We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for families”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of East View Cottage

Welcome to East View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage sunny seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage
sunny seating area
cosy sitting room
afternoon tea
kitchen fireside
family dining
pretty bedrooms
time to relax
family Bathroom
merry Christmas and New Year!
dogs make themselves at home
track from the farm
beautiful walks from the doorstep
Eyam Hall
Eyam Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Minerva V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, cosy and spotless cottage. Perfect location to explore the Peak District. Lovely village. We are very thankful to Joanna for being so friendly and kind and for showing our children her farm and letting them enjoy the animals and teach them so many things. It has been an unforgettable holiday.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lush countryside in a beautiful little cottage.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful little cottage with great hospitality from Jo (the owner who lives just a stone through away). On our arrival there was eggs and bread for the morning sourced locally. The cottage is baby and child friendly with stair gates across the cottage. Stayed for 4 nights and had the chance to light the fire with wood that was supplied. Great stay, highly recommended.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey19...
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like home from home without the stress of every day life.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The property was perfect. Very quaint and cosy cottage. Very clean. We did not want for anything. The village was very pretty steeped in history. Enjoyed meeting the farm animals. Weather beautiful so didn't have to light the fires in the kitchen and lounge, What a shame!!! The owner Jo was really welcoming and very helpful.
Thank you so much for the welcome pack. It was lovely to be able to have a nice cup of tea after the long journey. Will definitely be booking a return visit.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scriv123
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage holiday!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at East View for the Whitsun holiday with our 3 children and it was perfect.
The cottage is very pretty with everything you need for your holiday. The rooms are all lovely & clean and thoughtfully laid out.
We loved the farm eggs & yummy tea bread on our arrival! The owner, Jo, is so helpful & friendly and our daughter really enjoyed meeting the farm animals, especially feeding the pigs & seeing the sheep getting their manicures!
The cottage is really well situated for visiting all the local attractions. There is a beautiful historic walk you can follow around the village explaining its interesting history. We did so many walks, historic houses & the fabulous Monsal Trail bike ride too. The scenery is amazing whatever the weather!
We had a brilliant family holiday & would certainly like to come back and stay in this beautiful cottage, it is perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macaravey
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EAST VIEW COTTAGE”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
The cottage was all I hoped it would be with fresh eggs and bread there to welcome us. Joanna was so helpful and available for advice, nothing was too much trouble.
My little granddaughter was catered for with a highchair, travel cot, stair gates, toys and books.
I will certainly be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaThom
Bruchsal, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming house, lovely family - make you feel at home at once !”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Coming from sunny Germany we immediately fell in love with the charming house despite grey England weather (only in the beginning of the week). Jo and Matt arranged the house truely with good taste and the interiors don't leave anything to be desired. It is perfect for a family up to 5 or for two pairs. You can easily supply yourself as everything is on hand. For evenings there is also a very nice pub with good food (and beer and cidre) within a short walk, also there is a local store for everday supplies.
Eyam is very well situated within the Peak District and wonderful destinations in the surroundings easily to reach. The owners are more than helpful and you can also purchase farm goods from them - we're already longing for the next visit to come ! Thanks for everything !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 open fires, to be invited to have look at the new born lambs
Liked least: nothing !!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainman87...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, really well equipped, ideal springboard for the peaks”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The site pictures really do not do this gorgeous cottage justice. It is a terrific character cottage with an abundance of charm, cosy and well furnished and a kitchen that's hard not to fall in love with! The site owners, Jo and Matt, are close and on hand and were attentive but never overbearing during our break. We were taken with the generously proportioned rooms, the stylish décor, the abundance of pots/pans/dishes/crockery/cutlery on hand which readily afforded easy entertaining of family who visited during our stay. We took along our dog - adhered to the basic house rules - and relished the opportunity of holidaying with him. Though the cottage itself does not enjoy far reaching countryside views, this is more than compensated by the intimacy and character this accommodation affords and is located within easy reach of public footpaths. We were blessed with plenty of sunshine during our March break and able to take advantage of the sitting area at the front of the cottage - we are already looking at booking again at east view - Eyam is ideally located to explore the peak district and this cottage is ideally suited to facilitate an exceptionally comfortable stay. Highly recommended in a heart beat :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing