We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Beautiful setting and wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)

Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)
Book In Advance
and up
Cretan Villages and Countryside Tour from Chania
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Only a short drive outside of Chania, this monastery is really worth visiting. If you only visit one monastery on Crete, I would say this should be the one. Setting and atmosphere are truly magnificent.
We were lucky to enjoy it almost to ourselves by visiting early in the day. I am sure much of the magic would be lost if a visit was overshadowed by crowds.

Visited May 2014
1 Thank Albatross199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A must do, if you are in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

As mentioned in prior reviews, this is a gorgeous property, with lovely buildings, monastery/church and internal grounds.

You will need a car to get there (20-30 mins from Chania Town, 10 mins from the airport), but we spent 45 minutes here and absolutely loved it (and even bought some wine and olive oil in their shop).

Visited May 2014
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Perfect time to visit is early evening once the crowds have gone and the evening light illuminates the beautiful, though dilapidated , structure of the building

Visited May 2014
2 Thank angelahC9529NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
225 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We started our tour of Chania with a visit to the Akrotiri monastery. It was a good experience to see an old monastery. It had a church with a fabulous altar and marvelous icons like those found in Istanbul. It also had a small museum.

Seeing the Chania country side on the way back to the harbor is a nice bonus after visiting the monastery. The guide explained that Crete is like a small continent with self sustaining capacity. This is the reason why it was a goal for the Nazi to conquer it, aside from its strategic location to Europe and Africa.

Visited October 2013
Thank GreenThumb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visit during the Greek Easter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Monastery of Agia Triada Tsangarolon is a Greek Orthodox monastery in the Akrotiri peninsula, not far from Chania airport. It also contains a museum and a small shop where you can buy insence, vinegar. wine and cheese. The monastery is said to be one of the major historical monuments of the island.
The monastery church is beautiful and I recommend that you wander round the area for a while. Do take a look at the quite large exhibition of woodcarvings and icons in the monastery Museum.
The Monastery produce it´s own wine which you can buy. They also sell other products produced in Crete, like a honey and balsamico vinegar of good quality.
If you can visit the Monastery during the greek Easter, you are in for some beautiful experiences, it never ceaces to impress me the feeling you get of real devotion from the church-goers and their dedication to their religion. It is impressive. I highly recommend a visit to the Monastery!

Visited April 2013
1 Thank alfatromsoe_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada) also viewed

Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture

Been to Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing