We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Jonas house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jonas house
Kitchen Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Jonas house
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
ELLAID
PRESTON
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was just as described, very clean with very comfortable beds and a very nice bathroom, the other bedroom had an en suite so very handy. We loved sitting up at the top of the garden with views across the village to the hills. Eyam is a lovely little village with a very good museum explaining about the plague. The house is just off the main street so is handy for walking to all the places of interest.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim K
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Character cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful cottage which is much larger inside than its exterior would indicate. Decorated and equipped to a high standard. Love the varying levels within and the stepped garden to the rear which is a sun trap in the afternoon. Spacious family bathroom, however supply of towels was a bit limited. Not one of each size for for each person staying.

Helen was excellent in the booking process and with instructions prior to our visit.

Eyam is a quaint village, with an interesting history, however it is worth noting that the two cafes close at 4pm! Bit disappointing when you arrive at 3pm, unpack and pop down the lane in search of tea and cake to find nothing on offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review.
Will certainly look into the towel situation apologies for any inconvenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-N-1...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Exquisite”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Perfect cottage in a perfect position. Extraordinarily spacious inside. Immaculately presented. Light and clean but retaining a comfortably cosy feel. Beautifully dressed beds in high quality crisp Egyptian cotton. The range in the kitchen was a dream to use. The house was equipped with everything we needed. The ensuite shower room and luxurious bathroom were superb. Excellent all round!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARBrown
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a really super time staying in Jonas House in the lovely village of Eyam. We walked directly from the house and didn't use the car at all whilst we were there.
The walks around this area were perfect we were delighted with all the information in the house about the walks and surrounding area.
The pub in the village we didn't like very much but we did find The Barrel at Bretton very nice with great food and fantastic views across 3 counties Also, the The Bulls Head at Foolow was nice and we enjoyed a pint there !!
Jonas House was very comfortable with a super bathroom and shower and very cosy beds. The kitchen was very nice to and very well equipped.
We would love to visit here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigator...
1 review
“A lovely cottage, fully equipped for a comfortable stay.”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Jonas. This house is very clean with comfortable beds and good quality bedlinen. The position in the village is perfect for walking in the countryside directly from the house, visiting the pub, and the tearooms are just down the road, where we ate fabulous bacon baps. Our main aim was to visit Chatsworth House, which was an easy 15 - 20 minute drive. The Moon in Stoney Middleton was good for an evening meal and The Barrel at Bretton also served excellent food and has fantastic views. Both pubs were busy, we were wise to have booked ahead. Would love to visit again for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review of cottage and the Eyam area.
So pleased you had a good peak break .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen g
1 review
“Walking holiday”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely week in this cottage. Lots of walks in the area. The village is beautiful and locals very friendly. Lovely tea rooms and pub on your doorstep. Cottage had everything we needed. Very cosy. Definatly book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planemeaw...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“A Beautiful Cozy Cottage in a Lovely Small Village”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved this house! Cozy, yet, plenty of space for my parents, husband, and I! Helen, the owner, is also wonderful to work with and responds very quickly to any questions. This little cottage is a true gem! We loved that it is situated in a sleepy, quiet section of the cute little village of Eyam. We could quickly and easily walk to the store, tea rooms, and pub while walks into the fields and countryside were also right at our doorstep! Great views from the peaceful little courtyard and a great place to have a meal, coffee, or glass of wine. We loved watching the alpaca in the field above the cottage. Also, be sure to not miss the very interesting Eyam Village tour from Eyam Hall and learn about the history of the plague and the sacrifices the people in this little village made. Thanks so much, Helen, for sharing your beautiful cottage with us! We were very happy with our rental choice!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of Jonas house .
So pleased you had a happy time in Eyam.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing