We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful peaceful week in this lovely...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1 Cliff Cottage

1 Cliff Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1 Cliff Cottage
View Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
1 Cliff Cottage
View
Garden
West Portholland Beach  1 minute away
Swimming from the beach
Rainbow on beach
Cottage
Kitchen/ diner
kitchen
Fireplace
View from master bedroom
Beach at low tide
Beach at low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PAUL A
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another wonderful peaceful week in this lovely cottage”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in April 2018

We have enjoyed another week here, better weather this time so able to go walking every day, lunches on the beach and coastal path. Also walked to Portloe again for another lovely lunch.Hope to return next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Many thanks for your review. Hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful cosy cottage, beautiful location”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a fantastic cottage, so glad I stayed here. The views are amazing, located directly on the South West Coastal Path, pure quality. The location is wonderful, off the beaten track with a sea view from every window. The tiny sheltered beach at West Portholland is 2 minutes’ walk away. Very secluded and peaceful. East Portholland beach is just a 2 minute drive or can be walked to at low tide, when the 2 beaches link, where you can find a small coffee and craft shop.

Absolutely enchanting old, cosy stone cottage, woodburner, inglenook fireplace, well furnished and equipped and very comfortable. With the windows open, you can listen to the sound of the sea, just yards away. I had no mobile reception but wifi was excellent.

Lots of things to do, a short drive away, Eden, Falmouth, Heligan, Portscatho, St Mawes, Fowey and Mevagissey were just a few.

Owners extremely helpful and prompt responding to any emails / booking confirmation and check-in process was very straightforward. I had a couple of minor problems which were sorted out immediately. Nothing was too much trouble. I hope that I will be back very soon. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Thank you for your review, we’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUL A
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, superb sea views.”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have just had a wonderful relaxing week in this lovely cosy cottage and can't wait to be back at the end of April. The location gives beautiful views from inside and outside and despite being on the road you hardly notice vehicles passing (except on the Sunday when a procession of vintage cars went past which we loved). We took the very short walk down to the beach at least once every day whatever the weather and enjoyed walks to the other beach at Portholland and between the two beaches at low tide. Also to Portloe, though the coast path was very slippy and had to walk the road instead, we had an excellent lunch at The Ship Inn. On arrival the cottage was warm and after settling in we lit the stove which roared away. Everything you need in the cottage including a slow cooker, this provided us with a couple of lovely meals after bracing walks! Enjoyed a couple of superb sunrises but most of all just peace and quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2018
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnum81
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing spot!”
Reviewed January 13, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was our 4th visit to this cottage and it never disappoints.

The cottage is full of historic charm, yet is very well-equipped with an excellent kitchen and good bathroom facilities. Lovely woodburner. Cosy, clean and warm.

Absolutely breathtaking spot on the cliffs, literally a stone's throw from the beach. The coastpath is about 60cm from the front door! Local walks are stunning, we recommend the walk to Portloe just 2 miles away. My partner and I live in Cornwall, but it's still worth staying here as a treat as it's such a wonderful part of the county.

Danny and Jo are a pleasure to deal with. All in all, I literally cannot fault this place. We strongly recommend it to anyone reading this.

We hope to be back in the future. A little corner of heaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2018
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crochethe...
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“absolute gem of a holiday home”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

If you want a quiet retreat of a holiday this is just the place. It is well furnished, owner is very helpful & you could not be closer to the sea,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2017
Thank you, we’re pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H
1 review
“Stunning location..!”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I have to say that this is the place to stay if you want rest and relaxation..! although it has plenty of sights to see a short drive away. Charles Town is a must, also Mevagissey, our favorite place to be..! We loved our stay here, the wood burner made this stay very cosy, watching the stormy sea from the cottage window..! The cottage has everything you need, and was very clean, 10/10 ..! we will definitely be staying here again..! Thankyou Danny .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
720janc
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cliff Cottage at the end of June and enjoyed it so much that we have just booked again for next year. It is an ideal spot for a quiet holiday with a beach and fishing on your doorstep. I loved just sitting in the garden watching the birds soaring below. The Roseland peninsula remains unspoilt and there are cliff walks in both directions and sandy bays all along the coast. The cottage is cosy and very well equipped with everything you could need for a perfect holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2017
We are very pleased you enjoyed your holidays and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing