We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anglesey Arms(Menai Bridge)
$108
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rhianfa(Menai Bridge)
$195
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gazelle Hotel(Menai Bridge)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bangor Wales(Bangor)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
143
140
79
52
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
140
79
52
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarreg branbritannia bridgefull welsh breakfastlady on receptiontwin roomsunday lunchpublic areasbangor universitythree course mealevening mealgood nights sleepcomfy bedmain coursewarm welcomemenai straitsangleseywedding
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 456 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

After visiting Carreg Mon for lunch today I had to write and let you know that the renovations are looking superb!

Sunday lunch was served in one of their funky booths and was totally satisfying.

This well known Hotel really deserves a visit from anyone who has not yet seen the refurb.

The bar and dining area is warm, colourful and cheery (ideal on a wet sunday).

Lunch was as always possibly the best on the island with generous helpings and plenty of veg, as for dessert! The homemade cheesecakes are to die for.

We love it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very conveniently placed right by the Britannia bridge so that visitors can easily explore both Anglesey and North Wales. Hotel staff very helpful. A quiet restful place for the 7 days holiday we spent there - we are a retired couple in our 70 s . Very close to the excellent tourist information centre in Llanfair PG and to lots of interesting places including countryside, forest and beaches within easy reach. Off a little lane leading down through a little churchyard to the Menai Straits , wonderful views from there of Snowdonia and also there a statue commemorating Nelson. And - very good value for money !

Room Tip: No lift so ask for a room on the first floor to which there are only 10 steps - that is if stairs present any problem to you !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is subject to a lot of competition on the Island. Unattractive building, second rate hotel with management that really need to change their attitude. Much better choice on the Island and better value for money. If you are a discerning traveller, do not use this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Choosethebest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel was very welcoming with helpful staff. Just in Anglesea with easy access to the island and within easy reach of all the resorts in Nort Wales. Excellent breakfast - I had smoked haddock but my wife enjoyed the full Welsh. All staff were very pleasant in their presentation and polite to a fault.

Clean rooms and nice views of rabbits in the gardens in the morning. Only fault was a slight musty scent upon entering initially.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for a night on the 28 July as part of a wedding party , the hotel was easy to find.
The staff were very friendly and polite and nothing was too much problem, the room was clean and very tidy exactly what I expected as the bride and groom had let me know where to stay and the Hotel website plus other reviews sold it to me .
The wedding banquet was cooked in the hotel and the staff of Carreg Mon laid on a mouth watering spread that was perfect for everyone's taste .
After a night of dancing and fun and a good nights sleep it was time for the star of the show the welsh breakfast again catering for all tastes but for me the star was the welsh full fry breakie which definally hit the spot .
An excellent end to a lovely stay in Carreg Mon Llan PG.
Overall I recommend anyone to stay here and enjoy Welsh Isle Of Anglesey hospitality and scenery .
I am ( Cudds2 ) writing this review as Cudds is away in Eqypt :-)






you wish. Breakfast was cereals, yoghurt, toast and full welsh breakfast - all very nicely cooked. The staff are very friendly and welcoming,

Room Tip: There is a issue with mobile / Wifi signals but I was told this has always been a ongoing problem with the area .
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cuddslfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews