We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing cozy place to stay – also when raining...”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Shepherds Hut nestled in a quiet peaceful corner away from the hustle & bustle of your busy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Shepherds Hut nestled in a quiet peaceful corner away from the hustle & bustle of your busy
Our cosy,comfy romantic retreat for 2, with views of the hills & beautiful Peak District Luxurious washroom with hot water, electric shower, heated towel rail, toilet & utility area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
179 reviews
Our Shepherds Hut nestled in a quiet peaceful corner away from the hustle & bustle of your busy
Our cosy,comfy romantic retreat for 2, with views of the hills & beautiful Peak District
Luxurious washroom with hot water, electric shower, heated towel rail, toilet & utility area
The woodburning stove, perfect for keeping warm on a cold evening, you'll never want to leave!
Wild flowers & wine glasses.....
Summertime in the hut
?? Welcome
'Heart' shutters with a hint of the views beyond......
Out of the gate & down the lane....
Wedding Celebrations ??
Quirky compliments ????
Honeymoon time
Summertime inside thehuteyam
Original cast wheels & a comfy love seat
Alfresco dining / seating area
At the back........
Views over Historic Eyam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 179 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maria M
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An amazing cozy place to stay – also when raining and stormy outside”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent our 2nd anniversary at Rachels The Hut Eyam – and it was just amazing. While it was rainy and stormy outside we lit up the little fire place and made ourselves comfortable in that set aside place in busy Eyam. Couldn't have been better. Rachel not just suggested a place for a nice dinner but even gave us a lift there. In the morning we found a hamper in front of the door with a lovely breakfast in there. Would definitely come back and recommend it!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy retreat”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We found the hut quite easily on a damp and foggy afternoon. The hut was so warm and cosy. Inside were thoughtful things: a torch, books, games, a radio and the log burner ready made up for lighting. We were able to quickly become warm and comfortable. We looked at the list of recommendations and had a lovely meal at the Pack Horse Inn. We were very comfortable sleeping in the hut. In the morning we enjoyed the breakfast hamper. It was the perfect setting for a weekend away.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucy G
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely spot for a peaceful weekend away”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

From beginning to end we had such a great time at The Hut. Rachel couldn't have been more welcoming (she even catered for my partner's gluten free breakfast requirement) and the hut is so cosy! While rustic, the accommodation has everything you need including a wonderful wood burning fire and is kept in tip top condition with lovely warm bedding, unique decoration and lovely personal touches. Great place for a break away from the hustle and bustle. Would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garethcan...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely. Simply Lovely.”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here for two nights and had a welcome and relaxing break.

The hut is immaculate and finished with nice ornaments and a selection of books.

Rachel greeted us and after a little tour of the hut and facilities, left us alone to enjoy our holiday. We didn't see her again until we handed the key back, and although she is lovely it was nice to feel like we had the place to ourselves.

You can't fault the facilities and that makes it a perfect glamping experience. Oh and the breakfast is a real treat.

Eyam itself is fascinating and beautiful. As it was a quite November week we felt part of the village rather than visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet. Simple living.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol-Ann...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly Romanic Retreat in the Country”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My sister bought us one night stay at The Hut Eyam as a Christmas present this year. We decided we wanted to go when the weather was changing to Autumn so we could be cold outside and warm inside.

We arrived and were greeted by our lovely host Rachel, who made us feel welcome from the start. We were a little early for check in, but it wasn't an issue to drop our bags and change into our walking gear. Rachel was incredibly helpful describing the best walk to a pub and back, which we found without issue.

The surroundings are beautiful. Eyam its self is a very interesting village with some lovely little craft and foodie shops to peruse. The surrounding countryside is lovely and not packed with people (at least it wasn't in October, even though it was a perfect weather weekend!). We walked from The Hut to a pub called The Barrel Inn and back again. We stayed out all day, but you could do the round trip in an hour if you're a good walker.

We arrived back to The Hut and were welcomed with a lovely warm room with all the finishing touches that you could want. I'll go through them now...

INSIDE THE HUT -
A perfectly sized, snuggly, warm double bed - perfect for two! There are blankets for the bed and more thinker ones for sitting outside.

There is a digital radio, little side lamps and bedside tables.

There is a heater if you need it, but as we learnt, the log burner is more than sufficient. It kicks out an amazing amount of heat, so you won't be cold or run out of wood. It adds to the snugglyness of the whole place.

There are walking books, reading books and maps. There is also box of games to play, which is a lovely touch.

You'll find wine glasses and a bottle opener too!

OUTSIDE THE HUT -
There is a lovely picnic bench and a fire pit outside the hut. We lit it and ate our picnic dinner with some wine outside with blankets and the radio playing... it was truly romantic. You'll also find a perfectly formed breakfast basket on the bench in the morning, which is just the cutest thing to wake up to.

BATHROOM -
It's not next to the hut and you don't have to go in the bushes... it's up the garden in a "proper" building with electricity, a hot lovely big shower, normal toilet and fluffy towels. It also has a fridge for your food, kettle, cutlery, plates/bowls/cups/glasses and a sink with cleaning products. It's fully functioning and warm, just don't forget your torch! ;)

Overall, this is one of the most romantic and cosy places we've ever stayed and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for something different in a beautiful setting. We only live in Sheffield but it felt like a world away and would defiantly go back again. Thank you for such a wonderful stay Rachel! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. It was perfect in every way.
Liked least: There is nothing we would have changed.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing