We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Charming house, lovely family - make you feel at...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of East View Cottage

Welcome to East View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage sunny seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
47 reviews
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage
sunny seating area
cosy sitting room
afternoon tea
kitchen fireside
family dining
pretty bedrooms
time to relax
family Bathroom
merry Christmas and New Year!
dogs make themselves at home
track from the farm
come and meet the animals
some more Hollins Farm residents
hire our Triumph Herald for a day
bring your own horse
beautiful walks from the doorstep
Eyam Hall
Eyam Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TinaThom
Bruchsal, Germany
1 review
“Charming house, lovely family - make you feel at home at once !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Coming from sunny Germany we immediately fell in love with the charming house despite grey England weather (only in the beginning of the week). Jo and Matt arranged the house truely with good taste and the interiors don't leave anything to be desired. It is perfect for a family up to 5 or for two pairs. You can easily supply yourself as everything is on hand. For evenings there is also a very nice pub with good food (and beer and cidre) within a short walk, also there is a local store for everday supplies.
Eyam is very well situated within the Peak District and wonderful destinations in the surroundings easily to reach. The owners are more than helpful and you can also purchase farm goods from them - we're already longing for the next visit to come ! Thanks for everything !

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: 2 open fires, to be invited to have look at the new born lambs
Liked least: nothing !!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainman87...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, really well equipped, ideal springboard for the peaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The site pictures really do not do this gorgeous cottage justice. It is a terrific character cottage with an abundance of charm, cosy and well furnished and a kitchen that's hard not to fall in love with! The site owners, Jo and Matt, are close and on hand and were attentive but never overbearing during our break. We were taken with the generously proportioned rooms, the stylish décor, the abundance of pots/pans/dishes/crockery/cutlery on hand which readily afforded easy entertaining of family who visited during our stay. We took along our dog - adhered to the basic house rules - and relished the opportunity of holidaying with him. Though the cottage itself does not enjoy far reaching countryside views, this is more than compensated by the intimacy and character this accommodation affords and is located within easy reach of public footpaths. We were blessed with plenty of sunshine during our March break and able to take advantage of the sitting area at the front of the cottage - we are already looking at booking again at east view - Eyam is ideally located to explore the peak district and this cottage is ideally suited to facilitate an exceptionally comfortable stay. Highly recommended in a heart beat :)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth K
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fascinating and beautiful spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Very cosy, but much more spacious than it looks in the photos. Proper cottagey, and comfortable furniture - including a bed so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. Everything you need and all the things that make it easier to relax, such as dishwasher, washer and dryer etc. Jo, our host, was friendly but unobtrusive. Always available at the top of the Lane if needed, and provider of delicious home made bread and free range eggs.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy K
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is one of the nicest cottages we've ever stayed in. From the first impression (Jo had left a light on for us as we arrived in the dark) to the spacious and well equipped rooms it was absolutely ideal. I was especially impressed with the le Creuset cook-ware
We normally don’t like having to meet the owners, but Jo was so friendly and nice (without being OTT) we felt truly welcomed.
She had laid two wood fires for us and for £5 she laid us two more later in the week. We also bought a pheasant from her and used the recipe she kindly gave us to great success!
Parking is incredibly easy and there is a decent pub and shop within walking distance.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLWhiteUK
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Writer's delight - peaceful, cosy and brilliantly located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked East View as I needed a quiet, comfortable location where I could work on a script for a week.

Eyam was perfect as it wasn't too remote, had a friendly (and tasty) pub, useful corner shop and interesting museums, churches and a National Trust property all within 10 minutes walking of East View. And while I spent most of the week sitting in front of one of the two fires, I did manage to get out for a bit of a walk right from the doorstep. Eyam is also very easy to get to by public transport.

But as most of my time was spent inside working, comfort and peace were the two main requirements - and I got that in spades.

Jo was the perfect host - she collected me from the station, made sure I had everything I needed, supplied me with firewood and homecooked prepared meals, and even invited me to dinner in her lovely home with her family, where I got to meet Tiny Tim the little piglet.

The cottage has everything you need plus some. While still retaining that cosy cottage feel with wooden beams and big open fireplaces, it has all the mod cons throughout, (including internet tv so I could watch a bunch of films on LoveFilm after a hard day writing) and big comfy chairs and sofa. Things like having memory foam on the bed and thick duvets makes everything very snug, and I always got the feeling that Jo and Matt were creating a space in which they themselves would enjoy staying, which gives it a very thoughtful and considered feel.

Overall, it was one of the most comfortable cottages I've ever stayed in (and I stay in a lot of them!). I'll certainly be making East View my base when I'm next up that way.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Hospitality, comfort, big open fires, location, quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnC196
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy character cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a cottage for a week as a base for house hunting in the N.E. Peak District and discovered East View Cottage on at Hollins Farm, Eyam on the internet.

The cottage was perfect for our needs. It was central in our search area and Eyam is a well serviced village with shops, post office, church and pubs. It has a strong character with historical references.

East View Cottage is spacious, very well equipped, warm and comfortable with central heating and open fires with a plentiful supply of logs. The kitchen is fitted with a large pine dining table – a focus of the cottage. Jo, the owner, was most welcoming and quickly made us feel at home with her delicious bread, fresh eggs and autumn flowers on the table.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Very cosy during a particularly cold week
Liked least: No dislikes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We chose East View Cottage in Eyam to celebrate our two year anniversary, and we are so glad we did! We wanted a break from London life and Eyam was just the perfect setting for this (the three days of sunshine they supplied was a nice touch too!) The cottage is cosy and authentic and has two log fires (the kitchen in particular being lovely!) It is situated down the lane from Hollins farm, which belonged to the lovely owners of the cottage. We felt very well looked after, freshly baked bread and eggs were provided for us on arrival and we were invited to meet all the farm animals, plus their dogs, Bingo and Spud! We went for lots of lovely long walks and bike rides (hired on the Monsal Trail) and enjoyed the country pubs along the way! All in all the perfect getaway, and we will definitely go back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The area, so much to do.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$73
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing