.
We would go back, being prepared for a lengthy wait, and would probably stick to the Sunday Roast, if going on a Sunday?
Great value for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I feel it is only fair to The Buffalo Farms customers and our genuine trade customers to let you know the details of what happened visited Upper Largo Hotel yesterday evening. I received a phone call advising me that the Upper Largo Hotel was falsely advertising Puddledub Buffalo Burgers on their menu.

I can only speak for the burger that I was served which was categorically not a burger that we produce despite specifically ordering this and being told that it was farmed in Auchtertool. I also ordered an Aberdeen Angus Burger which appeared to be identical to the ‘Buffalo Burger’ that I was served. This sequence of events backed up exactly what I had been told would happen. I obviously questioned the Manager and the Proprietor and was told that this was a one off mistake and that they were in the process of changing their menu.

Following yesterday’s events we have had further communication from the Proprietor and they have provided various other explanations as they attempted to explain how they have continued to have our product on the menu despite not ordering from us for some considerable time, including advising me that they purchased burgers from a shop that doesn’t even stock our burgers. Being sceptical I find it difficult to understand why they would claim to purchase our burgers at full retail price when they had ordered from us previously and at that time negotiated very hard for a trade discount.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank TheBuffaloFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate on our last evening of a short break to the East Neuk of Fife and wished we had gone there every evening. The food was superb and at an unbelievably modest price. Service was also good. Venue was a lounge extended by a large conservatory. We were in the conservatory part which was the nicer area. It was obviously very popular among locals and we suspected that it was a regular eating place for many, and why should they go anywhere else when such good value can be found on their doorstep, lucky people!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donaldwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Four of us went for a meal here on 14-07-2013. I have to say the meal was exquisite. The menu has an excellent choice of fresh locally sourced products. They serve Stornaway black pudding too which if you have never tried I heartily recommend I had the King Scallops with black pudding which was mouth watering from the first bite to last. We also had fresh battered and breaded fish and a pork belly dish all of which were fantastic. portion size was generous and not over priced bar surroundings are homely and the staff attentive and friendly if you get the chance trveling up the east coast definitely pop in for a meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family eat at this restaurant at least once every couple of weeks. We love the value for money we get and the relaxed atmosphere. The food is always amazing. We would highly recommend to locals or tourists alike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J15KAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I are regular customers of The Upper Largo Hotel. In our many visits there, we have only ever found the service to be first class, the staff are welcoming and friendly as well as efficient and immaculate. The food is of a very high standard - especially considering the extremely low price. There is a sufficient "Price Crunch" menu to satisfy mostly anyone - but if you desire an alternative, there are many more mouth watering choices available. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largo
1.3 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
501 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
146 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
551 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
10.3 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Largo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Largo Hotel

Property: Upper Largo Hotel
Address: 4 Main Street | Upper Largo Near St.Andrews, Fife, Largo KY8 6EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Largo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the start of East Neuk of Fife, this charming 17th century Coaching Inn retains it's original features in the traditional public bar. The bright airy Conservatory Restaurant enjoys superb views over the Firth of Forth and the Lothians beyond. FOOD IS SERVED ALL DAY EVERY DAY!!! Our menus offer a great selection of dishes all freshly prepared using locally sourced produce from land and sea. All the food combines quality with affordability to suit every taste and budget. Function room & en-suite accommodation is available 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Upper Largo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing