We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Day Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)

Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)
Book In Advance
$102.84*
and up
Cretan Villages and Countryside Tour from Chania
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our stop at the Monastery was a pleasant surprise during our stay in Chania. We were lucky enough to visit the Monastery without tour buses or crowds of people. The location is stunning and like stepping back into time. The courtyard and gardens surrounding the church are beautiful, and the church itself (while small) is impressively decorated and maintained. The small museum gave good insight into the history and importance of the Monastery. We spent more time here than we anticipated strolling through the courtyard and enjoying the scenery. We bought some very good olive oil, and wish we could have tasted the wines before buying.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SSFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    60
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Only a short drive outside of Chania, this monastery is really worth visiting. If you only visit one monastery on Crete, I would say this should be the one. Setting and atmosphere are truly magnificent.
We were lucky to enjoy it almost to ourselves by visiting early in the day. I am sure much of the magic would be lost if a visit was overshadowed by crowds.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Albatross199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A must do, if you are in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

As mentioned in prior reviews, this is a gorgeous property, with lovely buildings, monastery/church and internal grounds.

You will need a car to get there (20-30 mins from Chania Town, 10 mins from the airport), but we spent 45 minutes here and absolutely loved it (and even bought some wine and olive oil in their shop).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Perfect time to visit is early evening once the crowds have gone and the evening light illuminates the beautiful, though dilapidated , structure of the building

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank angelahC9529NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
246 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“CRUISE DAIRY DAY 8 - CHANIA part 1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We started our tour of Chania with a visit to the Akrotiri monastery. It was a good experience to see an old monastery. It had a church with a fabulous altar and marvelous icons like those found in Istanbul. It also had a small museum.

Seeing the Chania country side on the way back to the harbor is a nice bonus after visiting the monastery. The guide explained that Crete is like a small continent with self sustaining capacity. This is the reason why it was a goal for the Nazi to conquer it, aside from its strategic location to Europe and Africa.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenThumb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada) also viewed

Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing