We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Inn on the Deserted Beach....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Betalbatim
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Little Inn on the Deserted Beach....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June first week for 4 Days, we chose this hotel from SOTC box holidays. This hotel is just 15 Minutes drive from Madgaon railway station, around INR 400 by Prepaid Cab from the station itself. Its nicely tucked away in the south goan countryside, accompanied by Betalbatim beach (5-7 Mins Walk), Albert's Place-Nice Goan Restaurant (2Mins) and Seawaves Shack on the beach; Thats it! It is nicely hidden away amidsts Coconut palm trees and Farm Fields.
The rooms are decent as well, We stayed at Luxury Suite. The suite was pretty big and well furnished. The housekeeping was very active and they cleaned our rooms at regular intervals and got us things that we wanted in a jiffy.
The hotel also has a nice clean pool with Sundeck and Gazebos; and yes! you can also order drinks at the poolside. Do order a Yellowtail White Wine at the poolside, its superrrb.
Breakfasts was nicely spread and Fresh.

My stay at this hotel met my expectations and would like to stay here if in south goa.

Room Tip: "Opt for a Luxury Suite overlooking the pool" "Laze off at the poolside accompanied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    158
    60
    17
    22
See reviews for
163
105
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Landing at sterling with one bad experience before at Yercaud in the past, was keeping my fingers crossed. The moment we landed at Villagio till we left it was like home away from home. The team at the resort starting with Sajith, Monisha, the other ever smiling girl at the reception & the activities lady, Chef Hussain & the list goes on have always a smile on their face & ever ready to help. The Masti Dining package seemed to be good enough. Variety may be improved on that front. The resort was well maintaned, rooms were clean & crisp.
My Kid still speak about the auntys who gave them flowers & cake for the birthday :)

Kudos
KEEP UP THE WONDERFUL JOB

Some improvements suggested would be as follows-
>Sign boards are a MUST MUST MUST- Kept shuttling atleast 2 times past the resort.
>Booking voucher to carry a contact mobile number in case of emergency when land lines are down(was the case the day i checked in)
>Service at peak times needs to be better monitored ( in the restaurant) though must mention the refilling of the buffet was just superb.
>Curtains in the rooms are smaller than the door/ windows- needs to be altered or changed.
>Eye for detail can be improved- Just to give an example- The day I checked in the A/C remote batteries werent working & we really ran around to control the temperature.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room above the reception- If you would like ask for the pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0mad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Iam a member of sterling holiday resorts stayed in sterling villagio during the course of last week of May. To my surprise the resort is very well maintained, the service was really very good, we have to take 10 minutes walk if we need to go to beach, the beach is very good with safe zone and watch guards on duty. The main area of Goa Calancut beach, Anjuna beach and other tourist spots are very far away, which is around 40 kms from this place. It costs around 2000 by taxi during off season, I was told in season it used to be 2.5K to 3k. Thier breakfast buffet is not that great, there is no idly or dosa only sambar was available. Their lunch buffet or dinner buffet costs 450+ is not that great. The only flip side of sterling holiday resorts is their food bill. It costs at least minimum of 350 to 450 for a Non veg if u are ordering from their menu card. Per session it costed me not less than 2500 for my family of four.I suggest sterling to drop at least 30% on their food bill. Reg. the quality of the food i would say its really outstanding but the quantity doesnt justify the price they ask for. A King fish costs around Rs.450 but you get two small pieces. I hope sterling listens to this. Except the expensive food bill every thing is great in Sterling. One small note for sterling holiday management reg. thier swim pool. The swim pool depth starts from 5 ft and ends up with 8 ft. It will be very difficult for the tourist to use such a deep pool. Especially ladies will find it very very difficult to use this pool. I would request sterling to start from 4ft to 6.5 ft max.

Room Tip: You can try the Honda activa on hire outside the resort, since they are very cheap and easy to commu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eazyparkraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Pros:
-Near to beach, 10mins walking distance - beach is very quite and superb almost white sand.
-south goa
- Very cheap if you are RCI or Sterling member
-Pool was well maintain.

Cons:
- Service (WORST)
- need to go to COLVA for dinner
- hotel restaurant wasn't that good rather over charged.
- ZERO % hospitality.
- Nothing was free, even to play with volleyball was been charged.
- Even Sugar packet was charged @ 60 bucks
- Over charged TAXI and Rented Sctoor

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny and dont go to this hotel until n unless you are member of RCI or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank agovani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We note with thanks your appreciation of our property location and the maintenance of our pool. We are concerned that you were dissatisfied with our F&B service and we assure you that your feedback has been noted and corrective measures are being taken. We assure you that your experience was not reflective of our usual standards. We hope to have you again at one of our resorts so that we can present to you our true service and quality.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is nice and the staff is helpful and cheerful but two things are really problematic. One, it is quite far from everything, be it beaches or restaurants and transport is not easily available. So if you want to stay here, either you must have your own vehicle or be willing to walk about 3-4 km to and fro for anything that you'd like to do. Two, our room over looked a broken down street and that's not what you're looking for in Goa. Their deluxe rooms with a view overlook the pool and that's the best that they have. But the rooms are very cleans and well maintained and the stay is pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nehas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We would like to sincerely thank you for the positive feedback on our Staff and the property. We are also happy to hear that you liked the maintenance and you had a pleasant stay. However, we are truly concerned that you were not satisfied by the room you were allocated. We have taken necessary corrective measures, thanks to your feedback. We assure you that your next visit with us will be one that exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a relatively new property and hence well maintained. Lots of activities for the kids so that they can be engaged . Very near to the Betabatim beach , which is unexplored and hance less crowded. Veg food was excellent and recommended. Nice pool and courteous staff .

Room Tip: Veg food recommended , go for there food combo meal its cheap rather than ala carte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKhanna1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHSEA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel. We have been to many resorts in Goa but we think that Betalbatim is the nicest.
The hotel is in a perfect location - 5 to 10 minutes to the beautiful beach but also in the middle of some gorgeous countryside. We spent many a happy hour walking down to Colva and Benaulim and up to Majorda along the beach, but also along the lovely and very quiet country lanes. There is a beautiful lake a couple of minutes from the hotel and there were always interesting birds there.
The hotel is quite new and we had a nice room overlooking the pool.The fact that there is a living-room separate to the bedroom is a nice feature. The bathroom was very modern, much nicer than a lot we have had. There are 2 balconies and this is the only gripe I have about the hotel - why are there no table and chairs on either of them? We love sitting out in the evening before going out to eat,so of course, this was not possible.
Breakfast was fine, but we did not have any other meals in the hotel because of the proximity of the wonderful Alberts restaurant, and all the very good beach shacks, particularly Little Palms.
The pool and surrounding area was very clean, and the gardens beautifully maintained.
Finally, the staff were very friendly and efficient, and we would not hesitate about going there again - we found the hotel to be very good value considering the location and facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RuthPSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betalbatim
17.0 mi away
Goa - Club Estadia, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alagoa Resort
Alagoa Resort
#4 of 6 in Betalbatim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.5 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Thondwaddo, Betalbatim 403713, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Villagio)
Location: India > Goa > Salcette District > Betalbatim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Betalbatim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Villagio, a boutique resort, is located in the lovely backdrop of Betalbatim. The welcoming interiors bring out the holiday spirit in you. Come and discover Betalbatim, the little village in South Goa that exudes an aura of pride for being a serene locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Betalbatim
Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort Betalbatim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing