We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just a restaurant...a DESTINATION!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barrel Inn

The Barrel Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant...a DESTINATION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was the comment made by an American friend when we took him there as part of his Peak District experience! For more than 20 years now, I've returned to the UK to hike the Peak District and The Barrel Inn is where we always have dinner on the first and last nights of our stay in Eyam. It is also the one place we take overseas guests knowing that it will never fail to please for its 17th Century charm and authenticity (low wood-beamed ceilings, open fireplace;) for its great food, most of it produced locally (the Toad-In-The-Hole is one of my favourites and a hit with foreign guests;) and for the spectacular setting, high on a ridge, of a beloved landscape. I will be back in September...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    64
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT PUB FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have dined here a few times now and we have never been disappointed with the food or friendly staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SAR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great pub with great food and fabulous views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have eaten at the Barrel on a number of occasions and the food is always of a very high quality. The menu is interesting and varied and the service is excellent. The views are outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
632 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Brilliant Place - one of the finest pubs in Derbyshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This old pub is set high on a ridge which runs behind Eyam and Great Hucklow. The views from the front are wonderful on a clear day and there is adequate space to sit out. Inside the place ouzes charm and atmosphere with open fires in winter. Be warned it can be bleak up here if the weather is bad but rest assured there will always be a warm welcome inside. An extensive menu is offered throughout the day enhanced by "specials" on numerous black boards around the place. Sunday lunch is superb with meats sourced locally at Hancocks at the Stony Middleton Butchers and Castlegate Farm. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesworth, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I discovered the Barrel Inn around a year ago and have eaten there a number of times since, including recently with my grandparents. The views are spectacular on a clear day and really have to be seen to be appreciated. Inside, the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, the real fire makes it seem very cosy on a cold day. The food has never disappointed and the rib-eye steak is particularly excellent! Would recommend this place to anyone - it is well worth the drive!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca_Ems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrel Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Barrel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing