We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by locals for a meal”
Review of Upper Largo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Largo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Largo B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommended by locals for a meal”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had been told by various neighbours the meals were good here so we tried them out and were not disappointed. We had the lunchtime menu which runs till 6.00pm and enjoyed all three courses and a bottle of wine which I found was imported by another local business in Milnathort. So no hesitation in recommending and if you get the view seats even better...watch the Firth of Forth and tuck in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenixives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great food, good price and a coating staff who shuffled a full house to allow us to eat, fab. Lastly, we even left a purse with hundreds of pounds in it which was not only kept safe but also handed back with security which we appreciated, highly recommend.

Thanks, lee & maureen.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My last stay at this hotel was last year and it was just as good as it has always been. We have stayed here many times as my daughter went to St. Andrews. The room has everything one needs, the bathroom is very small but it does the job. Very clean room and the room we stayed had lovely views of fields and sea. The restaurant is very, very good , friendly and helpful people. IWe have stayed at the old course many times but the difference in price is astronomical and if you are not going to play golf it is not worth it. If you are touring Scotland and you do not want to pay the high prices that St. Andrews has, this is a great option. I would stay here again and again. Good car park if you are travelling with your car. Very homely place, very welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasiaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markinch, Fife
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were recommended to eat out at this hotel by friends. We were not disappointed.
Large variety of courses listed in various menu formats. i.e. A La Carte, Three course lunch, High Tea and Three course Carvery. Three course meals were circa £9.50 and good value for money. The restaurant is situated with nice views over over the Firth of Forth, good parking facilities and comfortable restauant surroundings. The staff were attentive and pleasant throughout our two recent visits. Being local we have had no reason to stay here, but from the looks of the hotel, if I was on holiday, I would give this place a try.

Room Tip: This review was for the Restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bravehearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largo
1.3 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
524 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
151 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
9.8 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Largo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Largo Hotel

Property: Upper Largo Hotel
Address: 4 Main Street | Upper Largo Near St.Andrews, Fife, Largo KY8 6EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Largo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the start of East Neuk of Fife, this charming 17th century Coaching Inn retains it's original features in the traditional public bar. The bright airy Conservatory Restaurant enjoys superb views over the Firth of Forth and the Lothians beyond. FOOD IS SERVED ALL DAY EVERY DAY!!! Our menus offer a great selection of dishes all freshly prepared using locally sourced produce from land and sea. All the food combines quality with affordability to suit every taste and budget. Function room & en-suite accommodation is available 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Upper Largo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing