We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Hedd Wyn

Having visited his memorial on Pilkem Ridge in Belgium, it was fitting to visit his home in Wales... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
870huwe
Well worth a visit steeped in history

What an amazing place. Our visit was definitely enhanced by the superb tour guide we had. The young... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
27anthonyw
,
Swansea, United Kingdom
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
66
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
66
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first world war the snowdonia national park guided tour welsh culture farm house welsh speakers well worth a visit real character last century ac yn coffee and cake future generations staff were welcoming fascinating place to visit happy to answer questions very special place short film
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 69 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2019

The story o Hedd Wyn is very well known in Wales but a visit to his home brings the story to life and especially when you have staff who are so knowledgeable. We joined a group of visitors from Australia who were enthralled by the story - very sad but true. Yr Ysgwrn keeps most of the original features and this is a tribute to Hedd Wyn's family. it is very popular venue for school visits and is very relevant when studying the First World War. Facilities are excellent and the cafe is well worth a visit. Llawer o ddiolch am yr ymweliad gwych ac yn enwedig am y croeso cynnes a'r holl wybodaeth.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

We had a great welcome at Yr Ysgwrn all the staff were helpful and friendly but the lady who took us around the farm house was exceptional: I wish I knew her name. Her knowledge of the history of the house, family and area was amazing. We had a great 2 hours talking to her and I loved how we were encouraged to sit by the open fire and join in the conversation. I already knew of Hedd Wyn but I learnt so much more and the anecdotes were amusing and interesting. Would recommend it to anyone interested in Welsh culture/ WWI/ poetry/ social history. PS the tea and cake are also recommended!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

We called here because we googled things to do in the area and this came up, it opened I think in 2018 and showcase Hedd Wyn the welsh poet, we sat in the cafe and watched the informative videos with a coffee and a marvellous piece of their chocolate cake, visited the museum bit and I do say but because it is small, however if you have children there is a area for them to play and draw. We then decided to visit the house and what a surprise it remains as it was many many years ago and we both found it interesting to visit. A must if you are in the area, our guide was great and didn’t mind us at all interrupting her with our many questions.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank ebhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

A beautiful farm house in a beautiful location, full of history regarding Hedd Wyn, we were very lucky to have an excellent tour guide who involved the younger children and kept their interest, I will definitely be coming back

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank sfe_morfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

Extremely interesting and well worth a visit. A lovely farmhouse with a real fire! Beautiful location with stunning scenery. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave us plenty of interesting facts about Hedd wyn. The café was open and the shop had many welsh gifts of good quality for sale.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank AmandaDafydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews